We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Venezia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Venezia La Spezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Venezia La Spezia to your Saves list
Hotel Venezia La Spezia
10 Via Paleocapa, 19122 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Venezia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2009 when looking for accommodation in the 'Cinque Terre area. We do recommend this hotel and would return.

Staff were very welcoming. Our room overlooked the street and piazza further to the left. The area was quiet, especially at night, even though it is on the road to the rail station as the road is closed. The room had double glazing. The hotel is clean. The room was spotless and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast was in the small dining room on the top floor. The location is handy, less than 100 metres from the station which is easy access to the 'Cinque Terre' National Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this hotel since it is very close to the train station and it sure is. It took me 2 minutes to reach the hotel. I arrived quite late (around 10:30pm) and the man in the front counter could not speak English. This could be because it was quite late. The next day, there was an another man who spoke very good English.

I used Initalia website to book the room. When I handed the piece of paper containing the booking, it took about 5 minutes and plus a phone call to confirm this. Finally got the room. It was clean but was a bit outdated.

The air conditioner worked but I had to turn it on using the main control centre outside the room. so it was very weird.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived in La Spezia with no hotel booked and ended up walking around and found Hotel Venezia. It had free parking (which was a huge bonus) and had a reasonable rate. No wifi. Decor was a little dated, but it was fine (and quiet). It was just a short walk to the train station, to take the train to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location is very close to the train station. IT is on the same street. As you exit the train station turn left and just walk down the street. Voila, you are there. It is not noisy at all even though it is so close to the station. The hotel is very clean and the price is very reasonable and you get a very good breakfast consisting of blood orange juice, coffee/tea, croissant, toasts and cereals. The location is great and you can visit Cinque Terre with the park pass for 10 euro and ride the train all day. Within 10 minutes walk you can go on a bus and get to Portovenere in less than 30 minutes. The waterfront of La Spezia is gorgeous. The seafood place there is full of locals and tastes great. Have a lovely time there. I did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A wonderful,friendly place to stay.Beautiful breakfast too!
Our third stay and hope there will be more.Very handy to everything.
Many thanks to the staff,they are great.
Joy and June from New Zealand

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just stayed there last night. The front desk was a little intimidating, since the guy working there was out buying cigarettes and had left a non-English speaking friend to cover for him. But when he returned, he gave us a pretty good rate compared to the high prices just up the street. The two rooms were tiny, but very clean and comfortable. Showers were big and powerful. (very nice) The breakfast was included and VERY nice. We were waited on by very friendly staff and the overall experience was very good.

Room Tip: the front (street side) may not have so much train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

The Ritz this ain't! BUT for the price & location right next to the station this was perfect for me.
The hotel manager is a grump & I felt like I was an annoyance for him showing up, but I managed to get a slight grin out of him as I was leaving!
It was clean, quiet & overlooked the centre of town...what more could you want?
The room was small & the bed like a fold out, but I slept like a baby & breakfast was fine.
Great for 1 night but I certainly wouldn't have stayed longer...it was my launch pad for the stunning Cinque Terre & cheap, cheap, cheap!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Venezia La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venezia La Spezia

Address: 10 Via Paleocapa, 19122 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Venezia La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Venezia La Spezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.