We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bristol Palace Genoa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bristol Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre 35, 16121 Genoa, Italy (Piccapietra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Bristol Palace Genoa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Bristol Palace twice: 3 nights and then 1 on return from Sicily. Very good room, and very helpful reception, particularly one girl. Breakfast disappointing: why don't good hotels - 4 star like this one have fresh orange juice?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    326
    106
    30
    15
See reviews for
190
274
23
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here in January 2007 and came back for 5 days at the end of February 2012.
Good sized single room with an excellent bed, good linen and bathroom accessories.
Breakfast was superb and is included in the price.
Location is good, and the staff are helpful.
What I found disappointing was that the bar was not open late so that you could sit and have a drink with friends after a performance at the theatre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I (both retirees) take 12-14 day trips to Europe in the spring and fall. We visit two or three places and focus on our interests: art, architecture, and photography. These interests, easy access to transport and good restaurants, and ...above all...a quiet and comfortable place to sleep, are what we look for in a hotel.
After an intensive search of Genoa's top-ranked hotels and their reviews, we reserved a deluxe double at the Bristol Palace for four nights in mid-October. We chose the Bristol Palace for two reaons: its central location (a half block from the Piazza de Ferrari) and much closer than the others to the old town and major sites such as the Palazzi Bianco, Rosso, and Spinola, and pictures of the hotel and its grand staircase. We prefer "palaces" with their promise of spacious comfort to the thin-walled and skimpy rooms of many more modern hotels.
We arrived exhausted after 17 hours and three flights from the U.S. midwest and were assigned Room 444 in the front. This was an approximately 20 by 20 foot bedroom with 12 foot ceilings plus adjoining Room 443 (15 by 26 feet), a sitting room. We were astonished, fior this was far more space than in any of the 25 or so hotels where we had stayed in Italy. Though we were concerned about street noise (the Bristol fronts on the busy Via XX Settembre) a double set of windows with wooden shutters between silenced any outside noise.
Other features of our experience at the Bristol Palace include good front-desk and cleaning service (there are no doormen or porters). I watched the front-desk people handle intense periods of arrivals and departures with dispatch and aplomb. We found they were most knowledgeable and helpful ... especially Julia ... in locating good restaurants, etc. when their work slackened.
The breakfast buffet is held in two pleasant, light-filled rooms. The selection is good but not outstanding, and real Italian coffee can be had upon request. What they do not have, which is easy to get, is the wonderful Italian bread that features a sturdy crust and soft insides. Also, the servers have to run back and forth to a kitchen that is down a hall rather than next to the dining rooms . This is probably due to a design flaw or to the excessive cost of reconfiguring the dining/kitchen areas.
Despite such (minor) reservations, I can heartily recommend the Bristol Palace to anyone who, like us, travels to Genoa to see the place.

Room Tip: Room 444 is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Perfect location, close to all places of interest, comfortable rooms, clean and tidy. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are tasty. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked at the last day... So we couldn't find any room at Melia, or Hotel Savoia.
My expectation was not very high, but I'm quite satisfied with my stay.
The rooms are big and spacious with high ceiling. Old furniture but in good condition and elegant. We stayed at the corner room with a nice balcony.
I didn't like the bathroom, it doesn't reflect the elegance of the general building and decoration.
The breakfast room is beautiful, service and buffett is ok.
Location is good. During our visit there was a Miro exhibition, very close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Prefer corner room with balcony... 141, 145....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Indeed, a good hotel to explore Genoa. It's not too pricey, but nicely decorated, cozy and stylish. The location is certainly a great plus. Among the minuses are: unenthusiastic staff and expensive parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Palace

Address: Via XX Settembre 35, 16121 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Genoa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#8 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant turn-of-the-century palace in the centre of Genoa on Via XX Settembre. The Bristol Palace is just a few steps from the most important offices and exhibition sites, from Palazzo Ducale to the Carlo Felice theatre, as well as the most prestigious shops, museums and not least from the largest aquarium in Europe.During its recent renovation its elegance and exclusiveness were blended with a modern and functional conception of the services.The dramatic elliptical staircase in white and Liberty wrought-iron banister soars up to the top floor in a spectacular spiral that seems to suspended in space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bristol Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Palace Hotel
Bristol Palace Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.