We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*Quint accommodation in a beautiful village*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms La Torre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rooms La Torre to your Saves list
Rooms La Torre
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via Carattino, 64, 19018 Vernazza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“*Quint accommodation in a beautiful village*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived by the regional train after a long trip up from Rome. Knowing vaguely where our room was, we headed into the village. After seeing the La Torre sign, (and after reading reviews about the stairs), we prepared for the worst, especially with 14kg backpacks on our backs...
If you're at all prepared for the Cinque Terre hikes, let me just say...the stairs are a walk in the park!

We found a note from Andrea (the owner) just to welcome us and inform us that he would be up at the restaurant... However we found his mother and she gave us keys.

The room was tiny (literally a bed, a little bar fridge and a cupboard), the pillows were hard as rocks, but to stand on your balcony and experience the view that is Vernazza, it's all worth while. The room was clean and the shower was amazing!

Again, if you're looking for 5 star, this is certainly not the place. We found it a bit pricey for what you got, but certainly don't regret it staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Vernazza was our last stop on our whirlwind tour of Europe. We decided to come to the Cinque Terre because of all the wonderful things being said about it not to mention the views.

It was easy to find the "turnoff" from the main street to get to the room. We climbed and climbed and climbed some more to our room...(I think someone said something like 250 stairs) If you have heavy or a lot of luggage this would not be ideal. We were traveling with oversized backpacks and it was still a lot. We were shown to our room which I have to say I started laughing when I saw it! It was beyond small! It was big enough to have the double bed in it with about a foot of room at the bottom and then enough on the side that there was a refigerator. We had to stack our bags in the corner where it barely fit. The bathroom was small but clean. On the other hand the balcony was huge! At least twice the size of the room and the view---WOW is all I can say! I actually considered sleeping on the balcony in the lawn chairs!
This is one place that you definitely are in it for the view and not the room. Our balcony was also where the washer/dryer was located so we did have things on the line but it did not block our view. Our balcony also was "behind" another balcony which wasn't an issue but kind of felt we were intruding on the couple that was sitting on their balcony.
Annamarie wasn't very friendly and didn't say much. She did invite us to have dinner at the restaurant (her restaurant) at the top of the hill. She didn't tell us anything else as far as what time they opened, etc. We went up there to enjoy the sunset and grab a bite to eat, however the man that was up there (possibly her husband) was very RUDE and told us that where we were sitting was reserved. He didn't offer any other tables or anything. If we were supposed to have reservations then she should have told us when she invited us to the restaurant. This man actually really made me mad and Annamarie came up while we were trying to see if we could sit anywhere in the restaurant and just looked at us like she had no clue who we were (which I can normally understand since you have so many travelers, however we had just seen her about 15 minutes before that --so she knew who we were).

If you go to the Cinque Terre you obviously go for the view--I would probalby look around for another place to stay or for a bigger room if she had one available.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin, usa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were in the 2nd floor (small) room for 3 nights - 80 euro/night. First, the good things: 1) Great balcony/view that is hard to beat, 2) Fridge in the room, 3) Fan in the room, 4) Connection with a FABULOUS "bar" for breakfast that has just about the best view of Vernazza! (and serves outstanding coffee!). Now for the not-so-good: 1) The room is definitely tiny (about 1 foot on one side and bottom of the bed, 2) REALLY HARD pillows, 3) No personal care products in the bathroom, 4) 1 small window in the room, 5) Near the train station (so hear train noise). As others have noted, it is a long, uphill climb to reach La Torre (then another climb up the tight outside circular stairs) and there is very little space to put luggage. In the room is a bed, 1 tiny table and a small armoire/closet. If you are okay with "spartan" and value most a great balcony/view - then this is a totally fine place. May want to bring earplugs for the train noise, however! Go up to the bar any time of day for an outstanding view (plus great juice and mojitos) even if you don't stay at La Torre!!

Room Tip: I think the very top room may be a bit bigger! Also might feel more secure, as 2nd floor has the cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We rented the apartment for 3 nights at 80 euro a night. It was a bit of a hike uphill with our luggage and baby but without the extra weight it was a nice little hike. The apartment had a huge private balcony, small table and fridge with pullout couch on the first floor, a steep set of stairs leads to the main bed and bathroom. There is no AC but the fan and dehumidifer helps a lot and makes sleeping bearable. The apartment has no tv or wifi but considering where you're at we didn't miss it one bit. The views from the balcony were stunning and one of the best in the entire city. Breakfast was included at the cafe up the hill but we never made it there. This really is a average place to stay but the views and the balcony are a wonderful asset.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I paid €55 a night for a single with private bath that was an easy climb from the main street. The room had a lot to be desired. No view and it was damp with no a/c or fan. There was a dehumidifier which helped a lot though. The air there gets cool at night anyway. The room comes with breakfast at the bar La Torre up further up the hill. It consists of coffe, juice, and pastries. The Italians aren't big on breakfast. The view is the star though. The place is lovely and charming. The people are warm and friendly. The other rooms at La Torre are not priced much higher but have terraces to die for. The next time around I'm going to try and stay in one of those. Over all the room wasn't much, but I didn't go all the way to Vernazza to hang out in my room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed for three nights at La Torre in the small room at the very top of the hill May 1-3 2012. When you read the reviews describing the amazing views, I can tell you that they cannot be over stated. WOW! The large terrace is the place to hang out at night or in the morning to gather your quota of unbelievable sea views. This view does come at a price however. The walk up to our room was 250 steps from the main street. This is just short of climbing a ladder, and is not for the out of shape or for those who are traveling with lots of luggage. The room itself can barely accommodate two people, much less lots of luggage. We stored one bag in the closet and another under the bed. The bathroom is small but clean and well equipped. Make no mistake, the star of this show is the view. Vernazza was still digging out (literally) from the horrible mudslide disaster from October 2011, and was largely being avoided by overnight tourists. The town was full of day trippers curious to see the damage, so we had very quiet nights. There were probably six restaurants open in town while we were there, including the restaurant run by Annamaria at La Torre, which is about half way up the hill towards your room. They also operate a bar a bit higher up yet, which serves snacks and drinks with the same out-of-this-world views. We would probably chose to stay in one of the other apartments a bit lower on the trail next time, simply due to the climb. All-in-all, I recommend La Torre for a very unique experience.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the younger you should be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Walking...and then walking some more, goes with the territory in Cinque Terre. Most of the walking seems to be uphill. And when you get where you are going and it's time to turn around and go back - it still seems like it's uphill! But these walks are well worth the effort for those of us who really enjoy dramatic vistas with sweeping views of the Sea. Anna Maria and her son Andrea own and operate just such a place. When we arrived at our little apartment and saw the view from the patio, well, "breathtaking" is an almost understated reaction. The apartment that we stayed in had the fabulous view patio with an outdoor sink, a small room with a fridge, couch, and small dining table. The double bed and bath were downstairs in a small bedroom. We met two couples in town and decided to check out each others' rooms to see who had the best value. They came to our apartment first. "OK, you win!" was the response from the other travelers. This place was clean and with enough room to spread out a little. We cannot imagine a more impressive "room with a view" in Vernazza. Anna Maria and Andrea also operate a restaurant a little further up the hill with a similar commanding view. A great place, too!
Tim and Susan - Arizona

Room Tip: Ask for the "apartment with patio view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rooms La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms La Torre

Address: Via Carattino, 64, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rooms La Torre 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rooms La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms La Torre Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooms La Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.