We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel oppopsite port” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Genoa City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Genoa City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Genoa City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Milano 47, 16126 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Genoa
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hotel oppopsite port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Arrived by taxi from airport, cost 25 euros. Lovely modern room, had view over harbour front and autostrada.Nice bathroom with large shower tray, room very clean and 32 inch tv. Laminate floor which we did not like but overall decor very pleasing.
There is a coop supermarket across the road, 2 minute walk visible from hotel window. we chose the hotel because we were cruising the following morning, it took 12 minutes to walk to the cruise terminal.
The bed was extremely confortable and one of the best i slept in. The restaurant was on the 1st floor,advertised around 40 euros for 3 course meal which we did not try. However we did have breakfast, included in the hotel tariff, lovely buffet breakfast set up. Cooked bacon, scrambled eggs, plenty of yogurt, fruit, lovely crossaints, rolls, in all plenty of choice.
The only grpe we had was the location at night, no restaurants near by and a long walk into the city. We walked 20 minutes along the front to a chinese restaurant, food was not very good and equals the decor inside.
Overall hotel was clean, modern and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience by writing on tripadvisor.
Hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Gneoa CIty, we remain.
Yours sincerely,

Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    341
    123
    29
    16
See reviews for
211
178
21
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed two nights Feb. 8,9 2013 Nice hotel good location. Genoa is different layout. This hotel is close to ferry terminal and walking distance to attractions if you are a walker. Booked hotel thinking we could walk fro train or metro station but Genoa sidewalks are not the best for wheeled luggage. Hotel is very modern and up to date. Full amenities for european hotel, soap, toothbrush, shaver, coffee, fridge. Very civilized and the right mix of western accommodations and European flair.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Client,
thank you for your stay and for the time take to leave your opinion!
for us and for other future guests your review is very important and helpful.
hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Genoa City, we remain.
Best regards,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for one night during our quick trip to Genoa. The hotel's location is not too far from the Regional train station, and very near to the metro, too.

The hotel was nice. The design was modern and we really enjoyed the room. However, the staff was not very helpful during our stay. We booked a 3-person room (which I assumed covered the cost for up to 3 people) but we were charged an extra person charge for just 2 people checking in. The staff were less than helpful, so we just paid it and moved on.

Besides this, it was fine. The beds are extra comfy and you will sleep well. The hotel is also really quiet and it gets totally dark when you draw the blinds.

If breakfast wasn't included in your rate, it is 10euros. We decided to go out, so can't comment on how good it was.

If you come to Genoa, keep this hotel in mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for recommending our hotel to tripadvisor' s readers.
We remind you that if you choose bed and breakfast rates at reservation time, the price is much much cheaper! We wish you to try next time our excellent breakfast booked it with your night at our hotel.
As for the reception staff and the charge for 3 guests, we really would appreciate if you could give us more details. We would like to better understand what this supposed overcharge is due to. One of our main professional aims is to make things clear to ourselves and to our customers, in order to learn by our possible mistakes, and to show our guests we care for their opinion.

Thanks in advance for any other information you will give us to identify your case and give you more explanations,

Regards and come back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzice, Serbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Rooms,, cleanliness , food and service are excellent..I've been in hotels that were more expensive but much, much worse and worse place.. relationship between price and quality that this hotel offers is more than enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

It has been a pleasure to have you in our hotel and to read your feedback about your experience at Hi Genoa City. Reading our guests’ satisfaction is our main satisfaction too.
Come back anytime and we will meet one more time your expectations.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Dear, we stayed at your hotel as a family. Upon check-in, the staff saw we were staying with a child. It's not a question of whether we asked or not for a non-smoking room, it's not a very intelligent excuse for your shortcoming; when there is a child among guests, you don't give a smoking room! Period! Your sarcasm implied that you could have changed the room even at that hour if we asked; since you didn't have housekeeping, why then didn't the staff offered to change our room when I asked to change the bed cover due to a vomit on it?! Do you only change the room if it's the smoking/non-smoking issue? If you had comprehended what I wrote, I said we stopped in Genoa to cut our journey; it means, we were travelling/sight-seeing prior to our arrival at your hotel; which means we were tired upon arrival, we just wanted to sleep directly. Do you honestly think that in that state, we would have the energy to bother and wait some more to transfer to another room? As it was, we wasted/lost time because there was a problem with your car park entrance!

Your attempt to make excuses for your sorry hotel and staff just makes me more livid after all these time! Just proves how lame this hotel is!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear -rm1812-,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I am truly sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We work very hard to ensure our service is superior and we strive to provide the best guest experience. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize for the poor expereince you had during your stay.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there a single night, using my points. But despite my Platinum number appearing in my registration, we were not given any upgrade, that is a first in any ICHotel Group. Hotel seems freshly refurbished, romms are quiet, beds excellent, bathroom nice, albeit small (I believe in any other room it ll be bigger). Hotel has a parking on a the ground, that was free of charge.

Location is quite good, 200 M walking from a metro station, makes the trip to the center and the old town very easy. Otherwise its a 25 mns walk from the old port. Service was overall good, and rooms very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you in advance for your review on this website.
We would really appreciate if you could give us more information about your membership to Priority Club programme, as it is a must for us to recognize every member’s status at check in time as well as during the guest stay. We are surprised that in this case, as a platinum member you do not seem to be given any room-upgrade, which hardly happens, unless the hotel executive-room availability in a particular day is limited by high occupancy. In that case we try to offer the member other extra benefits, such as free of charge parking (that is usually chargeable), as maybe it was done in your case. But with a few information as we have now, we can only guess how it was.
So please give us more details about your experience as it is very important for us to understand what happened when you checked in. We usually are very very careful in rewarding PC members as frequent travelers of our hotels group.
We thank you also for your honest review about the other features of your stay in our hotel, although your room might not have been the one you expected.

Looking for your reply,

Happy New Year,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we arrived to the hotel we realized that our triple room was in fact a tiny double with a crammed third bed inside and as if that wasn't enough we were given a room for handicaps and therefore it was nearly impossible to move in the shower and the toilet in general as special facilities where fitted making our staying in that room impossible. After we made our complaints they insisted that they couldn't help us as there was no room availably however magically after we shouted a room appeared and at least we were given a second single room for compensation. After all this anger though how could we enjoy our stay.furthermore the location was dissapointing as it was in a poor unsafe neighborhood.

Room Tip: Just don't choose at all the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear cosmo252,

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. It’s good to know that the hotel had compensated you for the inconvenience. I apologize for falling short of your expectations and for the unsatisfactory service you received. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Genoa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Genoa City

Address: Via Milano 47, 16126 Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Genoa
#10 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#13 Family Hotel in Genoa
#15 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Genoa City 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Genoa City is the ideal choice if you re looking for a hotel in Genoa. Don t miss the chance to stay at this new designer hotel that opened in early 2009, and just a few steps away from Europe s largest city centre and the city s main attractions: the Genoa Aquarium, Via Garibaldi, the Palazzo Ducale and the Carlo Felice Theatre are only a few minutes away, and the ferry and cruise terminals are next to the hotel itself. We re easy to reach: the Ge-Ovest motorway exit is just 300 m. away, the P. Principe station less than 1 km away, and the Cristoforo Colombo Int. Airport is 6 km away. The Cotone Conference Centre and Genoa Trade Fair Centre can also be rapidly reached. Fully noise-proofed rooms, Wi-Fi Internet, flat screen TV, Sky channels, garage with direct access, bar and mini-gym. The Newport Restaurant offers Genoese and international specialities, and is a splendid bonus for our guests, welcomed every morning by our generous buffet breakfasts. For meetings and all other events, the Holiday Inn Genoa City offers 5 multipurpose rooms seating up to 200 persons. Our strongest point however is our highly professional staff, who will make you want to return to us as soon as possible. Elegant design, friendly hospitality, professional service and the finest quality for the price: all this is the Holiday Inn Genoa City, more than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Genoa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Genoa City Hotel Genoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Genoa City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.