We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant is good when it is open, the beach is good, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boccadasse

Boccadasse
Corso Italia, Piazza Nettuno, Genoa, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Boccadasse like an insider
$114*
and up
Ranked #1 of 292 things to do in Genoa
Attraction details
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The restaurant is good when it is open, the beach is good, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I found this place as I went to an evening meal with some very intelligent people from around the world. Great restaurant and excellent staff, great choice of wines, spirits and champagnes.

I went back there at the end of the week to use the beach, it was hot but with a good breeze, note not to stay too long as the pale locals seem to last longer in the sun than many other people. Also if you do buy a gellato on a hot day eat it quickly, they start to melt nearly as soon as you exit the shop but they are very good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    331
    44
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“This is the best place in Genoa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I didn't like so much Genoa, but this is the best place, it is a descent from lungo mare ( River walking) to the shore. Once arrived you will find a great ambient and great Restaurants

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Boccadasse in an hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beautiful sights: old houses, boats and, of course, the sea! Easy to reach from Genoa by bus - or walking, it's only about an hour's walk to the centre.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Real Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was taken on an evening trip here with colleagues and loved it so much I came back with my partner! You can reach it easily by bus or walking along the sea front (took us over an hour, but pleasant enough).

You can swim and sunbathe (bring sandals, since the beach is stoney). The restaurant next to the beach is fantastic, and the Gelateria is just awesome. It seems like a local place to be, though not too crowded.

We saw that most of the beaches outside Genoa seemed to be private, so it was great to find a free open beach.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Escape the hustle and bustle to this charming village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We walked along the promenade all the way from Stazione Principe to Boccadasse which took about 1.5 hours, but it was worth it. When you arrive in Boccadasse it feels a world away from the hustle and bustle of Genoa. It almost has the feeling of a charming Cornish fishermans village - right on the waterfront with lots of brightly painted houses and restaurants overlooking the water. There was a very nice little cafe which was a perfect spot to enjoy an Aperol Spritz or too and watching the sunset

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boccadasse also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Boccadasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boccadasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.