We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is true , it is the best in Genoa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“It is true , it is the best in Genoa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is true ,it is the best there is in Genoa. Actually the buffet breakfast included is the as good as any ,even in major hotels in major cities. Even the smoked salmon is first class and the baked goods are excellent. Ricardo, the front desk manager and Tatiana at the front desk are responsive and reliable. Ricardo arranged a great private guided walking tour with Caterina
for 120 euros for four hours. She really made the city come alive. Who knew it had 45 palaces?
Our room is pictured on the site. It is called a deluxe family room,decorated with 2 king sized art deco headboards over looking the Christopher Columbus statue and the harbor. It is large and comfortable even if you only need one bed. I recommend it highly and is a good upgrade from a deluxe room if you can get it...
Walking the streets of Genoa is a real 16th century treat and staying at the Savoia was a very pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the distant harbor and the train station .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    380
    88
    35
    11
See reviews for
253
630
51
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We struggled to find good clean and reasonably priced hotels in Italy. We have been to the Best Western, Mercure, Novotel, Ibis and non of which we really liked so we kept moving trying to find a good clean hotel that doesn't smell. Based on its rating on trip advisor, we decided to give this hotel a go. The rooms are huge, friendly friendly service , €240 a night including parking excluding breakfast. We enjoyed our stay hear. We loved the character of the hotel.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodenheim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked the Hotel for a one night stay before a Mediterranian cruise. It was absolutely perfect! We were extremely sorry that we has booked our Train tickets for the journey home, because we would have loved to stayed there again. It is perfect if you arrive by Train and also quite Close to the centre of the City.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If it's old world grandiose charm you seek in a hotel, look no further. They don't make them like this anymore but the luxurious early 20th century vibe of the Grand Hotel Savoia is timeless. Rooms were huge, excellently equipped and the bathroom a small hotel apartment in itself.
Breakfast buffet the best I've ever had, anywhere, hands down. A-ma-zing selection of everything you can think of. I travel a lot and have seen a lot but this one is special. Long may it continue.
Credit goes to the very helpful front desk staff who saves us from a potential disaster: the booking agent made a mistake and we needed another room with zero notice. No problem. The good people at the Savoia didn't break a sweat but instead helped us out without fleecing us with extra charges, which they could have done.
Visit the Grand Hotel Savoia for that special occasion. It's a stay you wont forget.
And also - there are jacuzzis with panoramic views over the beautiful port area on the roof. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Anything that has port views is a safe bet. But with a hotel this great, outside view is of marginal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Island, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Good location, walking distance to harbour, the dark and slightly scary alleyways, the hop on hop off bus and some of the palaces. We drove up, managed to park right outside, and car whisked away (at a price!) by the hotel staff. It's an old place with some beautiful public areas, which we had pretty much to ourselves. There is a very good gym. The drinks area on the top level is ok - a bit strange that the spa area is right amongst it. Rooms are nice, old world look but modern facilities, with small but good bathrooms. Great breakfast - everything you could want to eat and more! I didn't feel there was enough done to help with tourist information.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on a business trip for four nights between 7 and 11 Dec 2014. Things started badly when I was given the room key for a room that had already been taken, I was greeted with a chap who was as surprised as me with 'scusi, occupado!'. This would have been my room 404, facing out the back of the hotel and up the hill.

They were very apologetic on the front desk and gave me the key for room 503, which was facing out towards the sea and the front of the hotel. I actually think the best rooms are the odd numbers, so I think I benefitted form this unfortunate incident. I studied the floor plan on the back of the door and it seems as though the rooms are all different shapes, some are much larger than others. I decided that mine was medium sized. Relative to other hotels, the room was enormous - it had several chairs and a table, which i used for working. The bed was a super king - very luxurious. The bathroom was vast with a delightful Grohe shower. The room was littered with beautiful touches, such as antique furniture and slippers, bathrobes, toiletries etc.

I stayed on B&B basis and the breakfast was first class - loads of choice and high quality. I enjoyed an omelette most days, freshly made to order. Capuccinos are freshly made to order too and were delicious. I have to say this was one of the most refined breakfasts I have ever experienced, with high quality china and cutlery, and super attentive and friendly staff. However, on one morning I was shocked that they allowed a little dog in (perhaps it annoyed me as it's owner was on the adjacent table, feeding it cold meat). This should not be allowed in a quality place like this and I don't know why it wasn't challenged. It was only one morning out of four though. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

The staff are friendly, they speak good English and are happy to engage in basic Italian with you also. The staff at breakfast were excellent - friendly and attentive.

Overall, excellent hotel, touches of luxury, friendly staff, not particularly expensive - what more do you want?

Room Tip: Odd numbers are facing out the front with better views, likely to be louder though
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Curb appeal of the hotel is disappointing, but the inside makes up for it! Old charm, comfortable, great service! Would stay here again. It's across from the central train station and not far from the sea walk. Great view of the old port and bits of the sea. Very nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the station....better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Business Hotel in Genoa
#8 Best Value Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.