We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Birillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Birillo to your Saves list
Hotel Birillo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Camden, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon Hotel Birillo and were very glad that we did. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful and the room spotless and comfortable. The downside is there is no lift and the bathroom is very small but this is offset by the magnificent breakfast. We would thoroughly recommend it and would certainly stay there again.
Ruth and Graeme Taylor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Well, thank you
This explains everything
The fact that the problemof the lift and the small bathroom weren't big problems for you, this shows that our care for the breakfast, our relationships with our guests can overcome all the rest.
We are so happy about what you wrote, it's very important to know that it was, anyway, a very comfortable stay
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    198
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
56
168
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We went to La Spazia last month, so we looked through booking.com finding a hotel with reasonable price. We found Hotel Birillo. So we booked it without any high expectation.

Once we arrived the hotel, we're welcomed by a friendly receptionist. The room is comfortable. Everything is working. The next morning we left our belongings at the hotel. The staff told us we can come collect it any time. They are very helpful. Overall, it is a very good stay. Will return there for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much!
It's wonderful to know that, despite your low expectations, you were nicely surprised and that you liked everything
Even if we don't have a storage room, we always keep your luggage here when you need it
Thank you for your positive attitude
Bye :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

An excellent hotel with excellent and varied breakfast and most accommodating staff. The location is prime and the rooms are spotless (thanks Johnny) and though they are in the process of revamping the building somewhat, they will make sure you are satisfied and happy with your accommodation. A small hotel with a big heart! We would recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Ahaha poor Lucia...she didn't like the name I gave her(of course she didn't)
Grannies how are you?
Did you publish your book?
It was a great time with you here, very happy to have you as our guests.
I really appreciated your talking to me everyday and sharing your experiences all around the world
Really would like to have you back here :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A great value hotel with wonderful host. We stayed here four nights and were very satisfied. The Manger, Sara, went the extra mile to make everything comfortable and pleasant. This is a value hotel, not/not a a place for you if you must have electronic door locks and nice curtains. The rooms are basic, large and clean and have automatic temperature control. Everything works but there are a minimum of 23 stairs to climb. The complementary breakfast is diversified and quite nice. Their restaurant recommendations they gave us were all good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanke you for the gem :)
Your words made us feel very special
Yes, the hotel is basic, no luxury, but we're always working trying to do our best to renovate as much as we can.
If you come back you'll see some improovements
Thank youuu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel Birillo was the perfect overnight stop for us after visiting Cinque Terre. The rooms are small, but they were clean and apparently are upgrading so they will be even nicer soon. The staff was terrific, especially Sara whom went above and beyond to help us when we got a local parking ticket... Confusing in Italian!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Direttore at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Oh yes :)
We went together to the post office...and it was probably rainig
Fantastic
Everyday a different experience, never boring here =)
Tank you
I remember you very well, come back whenever you want you'll be so much welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We used this hotel and La Spezia for a brief visit to Cinque Terre and spent 2 nights here. The Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. However, for people with large suitcases, you should be aware that there is no elevator so you have to lug your suitcases up a flight of stairs to the room. The room was fairly spacious and clean. The bathroom can only be described as a quirky afterthought. It was long and very narrow and just adequate but clean. The included breakfast was very good. The location was very good about 2 or 3 blocks from the main walking street and about 10-15 minute walk to the train station which takes you to the Cinque Terre.

I would recommend this hotel for stays in this area but warn people that the bathroom takes a little getting used to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Yes,
not having an elevator here might sometimes be a problem
Don't forget I'm very strong and always need to do some gym :) so please help me with my diet, give me your suitcase to carry =)
THank you for all the rest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Bathroom new. Located between RR and harbor. Bath towels thin like tea towels. Old but clean with a terrific staff remodeling under way. Lovely breakfast with fresh baked goods meats cheeses and fruits. Staff carried up my suitcase.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much
we're still doing our best to improove things day by day
Thank
we'll wait you here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Birillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.