We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN City Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Sebastiano 6, 16123 Genoa, Italy (Piccapietra)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 87 hotels in Genoa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western recently and I have to say, it has the best breakfast included in the room rate, with excellent service from the polite young lady on staff.

It was interesting reading the other reviews as I didn't realise that you could book a room according to the "senses". If so, I would have taken "hearing" as my room was not exactly soundproof. I think I must have been in "Sight" as it was pitch-black when I arrived in the middle of the day, as was the hallway... quite disconcerting.

The room was very clean and the bathroom was large, with a face washer (rare in an Italian hotel)! I would almost come back next time for the breakfast (and the face washer). The hotel is really well located and the staff are professional.

Would I stay here again? Possibly, I think the decor in my room put me off a bit.

Room Tip: Perhaps find out a little bit more about the "senses". Unlike one of the other reviewers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN City Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Linda,
we thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, we are proud of it!
5 Senses are our Philosophy: we delight our clients with the best service offer in order to make their business or leisure visit to Genoa not just nice, but worth being remembered and repeated.
We “joke” with the 5 Senses names to call our rooms: for example Sound Room is our Standard and Look Room, the one you stayed in, is our Superior room.
We opted for soft lighting and now we are looking for a more performing solution with new generation lamps. Also we are implementing improvements on soundproofing.
We hope you will come visit us again!
With our best regards.
Fabiana Bagnoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    231
    45
    10
    3
See reviews for
186
223
20
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not easy to reach by car but very comfortable and clean hotel
Free wifi , spacious room and great breakfast
Situated conveniently to walk to city center
The hotel provides for a car park (25€) but there's also a very close public car park

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

No parking, they charge $25 to park your car, we find it a little to much, as the area is very difficult to find and cars are not allowed, but besides that, the hotel is excellent in every way. The Employees are extremely well trained and courteous. Rooms are clean and the best part is that housekeeping does not disturb you while you are still sleeping, as many other hotels do. They are very silent in the morning while cleaning other rooms. We will always go back to this Hotel.

Room Tip: every room is very clean and new
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our third stay at Best Western City Hotel. I think in my last review of it, I called it our home in Genoa; this time it earned that name under very difficult circumstances. We made the reservation with just a few days notice; my father-in-law had had a stroke and needed us with him. Although our favorite room was already reserved, the staff did its very best to find us a nice room and we were pleased with the results. Everyone remembered us and greeted us warmly. While we were there, first I, then my husband, developed an acute intestinal virus which kept us in bed for several days. The hotel staff was universally wonderful. They called a doctor, they offered to clean the room and change the bed after usual hours, the restaurant prepared special and simple food for us that we were able to eat. It was the hardest trip to Italy we have ever made; the warmth and competence of the staff made it bearable and left us feeling cared for. We also loved the bright pumpkin color of the walls in our room, a style called Look. We will return, hopefully next time for more fun, but in the meantime we would both like to say a heartfelt thank you for so many kind attentions and smiles across the board.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. Although we do not fully understand the system of senses, we very much like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN City Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Carol and Luigi,
thank you so much for your review. It is really a pleasure for us having you back in our Hotel!
We hope you and your family are ok now.
We look forward to see you next time ...for a better healthy stay :)
With our warmest regards.
Fabiana
BW City Hotel Genova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel. It is centrally located, reasonably priced. Room and bathroom were clean and of a reasonable size. In the winter the vent does not work (only heating, which is not needed when it is still 50F outside) so sleeping with the open windows allowed some noises in but that was a minor issue. Breakfast was great with a lot of choices and was included in the rate. The whole hotel appearance was wonderful. The WiFi worked flawlessly and very fast (included in the rate too). The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Check-in and check-out took a second. Parking is available for a fee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

THE GOOD!
- Wonderful buffet breakfast with plenty of options!
- Clean rooms, good showers and comfortable beds.
- Tasty room service food even if it was a slightly expensive €7 room service charge (from the restaurant "Le Rune").
- free Wifi
- extremely close to Piazza de Ferrari and the centre which allows you to take advantage of the €6 Volabus from and to the airport!!!

THE BAD!
- noise from the corridor (during the daytime only).
- you had to request a room service menu and it was not apparent that room service was even an option!
- very limited English TV channels (2).
- Wifi was negligible when the hotel was busy.

Room Tip: Stay high up in the hotel to guarantee some sort of view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A four star hotel, with everything you need.Confortavle and enough size rooms.Breakfast was the best I´ve had in Italy.Assorted cheeses,salt and sweet pies,juices, fruits, breads, ham,eggs, etc.Location is excellent, inside historic center and close to port.Professiona and helpful staff.Free internet.I am not sure if hotel rooms are completely sound -proof.I could hear sounds outside, but was saturday night.And noise was weak, a coud sleep wel, despite be a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City Hotel

Address: Via San Sebastiano 6, 16123 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Genoa
#3 Family Hotel in Genoa
#4 Business Hotel in Genoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN City Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Hotel with classic exterior & modern facilities, located on quiet side street in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.