We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Must Stay Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Capellini Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Capellini Rooms
Piazza Marconi 26, Vernazza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Preston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You Must Stay Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our third visit to Vernazza but our first overnight stay. Vernazza is the most beautiful of the Cinque Terre villages and this apartment is the most wonderful location in Vernazza. It's like being in a boat in the harbour, without the sea movement. The room, bed, bathroom and kitchenette are all perfectly set out and it even has a gellateria next door. Maria and Giacomo are the perfect hosts. They genuinely care about you as a visitor and about Cinque Terre. It shows not just in the warmth of their welcome but in their care for the small detail.

Remember that passeggiata starts here at around 8 and continues past midnight and the room is in the heart of the action. We had two magical nights. Do rent a small boat from the harbour if your budget can stretch to it as seeing the other villages from the sea and anchoring and swimming in the Ligurian sea is something special. It is also worth spending a few moments in prayer or contemplation in the church across the square as the sun starts to go down. Sad to leave but enriched by the stay the wonderful Maria and Giacomo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
95
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What can we say but we loved our stay here!! Maria and Giacomo are such warm and friendly people, they just make you feel so welcome in their beautiful Vernazza! We loved our cozy room, especially listening to the waves lapping on the shore and a wonderful Gelato store right next door...we're hooked on the lemon flavor!
The room was very clean and just right for us. Everything is in walking distance and jogging and hiking for those that do. We hope to go back someday and stay a little longer.
Maria is quite the budding artist and we were lucky enough to be given one of her creations...Thank you Maria and God Bless :-)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Get this room. You walk down from the train station and into the plaza overlooking the water and the room is right there in the middle of the square, so simple and so close to everything. We went to sleep at night with the window open so we could hear the ocean and see the clock tower across the plaza lit up at night. If you are doing a few nights in different cities in cinque terre I would say get a room with an amazing view of the ocean in Monterossa (you can see the beach, the ocean, and all the down the coast) and get this room in Vernazza. I was skeptical at first because I couldn't tell how good the view from the window was, but I can't say how much I wasn't disappointed upon arrival, and how totally charmed I was. Also, after 6 days of unfriendly Italians Giocomo was the friendliest, most helpful person (we had just lost our phone on the train and he called the station 3 different times, immediately, no one else would let us use a phone), he is so nice you will love him.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

What can I say that hasn't already been said about Maria and Giacomo?! They are amazing and their place is great. We stayed in the Cozy room for 4 nights and could not have asked for more. Maria and Giacomo are very accommodating and will answer any questions you have and offer restaurant and activity suggestions. They really are a sweet couple! As other reviewers have mentioned, there are quite a few stairs leading up to the cozy room. We had read the reviews and knew what we were getting into (which still did not force us to pack light), so beware of that issue if you are an overpacker!

Vernazza was our favorite of the Cinque Terre region and our favorite stop on our trip! We would definitely recommend staying here if you plan to visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the Charming room in early September. Giacomo met us and filled us in on the room as well as the town of Vernazza. The room is located right on the harbor and very near to many delicious restaurants. We slept with the window open at nights to hear the sounds of the town and water. The town is very active during the day and evening, however, it quiets down quickly. Each night we would get a bottle of wine and sit on the pier watching the sun go down. Giacomo encouraged us to keep attempting to speak in Italian and not be afraid to fail. We had the opportunity to go to their apartment and share some homemade limoncello. It was excellent along with their gracious personalities. I would highly recommend this location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay- we were on the last leg of our Hunnymoon touring around France and Italy and I booked 3 days in vernazza, as a restful end to a busy 8 days. It was perfect. The room is just what it says 'charming' and is in the best location in the town. Maria and Giacomo are lovely and came to say goodbye on our last night, it felt like leaving friends!
One reviewer complained about the lack of balcony! We just put two chairs outside, bought a bottle of lemonchello and watched the sunset, perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in the Charming Room and the Cozy Room for 3 nights at the beginning of July. The rooms are very adequate. The Charming Room is located right on the harbor. It is very nice in the morning to walk out when the town is so quiet and enjoy a cup of coffee while you watch the town come to life. The only thing that I would say I did not like about staying here is the lack of privacy and a place to sit outside that you can call your own. Maria and Giacomo are very nice people--no doubt, but for the money--you can find a place with a deck and a view of the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maria Capellini Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Capellini Rooms

Address: Piazza Marconi 26, Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Also Known As:
Maria Capellini Rooms Hotel Vernazza
Maria Capellini Rooms Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Capellini Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maria Capellini Rooms to your Saves list