We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Venezia La Spezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Venezia La Spezia to your Saves list
Hotel Venezia La Spezia
10 Via Paleocapa, 19122 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Otaki, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been to this Hotel three times and it is comfortable,great room rates and very close to all services.I highly recomend it,breakfast is very good too.The staff are lovely and very friendly.I no it's not "Cosher" but they do have a floor for smokers too.Very nice outlook over the main street and to the side--garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
23
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

After a long train trip Hotel Venezia was a welcome relief. Located only a few minutes walk from the railway station it was convenient, clean, fresh and surprisingly quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, and willing to speak to us in English and to accommodate our attempts to communicate in Italian as painfully bad as they were. The location was also close to the main township and a range of cafes and restaurants as well as the marketplace. We stayed for three nights, and every night it was relaxing to come back in and be greeted with our keys waiting for us. The staff quite obviously knew their guests and how their trip to La Spezia was progressing. I found this personalised touch very special. The breakfast cafe was lovely and the charming young man on duty did everything to make sure everyone got what they wanted. The blood orange juices were quite wonderful. Thanks Venezia.

Room Tip: Be very specific if you want a double room to mean a double bed. This can be lost in translation bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2009 when looking for accommodation in the 'Cinque Terre area. We do recommend this hotel and would return.

Staff were very welcoming. Our room overlooked the street and piazza further to the left. The area was quiet, especially at night, even though it is on the road to the rail station as the road is closed. The room had double glazing. The hotel is clean. The room was spotless and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast was in the small dining room on the top floor. The location is handy, less than 100 metres from the station which is easy access to the 'Cinque Terre' National Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this hotel since it is very close to the train station and it sure is. It took me 2 minutes to reach the hotel. I arrived quite late (around 10:30pm) and the man in the front counter could not speak English. This could be because it was quite late. The next day, there was an another man who spoke very good English.

I used Initalia website to book the room. When I handed the piece of paper containing the booking, it took about 5 minutes and plus a phone call to confirm this. Finally got the room. It was clean but was a bit outdated.

The air conditioner worked but I had to turn it on using the main control centre outside the room. so it was very weird.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived in La Spezia with no hotel booked and ended up walking around and found Hotel Venezia. It had free parking (which was a huge bonus) and had a reasonable rate. No wifi. Decor was a little dated, but it was fine (and quiet). It was just a short walk to the train station, to take the train to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location is very close to the train station. IT is on the same street. As you exit the train station turn left and just walk down the street. Voila, you are there. It is not noisy at all even though it is so close to the station. The hotel is very clean and the price is very reasonable and you get a very good breakfast consisting of blood orange juice, coffee/tea, croissant, toasts and cereals. The location is great and you can visit Cinque Terre with the park pass for 10 euro and ride the train all day. Within 10 minutes walk you can go on a bus and get to Portovenere in less than 30 minutes. The waterfront of La Spezia is gorgeous. The seafood place there is full of locals and tastes great. Have a lovely time there. I did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A wonderful,friendly place to stay.Beautiful breakfast too!
Our third stay and hope there will be more.Very handy to everything.
Many thanks to the staff,they are great.
Joy and June from New Zealand

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Venezia La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venezia La Spezia

Address: 10 Via Paleocapa, 19122 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Venezia La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Venezia La Spezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.