We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an early flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MarinaPlace Resort

Save Saved
You added MarinaPlace Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MarinaPlace Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   via Pionieri e Aviatori d'Italia, 129, 16154 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 87 hotels in Genoa
Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for an early flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Your room is literally overlooking the runway, so you are at the airport, but you're also at a lovely marina with beautiful views. It's a €20 taxi fare into the tourist area of Genova, but there are public transport options as well. Our modern room was huge - two stories with two double beds. The terrace was also huge. Very nice bathroom and walk in wardrobe. Breakfast was very basic, but fine. Free parking and wifi - always welcome.

Room Tip: Ask to face the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
55
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pieve Ligure, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Marina Place Hotel with my family after a dinner of Magic at the adjoining restaurant. The dinner was fabulous with a micro-magician that came right to the table and brought complete astonishment to my 2 and 5 year old along with my husband and I. The food was incredible and the wait staff great.

We were then suggested to stay in a room abiding to a family having a lofted room where the children slept and a separate sleeping area below with an outside patio where we adults shared a bottle of wine overlooking the marina.
The room was quite warm, although it is sometimes hard to regulate with strange seasons, but the staff was very available and understanding even if opening the windows was the only ultimate solution. All in all, the children were happy looking down from 'their room' through the glass, and we found a good family solution for a pleasant stay in a modern, quiet and clean environment- although I wish it also offered the hamman as I have seen other rooms have.

As an American, the next morning proved even more special as the staff spoke English well, I had an American coffee, and met another American staying for an extended period while enjoying an intimate breakfast with my family of Italian focaccia, Nutella, and cheese and croissants. It wasn't a large buffet, but satisfying.
We completed our stay with a walk up and down the marina, finishing with a late morning Italian gelato we found in one of the shops along the 'boardwalk'.

I have recommended MPH to my friends and hope other families share the same magical experience we had.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for the lofted room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is near the Genoa airport and a good 15 mins drive to downtown Genoa. We booked a room facing the marina which was great. The rooms were modern and rain shower was awesome. Rates include parking and wifi but the wifi was very slow (hint to upgrade). We also had some cocktails at the restaurant which was fabulous (euro6 each). Overall, excellent value stay in Genoa.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel when staying a couple of days in Genova to visit old friends and the cruise around the region.
The hotel is nice, with modern and comfortable rooms. Generally service is good and staff is kind and caring. There is a nice lounge bar and restaurant which are good if you are here to relax.
What we liked a lot is the charming atmosphere given by the setting, next to the small marina behind the Genoa's airport. When you arrive you may in fact be disappointed since you need to go through the airport area which is not exactly fascinating. Don't give up and carry on. When you arrive to the place it will be ok.
Note: if you are with your car arriving is easy. If you arrive with flight you need to book their shuttle or take a taxi. The place is just next to the airport but you would have to walk all the way around the raceways for 20 mins.
Only one negative remark. We chose a room with steam bath. That is a great idea but it is not engineered well and you fill the bath with humidity and it is not ventilated properly.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

What a great surprise, we ot there after 11 pm, just in time to have a pizza next door but we could see much in the hotel. After a night of very comfortable sleep what a great surprise the view from the balcony! Loved it so much that we decided to stay our last night as well. Very short ride to the airport and good little farinata place by the marina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The staff (Loraina and Julie) spoke outstanding english were very courteoues and helpful in directions to places in town. It is a fantastic view of not only the mountains, but also of the harbor full of yachts tied up at the marina. Less than 1/2 mile from airport and a good area of restaurants to try different Italian food. Although the hotel was fantastic and the stay well worth the value, do not accept a high number room if staying over the weekend and you want to sleep at night. My only regret is I had a high number (20) room. The high number rooms are over the Marina Place Cafe and the music is extremly loud on Friday nights and goes into the wee hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Lower number rooms 1-9 are quieter at nights on the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at MarinaPlace resort while in Genoa for my daughter's wedding on 8 September 2011. The MarinaPlace was the perfect place for a wedding reception. We were treated like royalty, and the rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was awesome.

At the reception, we ate for 4 hours straight and the food presentation was such a wonderful addition to the fun and excitement. There was so much thought and detail put in to the meal preparation, and the chef entertained us with a story behind many of the courses.

When we had time to sit back, we relaxed with a coffee out on the patio with family, while taking in the glamor of the beautiful yaghts and distant mountains. What a marvelous back drop for our photos.

I want to thank the staff and management of MarinaPlace for helping create a magical setting for my daughter's receiption.

I highly recommend MarinaPlace if you're staying in Genova. It's convenient to city attractions, like the Aquarium of Genova.

Julie Taylor - mother of the bride.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the harbor. The view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MarinaPlace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarinaPlace Resort

Address: via Pionieri e Aviatori d'Italia, 129, 16154 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 87 hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MarinaPlace Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your MarinaPlace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MarinaPlace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.