We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Liguria !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cook Green Ristorante Vegetariano

The Cook Green Ristorante Vegetariano
Via Marco Sala 77/79, 16167 Genoa, Italy (Nervi)
+390103202952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 1,409 Restaurants in Genoa
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nervi
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Liguria !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food is just wonderful. Some special menu of the seasons : truffles in autumn and crude fish in spring : just an experience !! Excellent service and welcome and what a choice of wine !!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    65
    36
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food , Good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We where travelling back from Tuscany and were hoping for one last good meal before we returned home.
Genova was like any big European city but we where not too hopeful of finding what we wanted.
Nevertheless, we did.
The tasting menu was simply delicious . I would definitely suggest paying the extra €20 euros and having a different wine for the starter, primo platti and the main course. The charming waitress ,Sylvie, was most helpful with the choices.
The dessert wine was a revelation, Ben Rye from Sicily.
The chef blends established dishes from the area and puts a modern slant on them.
This restaurant should go from strength to strength.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Half Michelin Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

A pleasant dinner but we expected more from this bright chef. Ambience is not bad, minimal but warm. Restroom outside is simply unacceptable. Service was friendly but not professional enough, excluding the waitress who is the chef's wife, I guess. When I asked a young waiter about a Wachau wine he just replied "it is a good wine". Well, I knew that ... Food was pretty good, from starters to desserts and well presented, but nothing special. I found fish was no doubt fresh but a bit bland. It takes overall improvements to deserve a real full star.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good staff, but check the ingredients before serving!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent a pleasant evening at this small restaurant in Genoa Nervi, full of guests even though it was mid-week. The decor is really nice with just a few tables, modern furniture, original plates and cutlery, - one dish served on a piece of slate!!! :-) - toilet outside the restaurant, just a few steps from the door (but this is so typical Ligurian....). The staff is quick and always smiling, giving description of the food served.
We decided to have a selection of its dishes: good score for both the pasta dishes and the exceptional desserts, but all the dishes including shrimps were not good at all, because I think they were not fresh.
I think we should go there once more and try other dishes, before giving a definite review.
For the time being, it does not deserve the Michelin star it has, if compared to other starred restaurants in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well deserved Michelin star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The restaurant has had one Michelin star for two years now.
The decor is minimalist, very pleasant. Staff are friendly and the food is excellent. Nice appetizers, good pasta and excellent fish dishes. You can skip the desert though. We found the price very acceptable, 140 euros for two with 2 appetizers, 2 main dishes , 1 desert and a very good French Chablis. We absolutely enjoyed the ambiance.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cook Green Ristorante Vegetariano also viewed

Sestri Ponente, Province of Genoa
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to The Cook Green Ristorante Vegetariano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cook Green Ristorante Vegetariano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.