We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to train station!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Venezia La Spezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Venezia La Spezia to your Saves list
Hotel Venezia La Spezia
10 Via Paleocapa, 19122 La Spezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Sackville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very close to train station!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived in La Spezia with no hotel booked and ended up walking around and found Hotel Venezia. It had free parking (which was a huge bonus) and had a reasonable rate. No wifi. Decor was a little dated, but it was fine (and quiet). It was just a short walk to the train station, to take the train to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
19
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location is very close to the train station. IT is on the same street. As you exit the train station turn left and just walk down the street. Voila, you are there. It is not noisy at all even though it is so close to the station. The hotel is very clean and the price is very reasonable and you get a very good breakfast consisting of blood orange juice, coffee/tea, croissant, toasts and cereals. The location is great and you can visit Cinque Terre with the park pass for 10 euro and ride the train all day. Within 10 minutes walk you can go on a bus and get to Portovenere in less than 30 minutes. The waterfront of La Spezia is gorgeous. The seafood place there is full of locals and tastes great. Have a lovely time there. I did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A wonderful,friendly place to stay.Beautiful breakfast too!
Our third stay and hope there will be more.Very handy to everything.
Many thanks to the staff,they are great.
Joy and June from New Zealand

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just stayed there last night. The front desk was a little intimidating, since the guy working there was out buying cigarettes and had left a non-English speaking friend to cover for him. But when he returned, he gave us a pretty good rate compared to the high prices just up the street. The two rooms were tiny, but very clean and comfortable. Showers were big and powerful. (very nice) The breakfast was included and VERY nice. We were waited on by very friendly staff and the overall experience was very good.

Room Tip: the front (street side) may not have so much train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

The Ritz this ain't! BUT for the price & location right next to the station this was perfect for me.
The hotel manager is a grump & I felt like I was an annoyance for him showing up, but I managed to get a slight grin out of him as I was leaving!
It was clean, quiet & overlooked the centre of town...what more could you want?
The room was small & the bed like a fold out, but I slept like a baby & breakfast was fine.
Great for 1 night but I certainly wouldn't have stayed longer...it was my launch pad for the stunning Cinque Terre & cheap, cheap, cheap!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

First I'll get the negatives out of the way. The room was the smallest I've seen that didn't have brooms in it - if you are thinking of swinging a cat, look elsewhere. The hot water came only very slowly, our toilet lid came off in my wife's hand and the seat looked like it might cause serious injury at any moment. The bedroom furnishings looked as if they'd been bought at an MFI closing down sale and the wardrobe, in particular, I'm sure, had been assembled by a one eyed man with no thumbs!

Now the positives. The Hotel is yards from the Railway Station ( a ten minute train ride to the Cinque Terre) and only ten minutes walk, through shopping streets, to the harbour, yet is very quiet at night and seems to be in a very safe area. (maybe August gives a false impression, what with Italians all going on holiday at the same time). We were able to park, without charge, right outside the front door although this was only possible because a member of staff kindly held up traffic and prevented anyone else from pinching the only available space. The lobby area is bright, clean and well furnished and, as a previous reviewer said, the staff seemed to treat it as their own lounge but were on their feet the minute you walked in to see if you needed anything.

Although very small and basic, our room was clean, quiet and remarkably comfortable. It even had a balcony looking out onto the street and square below. Breakfast was one of the better ones we've had in Italy and was served by a member of staff who was always friendly and talkative and made coffee to order on the spot - no helping yourself from a lukewarm brew made an hour ago! All the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and, returning to our room mid morning on the first full day, we found one of them coming away with a spanner - on looking in the bathroom we had a brand new toilet seat and lid; all without asking!

If you are after space, luxury, and high quality furnishings this isn't for you. But, if you want a reasonably priced, spotlesssly clean, place to sleep for a couple of nights to visit La Spezia or the Cinque Terre then Hotel Venezia will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

After arriviing at our appartment to find it swimming in water we needed somewhere to stay for 3 nights within walking distance. The Venezia proved to be an excellent choice and excellent value for money. Although the room may be described as more functional than comfortable it was spotless and bright. The en suite shower room had a good hot shower and the heating was good with the central heating radiators being on from 7 30 p m to 7 30 am with an additional remote controlled hot air heating/air con unit available. A continental breakfast was included in the price and served in a pleasant breakfast room by a very nice and helpful lady. Although close to the railway station we had three undisturbed nights sleep. All in all a very welcome suprise and an excellent base for people wishing to visit the cinque terre.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Venezia La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venezia La Spezia

Address: 10 Via Paleocapa, 19122 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Venezia La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Venezia La Spezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.