We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Genova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Genova to your Saves list
Melia Genova
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Corsica, 4, 16128 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Melia in Genova and were very, very happy with this hotel! The rooms are big, tastefully decorated and have great light. The bathroom was huge, with both, bath and shower. Since we were traveling with our infant, the staff had a crib ready for us at check-in. Don't miss out on the breakfast either! Delicious hams, cheeses, eggs, fruits, etc. The best part about this hotel was the spa area. Steam room, amazing pool, gym and showers. Really, for what you get, we thought the price was a steal!!

Room Tip: Need wheelchair access, i.e. a little ramp. Would help with families with strollers too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    219
    47
    20
    3
See reviews for
104
321
40
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
crete
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for a night in this 5star hotel, it was really nice, good location, big and clean rooms, and a fantastic bathroom!But we were really disappointed with the man in the reception, very rude and i can say not the right person for a 5 star hotel!!we were 5 people and two children (2.years.old) and we were waiting for 45 minutes for the check in!!!!!and when i asked him the reason for the delay he said that he was waiting for our passports! notice that i gave him the passports when we arrived to the hotel and he did not see them!!!(5 passports in his desk and he did not notice them)he did not apologise and he was very rude. It was our first impression and it was not good at all!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really do not know how to begin our review..
Firstly, we are not one of those people who stay in a 5* hotels and expect 'God knows what..' for our money. We are realistic and polite and very very rarely we have to write a review like this. The only reason why we give Melia Genoa 2* is because it is truly beautiful building, fine location, outstanding quality room and clean bathroom. Why we are shocked about our 2 night stay in this property is simply because of the service and 'attitude' we received. Yes, we had only Standard room but even Standard room comes 129 GBP a night without breakfast and I do not see it as the reason to treat guests who stay in Standard rooms and who stay in Junior Suite differently. But that is how we felt...
We arrived at 11am and asked is there any room available for an Early Check In. If it is not, we are happy to leave our luggage and explore the city. A gentleman who was in that time behind the Reception called Housekeeping and confirmed that there is a room ready for us. We had a room on the 5th floor and even the fact that we were facing the building which underwent an extensive work did not bother us as we are not the ones who will demand to exchange the room for the smallest opportunity. We quickly explored the room which we found smaller than our previous room (we stayed in that week in two different hotels in Genoa and this was the only one 5* hotel as we wanted to conclude our trip to Genoa with something special) but still in a great quality. We travelled to Camogli beach that day and arrived back very tired after 9pm. First thing - I wanted to take a shower but noticed there is no shower gel or bath cream, only two bars of soap what I do not find comfortable if I want to take a shower. My partner meanwhile wanted to have a cup of tea or coffee and simply relax. To our surprise, we discovered there is nothing in the cupboard except the kettle and sugar - no tea no coffee facilities. Weird for 5* hotel. He went to the Reception to ask for a Shower gel, tea, coffee, slippers (in Melia Genoa website for Guest Rooms (Standard Rooms) is said there are Bathrobes and slippers in the room) and converter to charge his phone. He soon came back saying that a lady in the Reception told him they do not provide slippers in Standard rooms (how come if it is written in their own website?) but she will tell a man to bring them anyway and that she does not have a converter till the next day. Fine with that as we understand no hotel holds loads of converters. After 10mins or so a man got us a shampoo (??), shower gel, one pair (??) of slippers. No tea. No coffee. As we were too tired we decided not to go back, whatsoever.
Next day we kindly approached the Reception and reminded about the tea and coffee. We said there is only sugar and the kettle in the room. We were promised that Housekeeping will put all these things there before we come back. Well, we came back in the afternoon and found just the tea. Maybe some people will wonder: Whats the difference - do you have that coffee or not? But, trust me, there are loads of people who can not imagine their life without a cup of a good coffee and arriving tired/late in your 5* hotel, that is what you would expect as a minimum.
Melia Genoa is a 5* hotel and it is Number 1 in Genoa. I think this is not the way it should be. Is it a language barrier or does the hotel simply not care much about the clients who stay in Standard rooms and instead 'run around' clients who pay for Suites. It may not be the truth but that is the impression we were left with.
Small things add up and in the end you are just left with an unhappy customer. We went to the Reception and again asked for that coffee. Is it really so hard? What we did not understand is why people in the Reception kept promising on and on... In the end of the day we got a call in our room and a lady told my partner that they actually do not provide coffee in Standard rooms. This is the moment where I got angry. Not because we did not get that coffee but because no one could tell as this since the very beginning. We approached the Reception more than three times and in the end we get this phone call... How funny indeed.. Funny because my partner stayed in Taj Campton 5* hotel in San Francisco on December,2011, and they went that extra mile and surprised him with the room service even in the afternoon while he was in the conference. He came back in the evening and there was fruit left for him, 'freshened up' room, dimmed lights.... And I have to mention that he stayed in Standard room with provided Nespresso machine. Or should I say about my stay in Swissotel in Berlin? They provide Nespresso coffee machine in every single room. That is what we call a 5* service! That is why we can not pride Melia Genoa. And we will never recommend this hotel to any of our friends or colleagues. Nevertheless to say, when we checked out, no one asked how was our stay/ was everything alright etc. Nor there was in other reviews mentioned TV in the bathroom.
Simply disappointing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Thrilled to take this opportunity to praise and highlight this wonderful hotel. My partner and I have just spent a delightful time at Melia Genova celebrating 20 years together and enjoyed every moment of our visit to Genova.

Not only did we find a celebration bottle of chilled celebration cava, and highly civilised aperitvo snacks in our, most luxurious, room when we arrived but the hotel staff and services were of the highest quality throughout our stay. Breakfast was always a treat (with a fine selection of fruit, salad, cheese, pastries, cakes, juice, cereals, and hot dishes - all helpfully health rated), as were our morning and pre siesta exercise sessions in the adequately equipped gym, sauna and in the in the idyllic and well maintained pool.

The hotel's location boast fine views over Genova and a mere 10 minute stroll into town, low lit luxurious subtle furnishings are infinitely stimulating as well as relaxing and I'd recommend you get straight onto their own website to research further - you'll be more than tempted to book - I know I was & am delighted I did! Thank you to everyone involved.

Room Tip: book direct with melia hotels and as far in advance as you dare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night and although we enjoyed our stay I think I expected more from a hotel with a 5 star rating. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the main shopping street in Genoa and in a nice location. The room size was good but our tv didn't work and the website said there was a tv in the bathroom, we had a control but no tv. As we were only staying one night we didn't ask for the tv to be fixed but informed reception when we checked out. The electric blackout blinds got stuck halfway down and had to be pulled by hand and there were big scratches on them letting the light in.

The spa was very nice and modern, however the tropical and mist showers were freezing cold so we couldn't use them. The pool is lovely albeit quite small.

Breakfast was plentiful with cooked food, cold meats and cheese, yoghurts, cereal, pastries and fruit etc. I asked twice for a cappuccino which never materialised so gave up.

All in all we enjoyed our stay but i would say it was an average 4 star hotel, definitely not 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Came here to attend a wedding. in the past i have tried two other Genoa 5 stars, bristol and savoia i think, and this wasthe better one. tourists need to be careful, genoa is not a tourist destination. it''s a place where people pass-by, either to board a ferry to sardinia or cruises or to portofino. people here are notoriously grumpyand this coming from an italian! my room was nice. the design is very much deco and brings back memories of when,around 1920' genoa was a place filled with industries and shipping magnates. now all is gone and geno lives a long slow death. i agree with another reviewer, staff seems a bit sparse and i myself found reception unattanded once. they all speak english which, in italy,is never to be taken for granted. did not try breakfast and just had a quick peek before deciding against. last cherry, taxi drivers told me hotel has been linked to a big 'sex' scandal before been taken by spanish melia. all genoans knew it was a place to take escorts and sort. now things have changed. now footballers come here...if you know what i mean. still, i will come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

A very nice hotel, well located in 5 mn of the center.

Light and spacious room, nice bathroom very pleasant with sophisticated decoration.
We especially enjoyed the pool and relaxation area with original design.(so Italian…)
All the conveniences for which we expect from such a hotel are there...
Hospitality is very good, we had pleasure ,
The staff is available and is ready to help with in particular the Guest experience manager particularly attentive to our needs.

A pleasant stay which we shall begin again gladly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Genova

Address: Via Corsica, 4, 16128 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Genoa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Genova 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Carignano district just steps away from the city’s commercial, cultural and financial centre, is the ideal venue for business travellers and for short holiday stays, also for the entire family. 99 rooms equipped with all the conveniences and immersed in a modern, luxurious setting including the unique Newport Presidential Suite with a private hydro massage tub on the terrace. The Grace Restaurant welcomes guests in a setting of sober refinement. The cuisine combines the flavours and aromas of Liguria with the pleasures of traditional international cuisine. The Wellness Club Azure is equipped by an exercise pool, water jet hydro massage tub, Turkish bath, tropical and mist showers and a fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Genova Hotel Genoa
Bentley Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Genova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.