We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

An elegant hotel with beautiful rooms and a cute pirate ship outdoor play area for the kids. The buffet breakfast is extensive and good value. Genoa definitely wasn't my favourite destination is Italy but this hotel made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    415
    97
    39
    12
See reviews for
285
702
56
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

A 5* Hotel with only one concierge at the reception causes inevitably a queue: the ones want to check iout, the others want to get their car out of the garadge, the guests arriving are to be welcomed - but the gentleman simply can't satisfy the needs of all, so you wait.

In your room, take your time and check on the wall, whether you are booked into the right category - the one you pay for. We got a deluxe room and not the junior suite. After a complaint, the hotel immediatedly changed it.

The gentleman at the bar is an excellent barkeeper, who has been there since ever. Thanks to him the Savoya still has the spirit of the Grand Hotel.

Spa should not be the reason for choosing this hotel: even it is beautifully made, it is that small, that you will enter and retire after few minutes, when there are other 3-4 guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvia, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great location, friendly staff & excellent late check-out service.
Stayed in a double room, again only one robe & one pair of slippers. Kettle with selection of tea & coffee. Minibar well stocked. Tv hard to work, had to call reception daily. Lovely deep bath, bide & vanity mirror. Breakfast was very good, well worth the price. We had dinner in the restaurant, it was ok but won't go back. Service was ok but not great. The wellness center was nice but they charge a daily rate per person that we didn't realise until we got the bill. Parking was very expensive. The hotel bar is very nice & worth a visit. I would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December 2011 (night before our cruise with MSC Splendida - another great experience). Initially I booked the room on the hotel site, but later due to a reduction offered by Tripadvisor I got a much better price! The hotel answer was prompt and friendly, good for them! The hotel is very nice, with impressive lobby (it was Christmas and had a beautiful Christmas tree).
The room was spacious with a huge double bed and a couch arranged for the child. In the room I found two free bottles of water, tea and coffee facilities (was very good, we came on the way). Large and very clean bathroom with bathrobes and slippers.
Breakfast was very good, served in a pleasant atmosphere. Unfortunately we have not had time to go to the spa (although it was included).
I recommend to anyone, I think is the best hotel in Genoa.

Room Tip: We had room 409 - overlooking the railway station and port - see ship MSC Splendida that we left the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Luxory hotel in front of Genova Principe railway station, wonderful spa with a large yacuzzy, tepidarium, callidarium,frigidarium and sauna.
The breakfast has a very rich bouffet. The hotel hold a trattoria very tipical with a very cheap and delicius menu and a very formal restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My wife and I visited Genoa with our infant son and were very pleased to have found this hotel. It was well priced and located a short walk from the sites and directly across the street from the central train station. We were pleased with the rooms, as they appeared very clean with a lovely decor.

In our opinion the room decor and location are really the only two aspects where the Grand Hotel Savoia excelled. During check-in the hotel staff was quite rude and seemed more interested in going somewhere than answering our questions about the hotel and city. At no point were we informed that the hot tub was closed and found out by going to the floor only to find it closed and in a section of the hotel that looked to be under construction.

The first morning we ended up paying for a breakfast that was advertised on the card in our room as a "complementary continental breakfast". When I approached the desk staff about this, the gentlemen kindly informed me that although misleading, my rate did not include the complementary breakfast. During our three nights at the hotel two of the three desk staff we had interactions with were rude and not very helpful at all. One just handed a Genova tourism booklet and walked away when we solicited information about tourist activities in the city. We found the hotel bar ridiculously priced compared to the rest of the city. Even for its star rating (seemingly inflated) 5 euro for a can of coke was a bit excessive.

All in all, it is a nice place to stay for a good price. The unjustifiably pretentious attitude is a bit unsettling and as someone who spends a fair amount of the year sleeping in hotels, the star rating is a bit exaggerated. I would say it's a good three star by my standards.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Only stayed the one night as passing through but were made to feel very welcome and after a long drive very relaxed. The hotel is elegant and stylish, the welcome warm and professional, taking the car and parking it for us allowing us to relax and not stress on the busy roads of Genoa.The room was perfect for us, large enough for my wife and I and our 11 yr old son to relax and not be on top of each other; lovely bathroom and bath which again was just what was needed to relax after a long drive. Breakfast in the morning is in a lovely dining room, a good selection of hot and cold foods; would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Splendia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.