We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a top quality hotel but seems tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Genova San Biagio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Genova San Biagio to your Saves list
Mercure Genova San Biagio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Romairone 14, 16163 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Should be a top quality hotel but seems tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A strange place. This should be a top hotel but has been left to decline slightly. Our room seemed like a 4* with sky tv and excellent bathroom, but the rest of the hotel seemed in decline. Its a very large hotel situated a few miles outside Genoa with only industrial units nearby.From the weeds in the parking area to the strange smells coming off the carpet in the hallways, to the reception staff in casual clothes, it seems like a hotel unloved by staff and management. We ahev2 ipads but i was told that we could only have 1 wifi access code per room at a cost of 7 euros. Even though the place was almost empty we could not buy another code fro my sons ipad,crazy. An American buffet was promised for breakfast but we received the normail Italian cold meat, cheese, croissant buffet. If you have a car and just want a nice room for a good price, this could be for you, but be prepared to be frustrated with other sides to this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    173
    86
    30
    16
See reviews for
72
143
9
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Pros: The hotel restaurant had excellent pasta dishes, the rooms were clean, there is a bus stop nearby with a bus to the city center that comes every 10 minutes, there were plenty of TV channels in all kinds of languages
Cons: It was expensive, a 45 minute bus ride from the city center, nothing special to see anywhere nearby (but beautiful landscape), there was no pool or any kind of hotel activity to do, the staff was nice to us but argued loudly and openly with each other, the beds were too hard, and what I found really, really irritating was that they charge 7 euros per day for internet, and the internet was so bad that we couldn't use it most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel is located if quite far from the city centre, it is not Genova generally speaking, it's industrial neighbourhood, which doesn't look safe during the night. I'm not sure about public transport options, but the city is in 20 minutes drive from there. I found the hotel is satisfying for 1 night stay on the way. It provides free parking. The room was ok, big enough and equipped with proper furniture. The breakfast was nice as well, many choices of cold dishes (cookies, ham, cheese, etc) and omelette. I also used room service and meal was nice, proper quality and tasty. Overall I think the hotel is ok, but not an option if your target is Genova.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Idea San Biagio offers spacious rooms and beds, a decent choice of breakfast and free parking. On the downside, it is far from the city center, which is nevertheless accessible after a 45 minute ride via public bus. I also found very annoying its policy of charging an extra 7 euros daily for WiFi Internet access.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Excellent hotel. Rooms are spacy, bathrooms are excellent, parking for free. By the way this is the brand by Holiday Inn. Nothing to add.
I recommend this hotel to everybody who goes to Genova by car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent 1 night in June 2011 here to break our journey from Italy to France. Our twin bedded room was of reasonable size with modern fit-out and lovely large flat screen tv. Both the room and bathroom were clean and the beds comfortable.

The only gripe we had was that the air-conditioning in our room didn't work so we had to leave the window open all night leaving us at the mercy of mosquitoes. My guess is the air-conditioning does work but the hotel is saving money on power, as the only place that that appeared to be cooled was the reception area.

A quite respectable buffet breakfast was included in the room rate - with a good choice of drinks, sweets, breads and fresh fruit. The dining room was large and pleasant and also provided access to a dining area outside in the sun.

A car is definitely recommended to reach this hotel due to its position on the outskirts of town. It has plenty of free parking spaces provided at the front and back of the hotel. There was quite a large looking shopping centre within walking distance, however it was closed the day we were there.

Overall a very good place to stay, would have been even better if the air-con worked!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This place isn't too from a suburban train station, but if you need to get around the area, you'll need a car.

Coming off the autostrada, there were lots of signs for the hotel, but it was easy to miss when finally arriving. You have to take a pretty long loop to get there, because it's across a dry riverbed.

The hotel itself was nice, good beds, good bathroom, big flatscreen TV, etc.

The room key didn't work at first, the front desk seemed rather disinterested upon check in (it was midnight).

Big breakfast buffet, lots of coffees, juices, cakes, deli assortment, etc.

This is probably a fine hotel if you're doing business in the area.
.

Room Tip: Probably looking west would be a better view, my east facing room overlooked the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Genova San Biagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Genova San Biagio

Address: Via Romairone 14, 16163 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Genoa
#11 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Genova San Biagio 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Biagio Hotel is a modern structure which links international comfort to warm atmosphere, where the Guests could be delighted by a quiet location sat among the nature and connected to a sporting centre.San Biagio Hotel is strategically built near to the most attractive spots of Genoa and its location allows for easy connections with the town centre, the airport, the Aquarium and the International Fair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Genova San Biagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Biagio Hotel
San Biagio Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Genova San Biagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.