We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, nice staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Birillo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Birillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Birillo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, nice staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Myself and somefriends stayed here after completing the cinque terre walk. Staff were lovely but the hotel was very basic, fine for a night though. The breakfast was surprisingly good as i wasnt expecting much, they have a cute little outdoor area and serve nice coffees. La Spezia itself we did not enjoy, everything closes quite early and there is literally nothing to do. Also a lot of youths just sort of hanging around town give it a bit of a dark feel. Knowing what i know now, i would either recommend doing the walk starting in la spezia end or making the effort to take the 20min bus ride to porto venere which is absolutely stunning with lovely beachside hotels restaurants and shops and a castle to explore. Personally i thought vernazza the best of the five towns as the overnight pick - most lively and a really cute terrase rrstaurant by the water.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello!
Thank you very much for your review.
We hope if you come back in La Spezia you could our guests againas we're trying to renovate the hotel as fast as we can.
Hope to hear from you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    159
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
134
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here to explore the cinque terra, and it was a perfect location. The ferries are a 10 min walk and so is the train. It was easy to find and the room was a decent size.
There is no elevator, but without even asking the gentleman collected out bags and took them up stairs for us.

The bathroom was very small, for a larger sized person I think this would be a problem.

Breakfast had a good selection of sweet and savory food and freshly made coffee upon request.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello!
we're glad you enjoyed your staying here and appreciated our homemade products
Thank you!
About the bathrooms, as for the rooms we're trying to do the best to renovate them all in a short time
If you come back to Italy, visit us
Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel which is located just off the city center pedestrian only area. The staff was very helpful and eager to assist wherever possible. Homemade breakfast treats with fresh brewed coffee and other more standard accompianments. All in all, a very nice place to stay that is reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay plus we had a balcony.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello,
having you as guests here was a real pleasure, thank you form the time spent together
Hope to see you again
Ciao for now :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I have been car-camping in Italy and wanted to do an extended Cinque Terre walk. We had help finding where to safely park our car (the train station) which is a close distance to the hotel. The staff was friendly and informative, the caffe macchiatos delicious and this stay definitely added to our whole experience. Due to the convenient location there was street noise at night (it is located fairly close to the fun-zone) - but that's why ear-plugs were invented!

Room Tip: There is no A/C, the first night we stayed in a corner room, great cross ventilation, but more stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
Yes theese days were busy so there was a lot of traffic, it's not like this everytime
I hope you can come back again
We're glad you liked our caffe macchiatos
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Sara and her exceptional customer relations make this two star a five star! She was helpful, friendly and her homemade breakfasts are amazing. My husband and I have travelled all over Europe and never had a breakfast like this. The bathrooms may be small but the bedroom was a great size and the location is ideal to explore the Cinque Terre. Thanks so much Sara and I am missing your breakfast creme de brule.
Beth and Bill McCracken (Vancouver, Canada)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello!!!
It was a wonderful time with you here, very busy but wonderful!
And when I read something like this, I'm really full of joy and satisfation, because all we do here is for your happiness; your review let me know that we succeded in it, that's what we work for.
I hope you're having a good time, please if you come back to Italy, visit us again!!!even for a coffee ( or a creme caramel )
Ciao
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was a nice stay and we were able to negosiate a good rate. Hotel Birillo is about a 10 minute walk to the railway and pretty much close to the center of town. The rooms, though extreemely small, were furnished and decorated well. The hospitality shown by the operators was great and they were a wealth of knowlege.

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello!
I don't remember if we told you that you were the first people trying the renovated room, but we're working to renovate all rooms.
We hope you enjoyed your staying
Thanks and the best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Yes, the price is reasonable.
But the best there is Sara (the receptionist).
She is so friendly and kind and ready to help you.
And you have to go to the restaurant she recommends.
I stayed there two nights just for a day-trip to Cinque Terre.
But the stay there gave me more pleasing memories than Cinque Terre did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you
We really appreciated what you said
Your words made us feel really important
Thank you so much
Wish the best for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Birillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Birillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.