We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Genova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Genova to your Saves list
Melia Genova
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Corsica, 4, 16128 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
New York City
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A fine choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A fine, modern hotel with , for us, an ideal location -- just outside the city center and in a pleasant up-scale residential neighborhood. The breakfast was fine. The pool is for dipping only. The gym was marginally equipped for resistance training, OK for cardio. The benches are not well designed for sit-ups of for free-weight use. The gym was also too warm.
One other criticism--when we drove up to the hotel entrance, there was no one to take our bags or attend to the car. I had to inquire at the front desk, which did respond properly.
Yet, if you are visiting Genoa, the Melia remains a fine choice, and we would stay there again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    219
    47
    20
    3
See reviews for
104
321
40
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice location, friendly and helpful staff (knowledgeable), rooms/interior are just like the pictures, comfortable and relaxing lounge area. Clearly a chain hotel, so not as accommodating as a boutique hotel for the price, but I don't have any complaints and in this particular city I was very pleased with my decision.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago with my boyfriend and we both fell in love with it! All staff were very happy and helpful. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms but were still fairly spacious and high spec. The decor was art deco style, with alot of marble, which is my ideal hotel! Food is lovely, had breakfast, lunch and dinner. But perhaps a little pricey(although expected in a 5 star hotel) The facilities were great too with a turkish bath, stylish swimming pool, mist shower, tropical shower and gym. If I visit Genoa again I'll definately be staying in the Melia hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I only stayed one night, but this was a very comfortable option in Genoa. As a fan of Art Deco the hotel itself is an architectural treasure. The interior is modern but with Art Deco accents. The room was a good size with excellent amenities. However, it was hard to work out how the electric blinds worked and I did feel rather idiotic having to call reception to ask.

My only gripe for a five star hotel was the lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room. Tea arrived promptly from room service with some lovely home biscuits.

The front desk staff were excellent. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner and were a real pleasure to deal with.

The hotel is a ten minute walk to the historic quarter and be warned there are lots of stairs. We enjoyed the walk and the area the hotel is in felt much safer than the some other areas. Having said this its been ten years since I was last in Genoa and the city looks wonderful. Historic buildings have been restored and the whole port area regenerated. There is still an edge to parts of the city, but much less so than on my last visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Luxurious rooms, very good bathroom and breakfast also excellent. Location is also very good, only ~5 minutes to walk in city centre and about 10-15 minutes to the beach. Expensive parking and wifi are the only problems with this hotel but still I recommend this because of the overall quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was the nicest of our recent trip to Italy. Tucked away in a quiet neighborhood, within walking distance of most sites. Public bus pulls up 10 meters away.

Booking this room was not as rewarding as the hotel. I made an error in not booking consecutive nights. I called the central reservation center and a polite English speaking agent basically told me I couldn't make any changes or cancel and re-book without losing my full prepaid room; this is three months before the trip.

When I arrived at the hotel, the staff was very sympathetic, but explained they were completely booked. They did say they would arrange for another hotel. The next day I checked with the front desk and of course they were a different shift, but they said they knew of my plight and would try and work something out. 30 minutes later - they did. I cannot begin to describe how great that hotel staff is and when you compare their work ethic to other Italian hotels, they really stand out.

The room was spacious, modern and very quiet. The WiFi was great.

There is a couple of places to get coffee and a pastry in the morning across the street at very good prices.

When I come back to Genova, I am staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here to be local to Genoa airport for our return flight. Lack of hotel parking was a bit disappointing but they provided valet parking albeit at a charge of 30 euros. Room was nice although the bathroom was a bit on the small side for a modern hotel but was OK nevertheless. Very good location for sightseeing the fascinating old city. We had no idea how large and impressive a city it was, beautiful old buildings streets and piazzas, a very busy and vibrant place, but the hotel was nicely away from any noise. We enjoyed a pleasant meal in the bar (my wife particularly enjoyed the garlic pasta) and the breakfast was good. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Genova

Address: Via Corsica, 4, 16128 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#2 Business Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Genova 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Carignano district just steps away from the city’s commercial, cultural and financial centre, is the ideal venue for business travellers and for short holiday stays, also for the entire family. 99 rooms equipped with all the conveniences and immersed in a modern, luxurious setting including the unique Newport Presidential Suite with a private hydro massage tub on the terrace. The Grace Restaurant welcomes guests in a setting of sober refinement. The cuisine combines the flavours and aromas of Liguria with the pleasures of traditional international cuisine. The Wellness Club Azure is equipped by an exercise pool, water jet hydro massage tub, Turkish bath, tropical and mist showers and a fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Genova Hotel Genoa
Bentley Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Genova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.