We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Hotel Astor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale delle Palme 16, 16167 Genoa, Italy (Nervi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Surrounded by orange trees and located just a short walk from the Mediterranean Sea and the World Heritage site of the Passeggiata Anita Garibaldi promenade, it just doesn't get much better than this! So much history all within a ten minute walk! Beautiful parks and gardens close by, magnificent historical churches and so much other history, as Nervi is a former fishing village, now a suburb of Genova. Great coffee bars close by for a morning espresso and chocolate brioche! Spent several days here and walked the promenade several times a day...the scenary is beautiful, with great ristorantes and bars along the promenade. Fresh seafood right out of the Med! Staff at the Astor was wonderful and accomodating...Great location to explore Liguria and prior to spending time in Cinque Terre!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel A, Proprietario at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
It's very pleasant to hear your comment.
Our commitment to improving service and hospitality is a priority.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
28
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crema, Italy
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel have a sign with 4 stars on the webpage and at the lobby but maybe is something related to many years ago.
Even if the location is very nice, just few meter from the sea in a quiet area of Nervi, this hotel is just a two stars because of the small and old style rooms.
Everything in the room looks old, at least twenty years, and the bathroom is even worst.
No matter about the cleanness that was ok.
To mention a park area, even if not big and pretty difficult to get out of there (avoid the rear gate with the car), and a restaurant inside the hotel.
Breakfast is basic, but ok.
The staff of the lobby always nice.
All together not bad but a four star hotel is something different,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel had a great location since it lied near the train station and near to the sea promenade. The hotel was really fresh and clean. We had an option to choose between two different kind of double rooms. One of them was bigger but not as cozy as the other so we chose the smaller one (that also was spacious). The bathroom was really nice and big. The only thing to note is that the decoration in the room was from the 70-80's but it was still nice. The hotel had a really kind and helpful staff and the helped us with different problems that we had (nothing to do with the hotel). The breakfast was a good buffet with a nice variety of food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

It did not enjoy my stay at the Astor Hotel in Nervi. The hotel itself was fine. The room was clean, and had comfortable beds. As well, it had a nice small balcony and the bathroom was quite large. The area the hotel is in is very tranquil and Nervi itself is quite beautiful. But I found most of the staff at the Astor to be quite rude and condescending. Their level of customer service needs to be improved greatly. I have travelled a fair bit over the past 30 years in the travel industry but this was the most uncomfortable hotel stay I have ever had. I had changed my plans at the last minute to stay here instead of staying on central Genova and I fully regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We (2 families with children) had a 1 week vacation in Nervi. I was affraid of the hotel due to several negative reviews. In reality everything turned out all right. The hotel itself is may be not a thing that you will remember forever, but is quite good european 4* hotel. We had room for 3 persons (biger room, than ordinary, i believe). It was about 20sc.m., clean, with flat screen TV, bedclothes were clean; bathroom was clean again, towels were changed daily. Check-in did not take any time at all: we just left our pasports for 15 minutes on reception. The reception staff were extremly helpful: booked taxi and restaurants for us, made tea, etc.. And allways were very polite and freindly. The location of the hotel is great: it is situated on a very green street, full of magnolia's aroma. It is close (3 min walk) to the railway station (not noisy in the same time) and to the sea promenade. As well,it is close to a municipal park (5 min walk) and to the "main street" with shops and restraunts. So, for families with children it is very comfortable. Also, there is a small garden around the hotel (like around all the villas on the street), so you can have a coffee outside in summer. Plus - the Hotel has own restraunt. We used it 3 times. It was quite tasty, still a little overpriced, compared to neaby places (but had no choice, having 3year old child). Breakfasts were weak place (quite poor, i think), but ok.
So, in general - it was very good stay for 1 week.

Room Tip: As allways - take bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I only ever want a place to sleep so the fact that I could not get into the Romantik hotel was not a massive disappointment to me.
On arrival, the staff were friendly enough and check in was quick. The only thing I did not like so much, was they kept hold of your passport until you checked out (whereas other hotels generally take a copy of it).
When I entered my room I thought it looked ok, but very small. Then I saw the bathroom!!! a 70's green tiled masterpiece! Again, not really a problem. However, on getting into bed, there was a strange stain on the bed (brown in colour) but as it was so late, I slept on the otherside. However in the morning and ever since, I've got several really itchy and swollen bites on my left ankle. I was wearing trousers and socks all day, so it was only in bed I had my ankles 'out'. I am trying not too think too deeply about this but there is a potential bug issue. Of course, without a microscope I cannot comment - lets hope that it was a rogue mosquito that has since died.
At 110 euros for the sleep, bite and strange stain, I don't think I got good value for money...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Astor in Dec 2010. Liked it so much we booked another stay at the end of Dec 2010 and invited friends from France to join us. No need to stay in your hotel room the lobby is a great place to relax, read a book, do a little work on your lap top or have a cocktail or Coffee. You can also relax and people watch from the outdoor patio. A 3 minute walk to the train station takes you to Genoa and cities north and south,
Nice walk along the prommande through beautiful gardens along the sea takes you to the next town over, Bogliasco, in 30 - 45 minutes.
Walk downtown for shopping and nice lunches or dinner.
The staff was very friendly and happy to help with directions, taxi and anything we needed. Great morning breakfast to start the day.
Why stay in Genoa when Nervi is a short 20 minute train ride.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Viale delle Palme 16, 16167 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Nervi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the sea promenade and the Parks, positioned in the centre of Nervi nearby the sea, Hotel Astor is situated in an ideal position for daily trips to Camogli, Portofino and Cinque terre. All the 41 rooms facing the sun and surrounded by old and scented threes - suitable to relax from daily stress or simply to enjoy your free time. All the rooms have private bathroom, air condition, wifi connection, satellite tv and mini-bar. Moreover, 3 meeting rooms are at disposal to organize corporate meetings or conferences. From the terrace you can have a wonderful view of the coast and the hills of Nervi, the same panorama you can enjoy from our Solarium equipped during the summer time for a relaxing sunbathe. Last but not least, great attention is paid to the food served in the Restaurant: flavours of land and sea, fresh fish cooked in typical ligurian way and also Italian cuisine are our highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.