We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambi Cafe

Cambi Cafe
Vico Falamonica, 9r, 16123 Genoa, Italy
+39 (0) 109752674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #493 of 1,409 Restaurants in Genoa
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful palazzo interior,honest food and caring service.
Downstairs is a perfect shop forsweets and wine,well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    55
    24
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place to relax for a coffee and some nibbles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a beautiful place for a few nibbles and a coffee, as well as somewhere to eat for lunch. We were recommended this place by a few friends, and not only found it a comfortable and pleasant place to relax in the midst of the city of Genoa, but also extremely well priced - we wished that there was a place as nice of this near our house! The waitress' were very friendly, and made the whole experience very relaxing. We visited Cambi Cafe twice throughout our stay in Genoa, both times impressed - the first we ordered a platter of cheese, and a deliciously smooth torte au chocolat, and the second the chocolate torte again, a delectable apple (mele) torte and a few cappucinos, which were also very nice. We were also very impressed with the art on the walls - it was simply spectacular. The only thing we must comment on is the location - hidden within the backstreets of Genoa, I don't think that we would have found it without the reccomendation we recieved. One of the best things about this place is the price - we originally thought that the bill would be a lot more, however it wasn't. The cafe also did not charge 'coperti', a charge for eating in, which we found was often added on to most of the bills that we paid in the restaurants of Genoa. Overall, a beautiful, scenic place to relax for a coffee and some treats!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICOSIA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Class....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Enjoying great food, great wine, great desserts, great coffee is easy in Italy. But all the above in a historical Palazzo with frescoes all over the walls and the ceiling, plus the excellent, personal service of this Cafe/Restaurant is difficult to find anywhere in the world.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overrated ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place could be perfect, but it was not. You have all the right ingredients: historic site in downtown Genoa, frescoed ceilings, antiques, friendly staff, stylish customers and interesting menu ... apparently. Well, I ordered stoccafisso with potatoes and it was 70% potato and 30% cod. The recommended apple tart was just an average apple tart. Pretty expensive for lunch. For the future, I hope they leave behind that sort of selfconceit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian food in a truly elegant setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

During our recent trip to Genoa, a friend invited us for lunch at Cambi Cafè and we sure are glad that she did!! After a morning spent exploring the city, we were excited to find ourselves enjoying a glass of local wine in this intimate, beautifully frescoed restaurant in the heart of the city. The restaurant was packed when we arrived and the waitress was very gracious and brought us a few typical appetizers to try while we waited for our main course (delicious pasta with homemade pesto and Genovese style minestrone soup!!). We finished it all off with a strong Italian espresso with a dollop of gelato in the middle!!
We will definitely be visiting Cambi Cafè again on our next trip to Genoa!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambi Cafe also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
 

Been to Cambi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.