We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Pasta & Pesto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Genovese

Il Genovese
Via Galata 35r, Genoa, Italy
+39 010 8692937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 1,306 restaurants in Genoa
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Pasta & Pesto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely little trattoria which served homemade pasta & gnocchi. After finding out that Pesto is Genovese we had to try it here and it was delish. REalyl lovely & helpful staff. Great atmosphere

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    103
    141
    39
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“small restaurant - big kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A place we have had the pleasure to visit a number of times the last months. As a matter of fact being surprised about the quality, service and price the first time, it was easy to come back many other times with the same result. A good and genuine Ligurian meal from the professional kitchen, among hosts that do their utmost best to make "all" people at the table happy and still present you with a bill that does not "hurt". If you can, make reservations, as it happens that quite often the place is (justifiably) full. Allow me to add an other comment. This is one of those places in Liguria where you can have a good bottle of wine for a very very reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious, original Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Really excellent Genuese food for reasonable prices. Top recommendation for Genua!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous local food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Good choice of local food. Excellent service. Locasl eat there alongside tourists. Fantastically cooked and presented

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Local food with true quality of Genova”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were recommended by our friend to this amazing local restaurant. the restaurant is small and delicate. Staffs were so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was so warm due to the small size of restaurant but cheerful staff and customers. We (a group of 4) had 2 primi one pasta with Pesto Genovese and a gnocchi with pesto and 4 different secondi. we had rabbit, and 2 fishes: one was sashimi on salad and the other one was pouched with vegetables and a meaty dish. Never tried the best of pesto until this restaurant. pesto was so tasty on its own and the pasta was so fresh. but the best of the taste came when the secondi came. The fish sashimi on salad was a great fusion of fresh japanese style met with italian passion. we loved it very much even as one of us is japanese. The fishes and the meat were just cook to perfect. Just the rabbit was average as compare to the great fish dish but it will be as good in other restaurant just because the two fish dish is way too outstanding. Also had a litre of house white wine which is really good pick and a panacotta as dessert. that was just about 90 euros. The only minus was down to the panacotta as the fishes were one of the best we had had whereas the panacotta was not exactly the best but still it was somewhere near that standard. But this will not put off our experience in this restaurent about the food service and value. this is one of the best experience in our trip after being in cannes nice and monaco. overall this restaurant was a true recommend for those who are looking for very nice local genova food where genovese went ( we were the only tourist during our meal) Amazing Local food with true quality of Genova, at a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Genovese also viewed

 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Il Genovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Genovese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.