We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria da Maria

Trattoria da Maria
Vico Testadoro 14 r, Genoa, Italy (Piccapietra)
010581080
Improve this listing
Ranked #219 of 1,481 Restaurants in Genoa
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Piccapietra
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Close to the centre, traditional, delicious, affordable, debonair, fast service! We went there at around 2:30-3:00. It was full of people but in 10-15 minutes, everybody left. So, I recommend you to go there a bit later than usual lunch hour. I would definitely go there once again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    354
    138
    65
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value-for-money Italian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went there for lunch on a weekday on recommendation of friends. And it was quite full with locals (I believe, so far as I could tell). A very rustic, simple, trattoria, food was good value-for-money and tasted good. Service was intermittent as they were very busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in the whole of Genoa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was by far the best meal we had during our stay in Genoa, in terms of price and food. Although the service was not the best at times, it was excused by the terrifically authentic food, and the general atmosphere at the cafe. The waitress' and waiter's were, however, very sweet, and helpful, as since we didn't speak italian they kindly explained the dishes to us. Open for dinner and lunch, the place was simply buzzing with locals, and we found it hard to even get through the door it was so popular. We waited around 15 mins for our table, although the place was fairly large, it was just so popular. We accepted the fact that the cafe wasn't very posh, so if you're looking for somewhere to have a quiet meal with great attentive service, this isn't the place for you. But if you do want some authentic, hot food, then come here, instead of wasting your money at another restaurant in Genoa! Visiting this place twice, we found that they change their 'meals of the day' every day, so there are around 4/5 staple dishes for the day, along with desserts, sides etc. The price at this place was by FAR the best in Genoa, since we found that many restaurants were very overpriced for the simple food they were selling, but this restaurant beat it by miles. We would recommend booking if you are with a large group/ want to be seated right away, as you would be astounded just how many locals and tourists pass through this place. I would definitely, definitely visit this place again if I were to visit Genoa again - this was the best restaurant in the whole city.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“didn't seem that clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

would not go back, we didn't like it. It was suggested by friends, but it seems under new ownership. Entrance also from Via XXV Aprile

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best, most authentic meal in Italy. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've traveled to Italy many times and have visited different parts as both a tourist and a guest of family, but this was my first time in Genoa. Although this was not my favorite city, the dinner at da Maria was hands down the best overall meal I've eaten in Italy. Not only was the meal INCREDIBLE value (3 course dinner for 2 with wine for 18 Euros), the food was truly homecooked. There was a group of women cooking the food feet away in the kitchen. The pesto pasta was even better than in the Cinque Terre. I also had the roasted beef.
The menu is handwritten and the waitress keeps coming by to cross things off as they sell out. Restaurant is a tiny hole in the wall that you find by walking down a small alley just of off one of the boutique shopping streets. Have I been to fancier restaurants in Italy? Yes. Have I eaten meals that felt more like eating a delicacy (i.e., risotto in Burano)? Yes. But hands down this was the best, most home-cooked meal in any restaurant i've had in Italy. Apologies to the trattorias in Florence and Italy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Maria also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Trattoria da Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria da Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.