We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave room for dessert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Della Corte

Osteria Della Corte
Via Napoli 86 | 19121, La Spezia, Italy
0187715210
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 260 restaurants in La Spezia
Price range: $34 - $69
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fantastic little restaurant, not far from Hotel Firenze e Continental. Great food, the chef (she) and (i think) the owner (photographed on their web page) are really friendly and chatted with me about my choices. He asked me all about my preferences before recommending a lovely local wine.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Leave room for dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found this restaurant on trip advisor, it was a short walk from our hotel so we tried it out & were extremely happy we did. I believe it's a husband & wife team, he's on the floor & she's in the kitchen. The place is very welcoming and he's very helpful. He helped suggest a wine which we enjoyed and although he speaks English we wanted to practice our (very poor) Italian and he was extremely patient with us.
We both had steaks for our main which was great but the absolute highlight was the dessert platter we shared. It was unbelievably good!!! There were semifreddos & little tarts & all the combinations went fantastically well together. We want to go back to La Spezia just to have that dessert platter again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    217
    105
    28
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An alternative to dine other than in Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After a day’s visit to the Cinque Terre, we had booked a table in Osteria Della Corte before driving back to Florence. The restaurant is a 5 to 10 minutes’ walk from La Spezia train station.

The overall service was good. To start with I ordered the risotto with pear as starter. The plate was nicely presented, decorated with a few petals and edible silver foils. The risotto was nicely cooked and the sauce went well with the pear. It really did set a high expectation on our main dishes.

We ordered sea bass and beef fillet as our main course. The beef fillet was a generous big piece, however, it was a bit overcooked according to the request for medium rare. The balsamic vinegar sauce was a bit insufficient to go with the big piece of meat.

As we had to rush back to Florence, we were too rush for the dessert. However, judging from the appearance of the dishes ordered by the neighbouring tables, it seemed that appetizers and desserts were more attractive. When the lady chef came out for a chat with the guests, that explained the nice presentation of dishes and choice of flowers for decoration.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Genuine cuisine with passion and kindness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Chef is very kind and professional. Her food is just exquisite, innovative but based on the local traditions. Gnocchi with fish and mushrooms were delicious, as were the desserts. Well worthwhile a dinner but remember to book in advance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I can't remember ever going to the same restaurant 2 nights in a row, but the cuisine, value for money, service and pleasant atmosphere were so good we didn't look elsewhere. Great food especially the pasta entrees, meat and desserts. Just a minor complaint that more vegetables were needed to balance the main courses.

Outstanding value for money including the wine.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous, innovative food at reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Simply delicious - went two nights in a row. The food is sensational and original. The setting is pleasant with exposed stone walls and the service warm but not obtrusive.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Della Corte also viewed

La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 

Been to Osteria Della Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Della Corte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.