We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel in an interesting city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classic hotel in an interesting city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We loved this hotel - perfectly located opposite the station and bus stops. Our room was large and comfortable, and the old-fashioned lift was fun and efficient, (as long as fellow users shut the doors properly). It is very classic - lots of marble floors etc - and the water available in the lobby was very welcome. Reception staff were friendly. The highlight was dinner in the Tralalero Restaurant next door - great food, value and service. The public lift to the Castell Albertis is just around the corner, and from the top there are great views, a lovely garden and a friendly café. Genoa is an interesting and under-rated city - most tourists were Italian - and we made good use of the hop-on / hop-off tourist bus.

Room Tip: Our room as at the back, and on the second floor, so the view was uninspiring, and with the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    158
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
77
204
29
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

As many have already written, the location of the hotel is superb, especially for those traveling by train: the hotel is at few steps from the main station "Piazza Principe".
Furthermore, the hotel is not far from the most typical, colourful streets around the harbor (warning for those who are too choosy: Genoa is a beautiful city, in my opinion, mostly because it's not artificially modified for and by tourists: the nearby "Via Pré", for instance, is a typical street for sailors, as we can imagine it a century ago, also for what concerns women who sell themselves in public alleys). Also, the hotel isn't far (through "Via Balbi") from the most typical monumental city neighborhoods, adorned with ancient, splendid palaces.
Even the hotel itself refers (in sophisticated form) to a past time, with its architecture, with its old (but efficient) elevator, with the beautiful room's furniture.
However, when the "picturesque" is also uncomfortable, the management didn't hesitate to introduce modernization: for example the windows of each room are double, to avoid the street noise.
The breakfast is the height of a 4-star hotel, the staff is courteous and professional. The price of a single room per night is fair: 99 Euros.
I must therefore explain why I don't give the maximum score. I do this for two (slight) flaws into the bathroom.
First, from the exhaust pipes of the sink and the tub occasionally some smell goes. Second, why in the shower in my bathroom the sprinkler didn't well comply to the support, and I had to secure it with makeshift means.
However, overall this is a hotel to be recommended without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night on Easter Sunday. We were greeted at reception by a friendly and very helpful staff (Wahid). He have us aa city map and took the time to point out the sights to see and the best route to walk. He also gave us the timetable for the Hop on Hop off bus, Airport Shuttle bus and recommended seafood restaurants in the area. Being greeted by Wahid made a very positive start to our trip in Genoa.

The hotel is centrally located in the old town and across the road from Metro Principi (local train station) and a pick up/drop off point for the airport shuttle bus. It is within 10 walk from the harbor front where you can find plenty of cafes and restaurants. The historical centre (Via Garibaldi) is within a 15min walk and is well known for its ancient palaces. We felt safe walking around this hotel as we explored our surroundings until 11pm. One thing to keep in mind is after 11pm they lock the main entrance, and you will need your hotel room key to gain entry.

We stayed on the third floor overlooking the main street. The rooms are clean, well furnished and large enough to accommodate travellers with large suitcases. We enjoyed our short stay in this hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed for a week. I have chosen as it is very near (across the road) to the Principle Main Line Station.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. All the necessities e.g. toiletries, hangers, kettles etc are available. Being near to the Main Line Station has its pros and cons. The advantage is of course it allows you to commute to different places via bus or train quite easily. The disadvantage is that it gets noisy sometimes with the people and sirens from ambulances.

The breakfast was pretty ordinary with the usual bacon, eggs, bread & pastry. Because it is always the same, it gets a little boring after a couple of days.

Room Tip: If you want better scenery, you can request for high floor. However, please note that because the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights and had chosen it as it was very close to Principe main line station. Reception was efficient but not particularly friendly, I was given a room overlooking the station and area in front of the hotel which was nice. My room was the smallest on the floor escape plan showed it) Bathroom was adequate but the shower was a cubicle with 3 sliding doors that a not much above average sized person would struggle to get in through! All very clean. The room had plenty of tall windows so it was very light and they had double glazing to help with the noise from the road but not really adequate. At night there seemed to be a lot of sirens... the marble and wood floors look very nice but unfortunately accentuate noises like customer conversations and footsteps... so glad I travel with ear plugs! Breakfast was good, nice selection of cold meats and cheeses, breads juices etc. not keen on the bacon and eggs, will leave that to breakfasts in UK.. very nice and friendly waiter. would be happy to stay again if travelling by train.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel was the climax of our trip but we stayed only one night. helpful staff,beautiful decor in lobby and rooms,great breakfast.had dinner at hotels restaurant and it was great.will return to this hotel if in genova.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Continental Hotel is one of the most pleasant hotel I've ever stay in Genoa. I do hope to return by the hospitality and enjoy the kindness of people at Tratalero restaurant. Greatings from the land of sunlight, barbecue, football and carnival: BRAZIL!

Room Tip: The best rooms are those right in front of the Central Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental, a superior 4-star establishment completely restructured in 2002, keeps intact the Italian Liberty style it was conceived with, combining antique atmospheres and modern technologies, proving itself to be the ideal structure for a business travel or a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.