We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very good choice for a relaxing stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels President to your Saves list
Starhotels President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corte Lambruschini 4, 16129 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall a very good choice for a relaxing stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We have stayed at the Star President on a number of occasions. Situated in a very good location just by the main train station where there is also a bus station. Getting into the center is easy either by bus or a pleasant 15 minute walk.

As you enter the hotel you will be impressed by the main lobby where the bar is also located. The superior room where we stayed last time was very spacious, comfortable and good value for money. The bed is massive and the bathroom is large, clean and bright.

The TV is a good size and there is a well stocked minibar for a late night tipple.

The staff are pleasant - a special mention must be given to Enrico who was extremely helpful last time we stayed when there was a mix up with our booking. He sorted it out for us straight away and made sure we were totally satisfied.

Overall a very good choice for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    215
    107
    32
    18
See reviews for
63
155
27
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Do NOT go at this hotel. Their customer service is horrible. First, they charged my credit card twice, and that didn't seem to have bothered them at all. After I spoke to them, they said that they would refund just the amount in euros that was charged (not the actual amount in dollars that was charged from my account and not the international fee=$30, nor the overdraft fee from my bank =$45). After causing such a huge incovenience to us, they didn't even try to make it up to us.
When I asked to speak to one of the managers, the front desk guy said that no manager is available on the 25th-26th and he doesn't even know about my case.

They seem to take the business for granted and therefore they do not care about their customers. I strongly reccomend to not go there because they will mess up in several occasions and they won't even care about it.

I

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The hotel is located a 15mins walk from piazza de Ferrari at the train station Brignole. It is well connected to the city center via bus, which leaves right in front of the hotel. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean but a bit aged. We had difficulties to control our aircon. Parking is included but quite pricey (20€ per night), but altogether the price was fair.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Things didn't go to well when I arrived, with a miserable chap on the front desk checking me in and a request for an iron being turned down. I was told I had to use the hotel laundry service just to get a couple of shirts pressed - and I'd have to wait 24 hours - not great if you are going out for dinner or need a shirt for the next morning. They grudgingly agreed to do one shirt within a couple of hours and charged me over 4 euros for the privilege. Anyway, the room itself was spacious with a very comfortable bed, but it was REALLY hot, and there was no working air conditioning. On complaining about this, I got a shrug and was told to open the window.
The attitude of the staff here is a real shame, as it could potentially be a nice hotel. It's right next door to the main train station and is in an impressive looking building. Unfortunately, the Starhotels chain in general is stuck in the past. No room cards for these hotels, instead your key is presented to you on what is essentially a huge brass knob with a tassle on it - very 1970s. They also insist on ramping up the bar prices (to the extent that the bar is always empty) - can 6.5 euros for half a pint of lager really be justified?
Starhotels President is stuck in the past, and not in a good way - both the hotel and the staff need to be kicked into the 21st century.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

good lacation hotel. not so exp. nice personal. concervate. summ good

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Following a visit to this hotel I came away with mixed views. The general location of the hotel is great with a short walk to the main squares. The rooms were clean, beds comfy and bathroom fine.
The staff however left something to be desired. I actually wondered whether they took a course on impoliteness and discourtesy prior to getting the job. During my 3 night stay I failed to see a smile on anyones faces and this was backed up by silence when I said good morning to them.
This is a shame as the rest of the experience was good although parking was extortionate at around 30Euros per night - I would have expected a pillow and blanket for the car at that price!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

The rooms are good, quite and clean. Very good breakfast. From the hotel you can reach the old town in just 10 minutes walking. The staff is kind and competent and gave us very good suggestion on how to spend our time in the town and in the near area. However, the garage is rather expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels President

Address: Corte Lambruschini 4, 16129 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Genoa
#11 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels President 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels President in Genoa. Located in Corte Lambruschini opposite the Brignole railway station, our 4 star hotel in Genoa is the perfect choice for exploring this old glorious Mediterranean port town, full of quirky alleyways, elegant shops and restaurants.Our modern hotel in Genoa is a glass skyscraper reflecting the city, with magnificent views from the 191 rooms and suites. Work out in the well-equipped fitness room, relax in the spacious lounge and bar, dine in the delicious La Corte restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Starhotels President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels President Hotel Genoa
Starhotel President Genoa
Starhotel President Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.