We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the valet parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 88 hotels in Genoa
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the valet parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Fabulous breakfasts. Front of building rooms are a little noisy, but spacious and beautifully appointed.
Daylight robbery - 24 euro per day - for the hotel parking. On top of that the bell boy dented and scraped our 6 month old car, damaging rear passenger wing and door thus ruining an otherwise lovely stay. In their favour, the hotel immediately admitted their guilt and produced a letter to that effect so we can claim on their insurance. My advice is don't use their parking, but otherwise have a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to noise avoid the front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    691
    350
    84
    34
    10
See reviews for
226
544
43
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BARCELONA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

One will never think to find such a professional management for a 4 stars downtown hotel: roomsclean, bathroom perfect, Internet free and working, nice lobby, friendly team, good restaurant and the breakfast shows generosity, not this kind of minimalism as found eg at hotel Sheraton Genoa airport

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This beautiful hotel is all Art Nouveau, Atrium and Best Breakfast I've ever seen anywhere. The rooms are elegant, the service impeccable and the other thing is that it has an intimate, boutique feel about it.

This is the third stay in two years and we obviously love the place. Recently stayed for a week and had oodles of space and a balcony in the executive room, with two queen beds. The staff are unobtrusive and pleasant. I'd recommend the GHS to anyone. Genoa deserves a longer stay as there is so much to explore here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent three nights in the magnificent hotel - it is just perfect for a 3 day getaway. Staff was always nice and helpful. The gym was small but clean and not too crowded so nothing to complain about. The location is great - and the breakfast buffet is just amazing !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed one week ago and could not have been more pleased. We booked a deluxe room but when we arrived we found that only the executive rooms have a balcony so we we switched and still found we had the room for a five day stay to make 2 people comfortable. The customer service was excellent and they attended to all of our needs. The restaurants in the lobby and next door both had good food and drink service. The snacks in the bar area was a nice surprise and extended our stay in the salon area. We even did room service and we were pleased with the service and quality. Breakfast is pricey but was appreciated. The buffet had a huge selection from the standoint of an American. We ate there every morning. The gym is small with an out dated treadmill, but I was able to run there 2 nights during the stay. I have nothing negative to say. The location is perfect and I was able to walk to the port in 15 minutes and the shopping district in 20-30 minutes. This helped me order more pasta in the evening after a pizza lunch. We are returning to the hotel in 3 weeks for another visit to Genoa and we rebooked without hesitation.

Room Tip: Check with hotel if you want a room with a balcony which I reccomend. Amazing to look out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have stayed in Genoa previously and had a fair idea what to expect. The Grand Savoia is indeed `Grand` - ie; an historic hotel that has perhaps seen better days but is still way better than most of the other offerings in this lovely city. Slight delay (30 mins) in check-in but no big issue. Had an excellent front (harbour/train station) facing room with small balcony - spacious but with `dusty` furnishings. Breakfast excellent by `Italian standards` but more like a 4* offering elsewhere in Europe. Hotel otherwise was clean and room size (often an issue with my US customers but never with European ones!) was great. Large spacious room and bathroom. Great location being 15min walking distance to the old town or `Centro Storico` and right beside the Piazza Principe train station. Stayed pre-cruise and slightly annoyed that taxi arranged by hotel to port (1.7km on trip meter - I was checking!) charged 19euro but have been to Italy often enough before to know that `taxi rip-offs` and the classic quote of "it`s a fixed price" fare are common practice - shame for such lovely people in general. Caution - Italian taxi drivers don`t speak English but funnily enough all know how to say "its a fixed price" before grossly overcharging. Don`t get me wrong - this is a good hotel overall, but if you are used to 5* in say Berlin or Budapest for example (and I speak as a much travelled travel agent), you`ll be slightly underwhelmed and just be prepared for the ubiquitous rogue taxi drivers. Funnily enough, on return from cruise port to airport there was "an incident on the autostrada" and driver had to go via the `more expensive roads` - strangely enough, this is the third time in a row this has miraculously happened to coincide with my cruise disembarkation - Genoa taxi drivers eh??? Probably a brilliant hotel 25 years ago but only a very good one now.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the GHS and found it lived up to its' name. We chose the hotel more for its location rather than anything else, given that I have family living very close to this hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of room (a basic twin) and the professional, courteous staff on duty. The room was small, but very comfortable, well maintained decor and furnishings, with a comfortable bed and decent bathroom. Granted I do not normally have cause to use hotels in Genova, but I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to fellow travellers. Easy walk into the historic part of town and the famous Via Garibaldi with all of the Palazzi is about a ten minute walk from the hotel. There are many small bars and cafes in the vicinity, so if you didn't want to take advantage of the hotel's breakfast, you can pick up a decent espresso and piece of focaccia for less than 5 euros. Brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Business Hotel in Genoa
#2 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.