We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 88 hotels in Genoa
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was fantastic value! The staff were exceptionally helpful but must give extra praise to Gabriele, on reception, who went the extra mile! The room was spotless and bathroom large. The only fault was that the full length mirror was badly positioned so that upper body only could be viewed. Breakfast amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    350
    84
    34
    10
See reviews for
228
551
43
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From initial entry we could not fault this hotel. We upgraded to a balcony room which gave a panoramic view of the whole city. Room great, bathroom fab with all you could possibly require. The breakfast was unsurpassable, loved sitting on roof terrace eating the best breakfast I have ever had. The staff were great; helpful and very friendly yet respectful.all in all I have never had a better hotel experience. Location is perfect for exploring liguria. I cannot reccommend enough.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to balcony room, it only cost 100 euros for the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed over for just 24 hours in Genoa.

Reception -
Really first class when you arrive you can feel they work hard for the 5 stars! Pleasant and fast great check in

Rooms -

We had a family room looking over the station and port - the views where amazing. The beds are easily the most comfortable beds I have EVER slept in! The bathroom was very plush - it was 5* all the way in a regal sense!

Location-

Just beside the central station this hotel is within walking distance of everything the historic city of Genoa - a great city steeped in history!

Top tip-

Make sure you ask for a room at the front looking over the bay!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful experience at hotel Savoia & hope to return again! The hotel is elegant & all the staff professional, courteous & helpful. We loved the proximity to the train station & the sea along with walking distance to all areas. The top floor of the Savoia with the terrace, restaurant, and bar are beautiful & classy & not to be missed with the beautiful views! We enjoyed breakfast there each morning & vino each evening. We utilized the train station frequently to visit Cinque Terre. Thank you Hotel Savoia for a wonderful visit & we hope to return one day!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor under the restaurant with a window that opened to view the sea and square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reading about how overpriced the hotels are around this area of the Italian riviera, I was surprised to find a room in the middle of the summer in Genoa that I could reserve online and with no deposit, (including breakfast!) all that for a fraction of the price of other hotels in the famous "Cinque Terre" area. As it turned out, my expectations were met and some. Indeed, it's nice to feel welcome as you arrive at your hotel after a long day of driving along the coast and visiting one charming port after another, but it's even nicer to have a surprise! Our surprise came as a timely upgrade with a "secret room" attached to our bedroom. I was extremely pleased with the quality of the room, the beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed, (a luxury feel), but we both especially loved "our" secret room. I won't share what it is, because it wouldn't be a secret anymore. Find out for yourself. An excellent breakfast-buffet taken on a sunny terrasse and served by a courteous and smiling wait-staff nicely complemented the stay. Yes, Genoa is an industrial port and has reputation of not being a "pretty" city, but I would say it has its own charm and remember that you're in Italy (did I mention the fabulous espresso). Treat yourself to a palace treatment like in the old days and enjoy!

Room Tip: see my comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelverton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a hotel of this rating the welcome we received was poor to say the least,we found the service to be poor throughout our short stay and the evening meal and breakfast was average and should have been much better for the rates charged.Our room was pleasant with a great view of the mountains.This hotel needs to up its service to its customers.

Room Tip: book a room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed prior to picking up our cruise and was pleasantly surprised - the decor and room sizes are superb. Rooftop has a couple of hot tubs and superb views of the port and city. Breakfast was included and was very good with ample choice. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Odd numbers have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Business Hotel in Genoa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
#8 Best Value Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.