We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hike from the centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spianata Castelletto

Spianata Castelletto
Belvedere Luigi Montaldo, Genoa, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 292 things to do in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worth the hike from the centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This view isn't hard to find if you've got a map or a GPS enabled phone on you. It isn't signposted clearly but not much is in Italy. I found it very much worth the walk up from the historic centre of Genoa, only about 15 minutes or so if you're quick, and once there you can see all across the town, port and out to sea. It gives you a great idea of bearings. Just a shame there's no cafe facing out over the terrace- the only cafes are around the corner with a somewhat restricted view...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    162
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice and easily accessible views, just two minutes from another main tourist attraction via Garibaldi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very easy to find, just behind Via Garibaldi and Musei della Strada nuova. Nice views of the entire city of Genova. And to top it all the lift (no need to climb the stairs) is architecturally unique - its uphill station is Art Nouveau Style (in Italy they call it style Liberty) belvedere, that a fan of Art Nouveau as me could not but enjoy and admire. Bus tickets applicable (1.50, valid 100 minutes or 0.90 for a single elevator ride...)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Despite being terrified of heights, we walked up the hill and up the never unending staircase to an amazing view. I berated my husband at the time for dragging me up - but I did later apologise and thank him for 'dragging' me up as I would have missed the views - across the harbour and all across Genoa - the trip down was a bit hair-raising if you walk but worth it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a nice panorama by elevator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

you have to take the castelletto elevator and join the panorama on entire town, the old port and expo, the historical centre and its old buildings, the container terminal, the cruise terminal, the residential east part

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
543 reviews 543 reviews
481 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

There are two ways to reach this wonderful belvedere point.The easiest way is to take the elevator(you need a ticket for this,the same ticket used on buses) from Piazza del Portello.The other way is to walk on some pretty steep narrow streets-Salita di San Francesco(starting from Piazza della Meridiana),then Salita alla Spianata di Castelletto.
From there-beautiful view of the harbour and of the old town.Don't miss it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spianata Castelletto also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Spianata Castelletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spianata Castelletto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.