We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for exploring a magical city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for exploring a magical city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As a previous reviewer has mentioned, the journey from the airport although short can be costly by taxi. Best to take the bus that stops in front of the arrivals doors and which leaves you at the main train station. All for less than 6euros.
The Grand Hotel Savoia overlooks the train station and main piazza with the imposing statue of Christopher Colombus and was built in the Liberty style. We found the hotel to be very clean and the staff friendly and professional. It is only a ten minute walk to the historic centre and the front desk supplied us with maps and advice on where to go.It is also a five minute walk to the port where we bought two tickets on a boat trip to Portofino for the day.
A perfect hotel for exploring a magical city too often overlooked by tourist guides of Italy.
(Don't forget to have an aperitif on the hotel roof garden in the evening where you can see over the whole city and port)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    364
    87
    34
    10
See reviews for
239
602
46
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had booked a room for one night at the Continental Hotel which is the sister hotel next door. When we arrived, they asked if we minded staying at the Grand Savoia. What a treat! I do not know how nice the Continental is, but it could not be any nicer than the Savoia.

The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very luxurious. I am sorry we did not have several days there.

The location to the main train station made this hotel easy to find. Very convenient.

The staff was efficient and friendly.

I would definitely recommend it, even to the most discerning traveler.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was perfect and reasonably priced. We are light sleepers and had an inside room which had a lovely large bed and we slept very well. The service from reception and waiters were professional and helpful and the room spotless, with all the facilities supplied for an enjoyable stay and with a beautifully appointed bathroom. The hotel supplied us with a street map and pocket guide for walking - both of which were really useful. We paid extra for breakfast and very pleased we had, as there were excellent choices, including eggs freshly cooked for you. The hotel was extremely handy for the Central Station and within easy walking distance of the historical centre. We found a good reasonably priced place to eat in the evening - left out of the hotel along via Balbi (keeping on the left) and look for small lane (vico Tana). The restaurant is just at the end and can be seen from via Balbi and called "Osteria Carabas". We also found another just off via Balbi on the right hand side, down steps and near an old washing area. We were sorry we had to leave the hotel after our 3 nights stay.

Room Tip: Inside room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is ideal for anybody arriving by train. However myself and my partner arrived by plane, which is around a 15 minute drive and will cost you €15 in a Taxi.
The hotel lobby is stunning, very Italian and just what was expected. Our room was adequately sized and was very clean.
We were particularly impressed with the rooftop terrace. We enjoyed sunning ourselves in the Jacuzzi (of which there are 2 available) then laying on the sunbeds listening to the city go by.
The only reason this hotel doesn't get 5* is the room was slightly too small for my liking. Additionally the Wifi was very intermittent which got a little annoying whilst calling family members.
All in all I would recommend this hotel thoroughly to anybody visiting Genoa.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the back of the hotel if traffic noise disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived via train from Rome and upon exiting the station i only had to look up the hill past the statue of Christopher Columbus to see the beautiful Grand Savoia hotel. Upon entering the lobby I was greeted professionally by the front desk staff. The lobby area and sitting rooms are amazing. Lots of marble and works of art. The room was nicely furnished, extremely clean and well maintained. The air conditioning system was excellent during a couple of very humid days outside. The bathroom was spacious and the walls and floor were made of marble. The bedroom had a hardwood floor and the windows were extremely sound-proofed to allow for a quiet night. The bed was very comfortable and the linens, towels and pillows were high quality. I was surprised to find such a beautiful hotel so close to a train station! I will absolutely stay here the next time my traels bring me near Genoa.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hotel right across from the train station. It is a little hard to find from the street but it is worth it. A beautiful and comfortable lobby and our room was spacious and pretty. There was a mini bar and coffee and tea available in the room. We found the location very good for us and we had a great dinner at a nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcote
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very grand spectacular hotel. So many artefacts, statues, pictures to see on every floor.
Room is adequate for a couple of nights but the lack of drawers and storage space would you drive you mad if any Lo
Niger.
Reception staff were very helpful but having taken ourselves to the room , we weren't aware that there was a minbar there as couldn't see it .
Bathroom great with all the usual toiletries and slippers .
Breakfast was lovely , proper silver pits for tea and coffee and load a of food including an omelette / egg station. Lots of fresh fruit and pastries , very impressive . Good location. Too.
Went to the top floor to try to get a drink , but couldn't find it first of all as there as a massive card school on, the waited for a barman to open the Bar.
Great view and 2 hit tubs and 4 sunbeds but very close together and I don't personally don't like that .
So to end, I would recommend it for a couple of nights ,really beautiful hotel .

Room Tip: Not sure think that they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Business Hotel in Genoa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.