We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, beautiful hotel, large room, delicious breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bristol Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre 35, 16121 Genoa, Italy (Piccapietra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 88 hotels in Genoa
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great position, beautiful hotel, large room, delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is located in a beautiful area near the theatre,you can walk to the pier seeing all the old town, parking facilities.
The room was really big (we were 4), and all the atmosphere of the hotle was special, it seemed to be in a luxury hotel of the pat, all the details were perfects.
The breakfast was delicious with a really large choice of dishes and drinks, one of the best I've ever had in Italy.
ctally we did not like Genova very much but we definitely liked this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    304
    94
    30
    15
See reviews for
156
230
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wonderful area just around the corner from Old town. The room and bathroom (with bathtub) were HUGE and ornate. The staff were very polite and accomodating, and the breakfast was substantial! Of course the stairwell was worth a visit even if you don't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My wife, our two teenagers and myself stayed here for a week in August. It was one of the best hotel experiences, all things considered, that we had for a long time.

For starters it had a fully functioning air conditioning system. it was hot, that time of the year. Temperatures didn't drop below 28'C at night. The family room we got was massive with high ceilings, antique furniture, and two balconies. (One with a view of the main street outside, all the way down to the iconic fountain nearby.) There was a minbar/fridge in the room too, to keep all the water we bought from the Billa supermarket, 400m away, cool.

The self service breakfast could at times appear a little disorganised, however if one remained patient, it was perfect, especially if one could get an outside table. There was a large range of food available, for all nationality types.

This is really a beautiful hotel. Best location in Genoa. Excellent service. Super value.

Room Tip: Get an outside table for breakfast. Internet access in the room was poor. One had to go to the recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acqui Terme, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here a couple of nights ago. Genoa is a fascinating city, chaotic and buzzy, 600,000 people crammed in a narrow strip between the Maritime Alps and the Med. Stepping in to this hotel is like going back in time - but in the nicest possible way. Pleasant and smartly-dressed staff, wonderful interiors (just check out the remarkable staircase), spotlessly clean, pleasing silence, excellent rooms and the rate I paid, via an internet booking, was frankly one of the biggest hotel bargains I have enjoyed. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent a week end with family during the week end of the boat show and for the price we paid we where expecting to stay in a charming italian hotel. Unfortunately the hotel needs to be renovated, the standing low and the hotel is dusty.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This was one of the best hotel experiences I've had in Italy. Fabulous old turn-of-the-century hotel in central Genoa. Great value in a classy establishment. Probably the best breakfast buffet I've had anywhere. Spacious rooms, professional service, character abounds.

The Hotel Bristol Palace is anchored by a 6 or 7-story stately marble central staircase that is breathtaking in scope. We booked a superior room which was slightly more than regular. Room was a corner room with high ceilings, tall windows, and a lovely bath that was as large as some small European bedrooms. Room was very large and comfortable. Nice conveniences including terry slippers.

Wireless Internet was 7 Euros extra, but good strong signal. Included buffet breakfast was simply outstanding. Service was professional and helpful. Front desk staff cool and dignified.

Genoa is an undiscovered gem, by the way, with one of the largest preserved medieval city centers in Europe. Great dining around town. A vital waterfront. Fun and interesting place to visit -- if you do, definitely stay at the Bristol Palace.

Room Tip: Superior room is worth the small upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed here with our daughter and some friends (and their daughter). Best thing of the stay (at least by junior vote): the playroom we discovered early on the first day. Great distraction for the kids while we checked in and got luggage situated. We had booked a family room, and it was basically three single beds, in a very spacious and airy room with nice windows and a great big bathroom. The hotel itself was beautiful inside, and we really enjoyed the quality of our stay. And breakfast was grand and delicious. The location was good... on the main shopping street, with easy access to the sights of Genova. We can easily recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bristol Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Palace

Address: Via XX Settembre 35, 16121 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#9 Family Hotel in Genoa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#11 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant turn-of-the-century palace in the centre of Genoa on Via XX Settembre. The Bristol Palace is just a few steps from the most important offices and exhibition sites, from Palazzo Ducale to the Carlo Felice theatre, as well as the most prestigious shops, museums and not least from the largest aquarium in Europe.During its recent renovation its elegance and exclusiveness were blended with a modern and functional conception of the services.The dramatic elliptical staircase in white and Liberty wrought-iron banister soars up to the top floor in a spectacular spiral that seems to suspended in space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bristol Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Palace Hotel
Bristol Palace Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.