We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff, amazing breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 87 hotels in Genoa
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff, amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013 and wish we had stayed longer. The location is excellent - about 1 minute from the central train station (convenient when carrying luggage and organising day trips from Genova as we did). Located close by are a number of restaurants and gelato shops, reasonable prices and nice quality. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions. My only word of warning is to ensure you exit the main train station through the main/front entrance as this is the direct route to the hotel (you can see the hotel on the left as soon as you exit the station through the main doors). My partner and I made the mistake of using another station exit when we arrived looking for the hotel and ended up walking to a dodgy part of town, try to avoid our error particularly at night as we didn't feel at ease. The other side of the station where the hotel is located is safe, just use the correct exit and you will be fine!

Our room had a great view facing the main street and train station, it also had a view up the hill which was lovely at sunset. The room was spacious, clean and had a nice bathroom (be it a bit dark and with a cracked tile but overall perfectly fine).

The staff on reception were always very friendly and helpful to us and other guests (from what we saw).

The buffet breakfast was great, it had a huge selection of sweets (cakes, pastries, spreads etc), cereals, savouries (breads, cheeses, meats), yoghurts, fruits and juices. The breakfast room attendant also will make you a coffee if desired (a real coffee not instant).

Overall we felt this hotel provided excellent value for money (we booked online through Agoda and received a reduced rate so it pays to do some research before booking). I highly recommend this hotel to people visiting Genova.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view as some didn't appear to have an outlook. Our room was #235 and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    158
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
168
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were travelling through Italy by train. The hotel was close to the station and within walking distance to most sights in the city. The hotel was vey clean and although our room was facing the main area near the bus and train station it was quiet because there were sound proofing roller screens on the windows.The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good and varied.

Room Tip: Book one to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff spoke food English and were very helpful. Te location is a little out of the main area but it is all in walking distance and we enjoy walking so very happy. The restuarant next door was excellent, this is also where the breakfast is served, which was good value. The room was fantastic, nice comfy bed and clean bathroom. Highlight was the quirky little elevator which was about 120 years old. Would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Hotel Continental will certainly be on my return list. I found the service to be outstanding, the room very comfortable and elegant, and the location is perfect.

First, you may not know, that the Hotel Continental is located right next to its larger sibling. Both hotels are owned by the same company. The larger hotel is extremely elegant but a lot more expensive.

Hotel Continental has a wonderful charm. It is located right near the Genoa train station. While a bit noisy outside as is expected, the hotel is a good walk to the docks and the main shopping areas.

Our room was fantastic. Mechanical, sound dampening shades, a large wonderful bed, and a nice bathroom. Room size was perfect and bed was very comfortable. Everything was clean and tastefully appointed. There is an old style elevator that you use which is fun!

Service was perfect, but no one is present very early in the morning at the front desk. It is not staffed before 7am and we were told that when we checked in. We needed taxi to the airport so we were told to walk next door to the sister hotel and they would get one. We had a taxi within one minute of asking!

If we come back to Genoa, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed over here on our berthing of the Simphonia last year. The hotel and rooms are very clean and neat. The antique elevator is certainly an experience to use! The package including meals was well worth it as the breakfast spread should cater for all tastes. It is not close to the city centre but not that far, we did a few hour to the centre and then back past the waterfront. The location of the train station (about 100m) from the front door was most welcome when we left to go to Paris via Milan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night and it was perfect. Everything was spotless clean, the beds were really comfortable and loved the old chic style of the hotel.
There's complimentary tea, coffee & mineral water at the room, which was very nice. Staff are very helpful too.
Location is prime; right in the center where you can take a walk through the old city, to the old port (Porto Antico) and it's a 2-min walk to the train station (Principe).
The street is very lively and there are lots of shops and restaurants around, some that are open till 2 am.
The only inconvenience maybe was that our room was overlooking the main street and it was a bit noisy at night, but maybe it was just that night we stayed and was our bad luck! You can ask for an inside room if you want a quiet room.
Overall I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

So, basically, the hotel continental Genova is sister hotels with the Grand Hotel Savoia. When you book at the Continental, you actually don't know which one they will give you a room in once you arrive.
We arrived around 10pm, parked, dragged out all our luggage and walked into the Continental. The woman at the desk in a bored tone told us to walk over at the Savoia and check in there without explaining anything.
The Savoia is just beside the Continental so its not a big deal, however, it would have been nice to get someone to help us drag the luggage from one to the other, rather than just sitting there, chewing gum and watching.
The Savoia is 5-star while the Continental is 4-star, so one would think that being surprisingly upgraded to a room at the Savoia would be a good thing. However, I would say the Grand Hotel Savoia is the worst 5-star I've ever stayed at and I"m honestly not sure why they have that rating. Other than a lush front lobby, this hotel is NOT a 5-star in any shape or form.
We stayed at 7 different hotels on this recent trip to Italy, raging from 3-5 star, and I honestly preferred the cheapest 3-star to this.
First of all the rooms were miniscule. It was like sleeping in a broom closet.
I asked to be moved to a larger room. The staff was basically too lazy to do it that day. They literally said (without even looking on the computer):
It's too late tonight. Come back tomorrow when the new staff starts and they will help you.
There was no door man.
There was no one to help with luggage.
There is no parking. Apparently they have valet parking, however, you have to go in the hotel and ask them to please do it at the front desk. Then the guy calls another guy. THis guy comes 5-10 min later, waits while take out things from your trunk without offering to help, and when you are done, he graciously takes the keys from you and parks it somewhere.
For this parking job you get to pay 25 eu per day.
There is no iron or ironing board in the rooms (which seems to be the case in most of the european hotels these days for some reason). Generally in this case you can call the front desk and room service will bring you an iron and then take it once you are done.
At the Savoia, they refuse to do this. You MUST use their ironing service which is EXTREMELY overpriced. We paid over 100 EU for a couple of shirts and a pair of pants, simply because we were there for business and had to iron them. I was not impressed to say the least. I could have bought 5 irons for this.
I wouldn't have minded any of this in a 3-star, however, this is supposed to be a 5-star. Again, I'm just honestly not sure why it has a 5-star rating other than having a pretty lobby and a hot tub on the roof. It's not that this hotel was terrible, it was simply horrible value for the money and really lacking in the service department.

And being moved here from the Continental (especially in such an uprofessional way) obviously made me really uinpressed with the Continental. So I wouldn't choose to stay at either again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental, a superior 4-star establishment completely restructured in 2002, keeps intact the Italian Liberty style it was conceived with, combining antique atmospheres and modern technologies, proving itself to be the ideal structure for a business travel or a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.