We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing and badly in need of updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bristol Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre 35, 16121 Genoa, Italy (Piccapietra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
Alresford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Depressing and badly in need of updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a 4 star hotel - more like a run down school. Admittedly there was a medical conference going on but it is just seedy and very old fashioned especially in the entrance. They even describe the bar as "old fashioned" themselves. I went with my husband we have quite conservative tastes as we are in our mid fifties so anyone younger would think it even more drab and depressing. The room was small and it was obvious no one from the management has ever stayed in a room - if they had things would have been different - one tiny chest of drawers and NO complimentary tea or coffee - absolutely ridiculous at the price. On the plus side the location is good and the bathroom was the only thing that was nice I will give them that. Breakfast good but again room a bit depressing and old fashioned. Lifts incredibly slow. Air conditioning turned off in middle of night so very hot and no way you could alter it. Not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    325
    106
    30
    15
See reviews for
188
273
23
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
la jollla
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, right in the heart of the old city. Its in the pedestrian zone so you come up to the hotel and they take your vehicle away to a underground parking lot somewhere and bring it back to the front of the hotel when ever you need it. Yes it costs 25 euros a day but i think its well worth it, worry free and easy, what is your alternative? Go find some far away parking underground and walk back and forth to the hotel and i'm sure that it will not be cheap either. The hotel is nice overall with charm and character. We had 2 rooms, one was large with nice antiques, very lovely, the other however, all though clean was 1/2 the size and had outdated 70's fixtures, so be sure you know what kind of room your getting, The breakfast was decent typical Italian. Our only real complaint was dinner in the restaurant. Way over priced and very disappointing, not very good at all! Do your self a favor and go out instead.

Room Tip: be sure you know in advance what type of room your getting, pay the extra few euros for a deluxe ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was drawn to this hotel by it's grand staircase and classic design. Needless to say, this was probably the best part of the hotel. The common areas were lovely however our room was definitely not up to snuff. Wallpaper was literally peeling off walls, there were two areas above the bed where the wallpaper was completely stained with an unrecognizable gunk. The overall design of the room was very outdated and shabby with a run-down feel. Location was very central and bathroom was fine, but we were definitely disappointed overall by the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Next time I should take care of reading more carefully other (negative) posting of a review.

Hotel location is fine and all the interesting things are in walking distance.
But that’s all what I can say positive about this hotel.

In a Junior Suite I’m expecting to see in the bathroom bathrobe, slipper.
Bathroom was clean and I can confirm that in the morning it takes a while to get hot water.

Unfortunately the people above our room must have some child and they are running 20 minutes in the night forth and back. The building is badly soundproofed, so you hear every step, shower of the other room, etc.
The guest next to our room must be bothered by noise as well. I could hear him moving in the bed from one side to the other.

The bad impression continues with the breakfast. At 9.am you must be lucky to get a free table.
Even if there is a free table it is not cleaned up. This is not surprising if it needs to be handled by two waitresses only.
They have also no time to fill up the buffet, empty water bottles, etc. The selection is very poor.
If you are lucky you can get one piece of cake. It is worst breakfast buffet I have ever seen before

My recommendation, avoid this hotel. You will find better one. Next time I return to the Best Western City Hotel where I have stayed in May this year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, full of old world charm and service. Excellent staff, wonderful restaurant, charming breakfast. Walk out the front door and you are in the center of Genoa, right at the piazza di Ferrari.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was a great hotel and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Old world charm in the hotel and the room as well. It was clean and well maintained. Great location for exploring the city and close to the train station. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had good service and the room was perfect. The food was good and the place is very quiet so you can relax easily. The location is perfect for a visit of the city since it is right in the center. Nearby the plac e of birth of Christopher Columbus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Palace

Address: Via XX Settembre 35, 16121 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Genoa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#8 Family Hotel in Genoa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant turn-of-the-century palace in the centre of Genoa on Via XX Settembre. The Bristol Palace is just a few steps from the most important offices and exhibition sites, from Palazzo Ducale to the Carlo Felice theatre, as well as the most prestigious shops, museums and not least from the largest aquarium in Europe.During its recent renovation its elegance and exclusiveness were blended with a modern and functional conception of the services.The dramatic elliptical staircase in white and Liberty wrought-iron banister soars up to the top floor in a spectacular spiral that seems to suspended in space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bristol Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Palace Hotel
Bristol Palace Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.