We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good b&b” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Genoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
via Felice Romani, 16122 Genoa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 131 Genoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
“very good b&b”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

i stayed at bin & ban for two nights. the location was easy to find, but it's flat number 26 in the building 18. So, don't get frustrated if you can't see any sign of your b&b when you arrive. it is a bit far away from the tourist attractions, but certainly not much, and the streets to walk there are also very nice. the owner, Anna, was very kind and warm. breakfast may be moderate, but the way she serves it, and especially the fruit salad makes you feel very good in the morning. no need to mention the beautiful view of the terrace. the bathroom was shared, but since it's not a big house with a lot of other guests, it wasn't a problem for me. everywhere was neat, clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaVGenova, Proprietario at Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, I would love to be able to offer a richer breakfast (as I used to do previously) but now I had to comply with an Italian normative (unfortunately!) that is quite restrictive in terms of manipulation of food that can be offered to B&B guests. I am glad you liked it anyway and enjoyed your stay here!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
28
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the end of January at Bin e Ban B&B. When we arrived I found it a bit weird that the name of the B&B was not on the buzzer and had a brief moment of confusion in finding the place. However, once we got to the pent-house level B&B we were greeted by the wonderful Anna who showed us around her B&B and explained everything we had to know.
It was one of the best B&B's we had stayed in in Italy. The bathroom was well stocked and very clean, the room was comfortable and even had a kettle with tea and coffee to have whenever we wanted. Breakfast (which was an assortment of fruits, yogurts, breads/cakes and teas/coffee) in the morning was served "buffet-style" in the common room overlooking the beautiful view of the mountains and city. Had it not been winter and snowing ( which only happens every 50 years - lucky us), I'm sure we would have had breakfast on the terrace that wraps around the whole place.
The location is great in relation to the train station (~5-10 min walk), but a bit of a walk to the old town and main tourist sites. In nice weather it would be a lovely walk (~15-20 min).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

the breakfast is "a la italiana" and the appartment is located in the sixth floor. Genova is a very charming city and I really enjoyed this clean and comfortable room with a terrific terrace and a very friendly owner who made worthwhile my three days stay in Genova. my room had a lot of light and a very comfortable bed. besides you have a table on the terrace to enjoy the morning or the sunset.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Extraordinary view from the terrace. Very friendly welcoming and service by Signora Anna, who speaks only a little bit English. (Hints for good restaurants.) Large rooms with high ceilings in a patrician apartment on the top floor of a building. Quiet because situated in a dead end street. Not very far to the center of the town (25 min. to the Palazzo Ducale, if you're a good walker).
Sra. Anna offers fresh fruit (melon, pineapple, fruit mixture) every day for breakfast. Really fantastic. And at the weekend she even has fresh baked cake. But most of the croissants and other bread are industrial packed. And she doesn't offer eggs, ham, cheese or cereals. We stayed just three days. So we didn't very much miss these breakfast items. But you should be aware of it since the other ratings emphasize so much the wonderful breakfast.
Shared bathroom with two other rooms.
Under these circumstances the 70 € per night seem to be a little bit too much for what is offered. Especially because of the shared bathroom the value of the room drops somehow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but we really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is in a couple rooms of a large apartment that has been owned by the same family for quite some time. The bedroom we stayed in was very spacious and led out to a lovely terrace with fragrant jasmine blossoms and lemon trees. The breakfast was simple but fine, with good coffee.

The apartment is located within a ten to fifteen minute walk from the train station, though up a steep hill. If you arrive by train with lots of luggage, it might be worth it to get a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Bin and Ban is unbeatable for the panaromic view you get of the city of Genoa. It is simply unbeatable. Bin and Ban is actually a penthouse apartment of a block sitting just on the outskirts of the ancient city, with two rooms let out to visitors. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable and bright, with access to a large terrace where the views are to die for. You share a toilet, but the toilet itself is large and clean. For the price, I believe Bin and Ban is the best value for money in Genoa - perhaps the whole of Italy. It is within walking distance to the main sights of town. Parking is a problem, but the landlady is a really nice person, and she offered to give her lot up for us - which was not necessary. Pay cash since this is really a home run B & B.

Room Tip: Take the corner room to the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed at Bin & Ban for only one night - we should have stayed two nights but our car broke down on route. It was a little difficult to find but the location is central - can easily walk to see the main sights - and the room, and the beautiful views from the terrace, were perfect. We had a very warm welcome though we speak practically no Italian (and they speak just a little English) despite arriving a day late. Breakfast was spectacular, with fresh pineapple.

Highly recommended - but if you need a parking space you need to discuss with the proprietor beforehand. We did, and paid an extra 10 euros for them to rent a parking spot, so they could give theirs to us. That was good value compared to the hotels which mostly charge a lot more for a parking space. We were in a small hired car (because of the breakdown) and I don't think our wider Fiat Multipla could have made it up the very narrow and congested street.

Room Tip: Print out map, not rely on satnav in Genoa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast

Address: via Felice Romani, 16122 Genoa, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed in a flat that used to be home to a large family: Bin and Ban have lived here with 5 of their children since 1972. The penthouse of a six-stores block built in the end of 50's, is surrounded by some 200 m2 of terrace, with access from each room and used, in the warm weather, to start the day with a delicious breakfast, or to relax, after a walk in the town centre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bin & Ban Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.