We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hostel than a hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Astra
Via Costantini 48, 19124 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More like a hostel than a hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Bare bones accommodations. No AC, no Internet. Some mold in shower. Had to pay cash at checkout because credit card machine wouldn't work. Out of main tourist area but walking distance to port. OK for back packets. Wouldn't suggest for families.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    7
    6
See reviews for
1
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We chose La Spezia to visit Cinque Terre, and the hotel is located not far from the city centre of La Spezia. Staff was very helpful, the room had a small terrace, and breakfast had everything you expect in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in La Spezia because we figured it would be cheaper and easier than staying in Cinque Terre.

It turns out that all five Cinque Terre towns are awash with rooms for rent. It is easy to find them when you arrive - just ask the locals or look around - and when we traveled (early October) many of these rooms were not booked. Oh, how I wish we had stayed in Cinque Terre.

La Speaks isn't a dump, unless you go a bit further into town from the hotel, where it becomes somewhat nasty. Still, it isn't worth seeing unless you've already seen the Cinque Terre towns - a day trip for the museums is a good idea, but no reason to stay there.

Now on to the hotel...

PROS

- Mostly good service; Rolf, who checked us in, was very nice and informative. The woman who runs the breakfast in the AM is very sweet and helpful. The cleaning lady did a great job.
- Not too far from the central train station, about a ten minute walk for us
- Free breakfast is better than expected, with green apple and orange juice, a good selection of fruit and yogurt, and pastries
- Clean rooms, great cleaning lady

Cons

- Everything is old and crappy. The drawer for the nightstand literally fell apart when we opened it.
- NO WIFI. This really sucks, and it boggles the mind - they have an internet connection, why not invest 30 euro in a WiFi router? They don't advertise WiFi, but it is still surprising.
- CANT USE THE COMPUTER. We were initially told that guests could use the PC, and we saw other guests using it. However, when we tried, we were told we couldn't use it. Go figure.
- Shower head is broken. More specifically, the mount is broken - it makes it difficult and unpleasant when trying to take a shower. Again, I have seen full shower head replacements for less than 10 euro. Going all out and splurging for a much better one than they had wouldn't cost more than 40 euro. I'm left to believe that management just doesn't give a damn.
- The ceiling fan was so noisy that it was impossible to sleep with the fan on.

The two stars I gave this hotel are for the cleanliness, decent free breakfast, and mostly helpful staff. The coins outweigh the pros in my book, though - even without internet, I expect a shower that works and drawers that open. Pass on Hotel Astra.

Room Tip: To find a good room, rent in Cinque Terre or at least get a better hotel in La Spezia - we wish we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Less said about this place the better
At one stage I honestly lay on my squeaky steel frame bed, looked at the ceiling of my sparsely furnished room and thought, "This must be what it's like to be in prison."
Along with being poorly furnished, there was a tv that had an upside down image, a common toilet in a room that also served as a laundry/cleaning room, and a common shower that leaked all over the floor
But wait, there's more
I was woken one night by shouting and a woman screaming from the apartment complex outside of my window, and then there was silence
I felt for sure I was overhearing a murder!
Luckily I was exhausted from walking the Cinque Terre and fell asleep easily
The only thing this establishment has going for it is the fact that you can park easily on the street (a novelty in Italy) and it is very close to the centre of town
What it hasn't got going for it is reasonable room rates
Oh,and the manager wanted payment in cash when I checked out to avoid paying tax, which meant I had to walk down the street to find a teller machine

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra

Address: Via Costantini 48, 19124 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Astra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.