We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Hotel Genova

Save Saved
You added Olympia Hotel Genova to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olympia Hotel Genova
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre 21 - 4th floor, 16121 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 87 hotels in Genoa
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
“Atmospheric Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have spent only one evening and night in Genova. All the time we had a feeling that we arrived in XXVIII century majestic and bustling city. The hotel fully reflected above mentioned: high ceiling in a quite big room, decorated hall, cordial landlord and so on. This is the reason why we really liked this hotel, mark it as 'excellent' and recommend it to everyone.

Romantics apart, the hotel has a number of advantages:
1. Good location: it IS in the city center. 15 minutes walk from Aquarium for example.
2. Safe location: Genova has A LOT of small narrow dirty streets where you are afraid to walk in the night even if you are not alone there. This is not the case here. The hotel is located on a clean central street with a lot of big shops. Light everywhere. No dust bins here and there. Lots of restaurants with all levels of prices.
3. Car parking is 50 meters from the hotel.
4. I think there is no review where landlord's dog is not mentioned :) + 5 to hotel charisma.
5. Nice breakfast: we have got a coupon for a cafe nearby where we were offered fresh brioche and a coffee.
6. In the hotel you will find a lot of information about Genova. they have booklets and maps everywhere, and you do not need to bother personnel for this. This is a tiny thing, but I am mentioning it because you will not find this in other similar hotels for this price.
7. The landlord speaks Italian and French (almost no English), but you understand each other perfectly!! This is a mystery how it happens. He is so helpful and friendly. We had no problem at all.

Disadvantages:
1. The shower is quite old. But it was ok, bearable. In comparison with all the rest this is nothing. It was clean anyway and not small, this is what is important.
2. Please ask hotel personnel to provide you very good description of how to find the hotel and especially the parking. Exact directions and pictures. I am sure they will put it on the internet soon. We were lucky with parking, because we have just found a parking in that area to stop for sometime until we find our hotel and our parking, and after that only we got to know that this was the parking we need. We are sure we would never find this parking if we were searching it from the beginning. Anyway, this is an organizational question only, and I am sure they will fix it soon.
3. The hotel is not a full building, it is just a floor in a building with a lot of apartments. So depending on your preferences you might want something else. But anyway, the area inside is spacious and very clean, and the environment is very friendly. You have a feeling you are in a full fledged hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    77
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
71
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just in Genoa for one night, but this place worked perfectly. Not far from Brignole Station, and a short (20 min) walk to the waterfront to enjoy a few drinks before going out for dinner.
The room was well appointed and comfortable, the owner (Augustino - I hope!) was classic - very friendly and welcoming and of course we loved the dog Tommy!
One thing - the plastic foot pad for the shower needs to be fixed in place - was a little like being on ice until we removed it, but no biggie!!
We highly recommend this place and wish them all the best with the about-to-be-completed renovations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Olympia Hotel is of Olympic Standards!… : in depth review and tips below:

Olympia Hotel, Via XX Settembre 21
Genova, 16121

I visited this hotel for two nights while interrailing in September 2013.

Our original package (was for a double room and shared bathroom). However, we got upgraded for free randomly to have our own bathroom.

The hotel is located 5-10minutes walk away from the exit of Genova Brignole Station. If you are arriving from Genova Piazza Princpe, it will be approximately 40 minute walk or you can take the bus (number 35 drops you off near Dante Piazza, which you can then walk 5-10 minutes to the hotel. There are a couple of other buses that will drop you nearby or you could experiment with the metro… which had only a couple of stops. If you are purchasing a bus ticket, do so at a newsagent outside the train stations for a couple of euros per person.

The hotel is on the left hand side of the road facing east (or along the same side of the road as San Vicente). There is no glorified sign that protrudes out, but it is a white bright flat sign that is displayed outside the hotel along XX Settembre.

The hotel is on a couple floors up, but there is a cool vintage OTIS lift/elevator that would take you and your luggage up. Just follow the instructions on the lift and close the lift doors after yourself.

As soon as you arrive at the front door, you are hit by a wave of blue and white decor and painted walls, which seemlessly is consistent across the hotel.

We were pleasantly greeted by Angelo, who sincerely offered us complimentary cold water - probably particularly as it had been a very hot day and we had arrived sweating with our heavy backpacks! He offered further more the next day after our outings out. These little bits of service just show why the hotel is rated so highly…

He then showed us to our room (room 5) which had a double bed; tv; lights; wardrobe; bedside tables; sofa; cupboards and a bathroom which had a sink (hand soap); shower; toilet; towels; and a chair. There was no shower gel or hair dryer, but we had our own so could not comment if they provided them upon request.

The room was spacious and tall and the decor matching the hotel's theme.

Every time we left the hotel, our room key was given to the hotel staff to hang up (and clean the room etc) and if we were to stay out quite late, the key to the bottom of the building was provided (a buzzer at the bottom is available if I remember if you had no key).

Angelo recommended a good restaurant for us to try out - Zema Zuma which was two blocks away - and was good and not over expensive. Refer to other review for more info.

Angelo (although his English may not be perfect - he always got the message across with the tourist maps he have out) also provided advice on where to go along the old town in the evening.

For breakfast, it was complimentary, but it was not within the hotel. This was not a problem at all as the hotel has connections with several cafés in the area - Bar Halley and LaVazza - both good! Alejandro at Bar Halley was very helpful to provide us croissants and drinks as we had to catch the train and were running late.

The bed was comfortable and we had a good sleep. The whole apartment was cleaned well every day and towels changed daily.

There is a Carrefour convenience store located in the old town for any cheap refreshments and stocking up water within the day.

Down the same road are some outdoor food restaurants that you can consider to eat at.

There is free Internet all over the hotel. Wifi information was provided within the room and it allowed numerous devices to connect to the wifi.

Also situated on the same road is high street stores along XX Settembre (in addition to stores along the old town).

The hotel is conveniently located between the old town (5-10 minutes away) and 2 minutes from the high street stores of XX Settembre and 5 minutes away from the main square and centre of Genoa.

The price for this hotel is fairly reasonable and the service is brilliant. Definitely value for money.

Overall, the staff (Angelo and Augustine), comfort, service and location was fantastic. If I had to come back to Genoa, I would come back to this hotel for sure…

Food = 8/10 for breakfast bars
Service = 10/10
Atmosphere = 10/10
Value for Money = 10/10
Sleep Quality = 8/10
Rooms = 10/10
Location = 8/10
Cleanliness = 9/10
Overall = 9/10

Twitter: @hanstar007 - Scouse BBC (British Born Chinese!) Civil Engineer interested in anything funny, useful, photos, places, tech & food! Pro at: badminton, footy & snowboarding ;p
United Kingdom ·

Room Tip: Room 5 was in the corner of the hotel. It was a nice spacious room with sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013. It's a perfect location, near the food market, restaurants, and train station.

The owners were utterly charming and helpful for city advice, and although the fellow didn't speak much English, his daughter did a great job. It is a tiny room (who cares? I was out seeing the city), and the bathroom looked a little old but everything worked. The cafe nearby where I was sent for breakfast had a tiny breakfast (1 danish and 1 coffee) but the owners were, again, utterly charming.

The only real problem was the loud trash collection all Thursday night from the market and the mosquitos. But overall great for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We found free parking on the street & spend the night at this hotel.
Front desk agent was friendley and provided good service.
Good value hotel for the short time we spent in Genoa.
The room we stayed in had an outside bathroom but we did not mind.
I would retrun if I have to travel through Genoa again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was really nice. Angelo and the other guy (sorry forgot his name!) were super nice. They really care about the hotel. The building itself was quite old, but the owners put a lot of effort in making it beautiful. The guys were extremely helpful. I had a wonderful stay!

The only problem I could think of was... there was a minor problem with the toilet. It could be a plumbing problem of Genova, I don't know. There was a mild smell. It wasn't a big deal, when you close the toilet door, you can't really smell it.

Other than that, everything was absolutely fine. I was happy to stay here and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is close to everything you need to see in Genova. The staff is so helpful when it comes to give you advice on the must sees in the area. The rooms are really nice. My room had a balcony, and the bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olympia Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Hotel Genova

Address: Via XX Settembre 21 - 4th floor, 16121 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Olympia Hotel Genova 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Olympia Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Hotel Genova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.