We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, friendly, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vittoria Orlandini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vittoria Orlandini to your Saves list
Hotel Vittoria Orlandini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Balbi 33, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located one block from the train station, and it is tucked away from the street so our room was quiet. Know that the hotel is not directly accessible from the street; you need to take the little elevator at the street, or a steep set of stairs to the lobby of the hotel. It seems to be perched on the side of a steep hill. Hotel Vittoria has old-world charm, from the gracious hospitality of the staff to the inlaid tile floor in our bedroom. Our room was pleasantly large and the bathroom felt old-fashioned but roomy. Breakfast was included in the room price and was more creative than just the continental fare of many places. The front desk manager was a real gentleman. He also stored our luggage after we checked out so we could explore Genoa more until our departure time. For the convenience, cleanliness, quiet, and friendliness they offered, I recommend this place to anyone who is not set on a modern day hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    107
    37
    4
    4
See reviews for
49
82
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I traveling Italy on our honeymoon and we stayed at Hotel Vittoria for 3 nights. It was a fantastic intro to a beautiful city, and the staff were very friendly and eager to assist when needed. They helped us locate a laundromat and recommended a restaurant across the road for my quest to find pansoti - a Genoese specialty! Nothing was ever too difficult, and our stay was a relaxing and comfortable one. The location is great, just a short walk from the train station with many restaurants close by. It is Family-run and the rooms were simple but clean and comfortable - just what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Hotel is very close to Station Principe, but is extremely quiet. Our room was on the 4th Floor and we had a view of the harbour.
The rooms have been modernised with a huge bathroom and a king-size bed.
Some reviews mentioned the small elevators as a problem, but we can honestly say that they were no problem to us for the 4 nights we stayed there.
On arrrival our welcome was exceptional with a heart-warming greeting from Paolo, who had prepared a welcome pack of brochures for us.
We were treated like family all the time and nothing was too much trouble !
Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the port are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel is very close to Genoa Principe railway station and accessed by lift (or a hundred or so steps from the street!). We took the lift. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean and everything worked well although the hairdryer was not as powerful as the one I am used to. Some toiletries were given. There is no view from the bedroom, in spite of the high rise situation (after taking another lift) due to the flats opposite, so only other balconies were on view. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was continental and self-service but adequate. The reception staff were exceptionally helpful in taking our luggage up and down and getting a taxi to go to the airport. They also spoke English. There is free wi-fi in the rooms. No swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven CT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is about as close to the train station as you can get without sleeping on the train. We liked this hotel for the price 100 euros for 3 adults May 2014. The place was very clean, beds were fine plenty of towels and hot water. The greatest asset is the staff, very nice and accommodating gave great advice, helped with luggage and made great cappuccino. Stayed in room 523 overlooking the harbor 1 double 2 twins nice and clean full bathtub nice hot water. Breakfast was standard coffee pastries not elaborate but adequate. Walk out of the front of the train station bear left an go straight look for sign Vittoria 5 min walk no problem with luggage.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a lovely stay in clean spacious room and bathroom with small fridge, good WiFi and Cable TV. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and cruise terminal and about 1 km away from the centre of the city. Our room rate included a reasonable buffet breakfast - coffee, tea, juice, cereal, yogurt, pastries, bread, croissants, cheese and cold cuts. The service was great and the best part of our stay - Paulo on the front desk was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My sister and I, both in our sixties, stayed here in late April, 2014. The hotel was located quite close to the Principe Station but we caught a cab as we had a lot of luggage and the streets were cobbled.

Great service on checking in, help with our luggage, they also had a lift (tiny, but a lift). Our room was smallish but OK for Europe. It was beautiful with marble tiles and a balcony.

The staff were very knowledgable about local attractions and gave clear directions.

Breakfast was excellent, lots of choices and the Italian cakes - still can't quite get my head around this.

It had a great feel about it and we felt very comfortable with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, the views over the local area, including the washing hung out the windows was uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vittoria Orlandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittoria Orlandini

Address: Via Balbi 33, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Genoa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vittoria Orlandini 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star Hotel in the city centre, close to the Porto Antico (Old Port), to the Genoa Aquarium and to the Principe railway Station. The Hotel, that is run by the Gerolla Family, is housed in an elegant building dating back to the 1920s. Thanks to its off road location above the road level, the Hotel Vittoria is the ideal place for those who wish to stay in a peaceful area and close to the main tourist attraction of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vittoria Orlandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Orlandini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vittoria Orlandini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.