We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Genoa Aquarium

Genoa Aquarium
Area Porto Antico | Ponte Spinola, 16128 Genoa, Italy
010/23451
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Genoa Aquarium like an insider
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Genoa City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #18 of 292 things to do in Genoa
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Wonderful - exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in genoa just for a day but were really excited by the aquarium and made sure it was the one place we visited. Saw so many different animals and fish - highlights were the dolphins, penguins and manatees. If you are in genoa - even for just a few hours go see the aquarium - it's huge and a great visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,624
    1,421
    580
    234
    127
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A must if you are visiting Genoa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This aquarium is famous all over Europe.. and I understand why! it's beautiful, and not only for kids - obviously for a kid is going to be an extraordinary experience! very big variety, very interesting info, well-kept areas and very beautiful path in the "reconstructed nature" (the last part on the Nave Italia). Maybe the entrance is a little expensive, but it is definitely worth a visit if you are in Genoa.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
1 review
“Aquarium and the modern, ancient port of Genova”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was in Genova two years ago and the visit of the aquarium was really interesting. You can see many animals: dolphins, penguins, jelly fishes, tropical fishes and sea horses. It is located in the ancient port of Genova, one of the few places in Italy where you can see modern architectures. The project is by Renzo Piano Building Workshop, really interesting.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We were here in '98 and it was the most amazing interesting place! Now it's seriously gone downhill. Most tanks are half empty and the Musee oceanographique in Monaco (we visited yesterday) leaves it for dead. Better ways to spend 19 Euro in Genoa.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong SAR
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The aquarium just locates along the seaside of Genoa, once you passed the city and go downwards, you will arrive to the aquarium. Just 20 mins walk away from the train station.

I visited there on weekdays, it was nice..coz not many people and tourists. So I could enjoy and saw everything in a very relax way. I could stop, read the information, take pics and videos freely.

The aquarium was quite comprehensive, there were different kinds of marine life, sharks, dolphins, jelly fish, tropical plants....and my favourite ...lovely penguins......etc...And the tanks were so big...compared to The Ocean Park (Aquarium) ...the tanks are much smaller...

I love the penguins so much..and they were so energetic...I stood there and watched for 15 mins...the penguins jumped on the rocks , line up , challenged each other ...jumped into the water...repeat and repeat ....they were so funny!!!

Another beautiful thing that attracted my attention were the jelly fish..I know..they are toxic..but, they are really beautiful...with the light inside the tank...they looked so beautiful.

There was a place called Biosphere...the outlook is so beautiful..transparent...the shape like a transparent planet..it was separates from the aquarium and built on the sea. You need to pay an extra entrance fee for that..inside the Biosphere, there are various plants and birds.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genoa Aquarium also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Genoa Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genoa Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.