We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic get-away atop a cliff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Valeria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Locanda Valeria to your Saves list
Locanda Valeria
Loc Comeneco Corniglia, 19018 Vernazza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“romantic get-away atop a cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

i asked for a night in Valeria for my birthday because it's my name in italian and because it looked so magnificent in the photos. since we researched, we knew it was out of the way and we LOVED that and prepared by bringing our own wine, cheese, bread & salami and enjoyed it at a picnic table on the cliff overlooking the sea at sunset. it is breath-taking! our room was gorgeous, great bed, terrific bathroom, fantastic breakfast. loved being amid the vineyards and able to take an evening walk up to san bernadino. we called from corniglia and a driver got us and was so nice & helpful. no problems checking in whatsoever. we were simply enchanted with our stay, very romantic & idyllic.

Room Tip: ask for a front room for a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were in Italy for two weeks and had a reservation to stay at this place after the first week. We drove up the winding, mountainous roads and were dead tired when we arrived but no one was there. The doors were locked. We tried to call but couldn't get through. We were stuck. We had to search to find a place that had a bed for 2 nights and eventually found one in Volastra (the lovely Luna di Marzo). When we got home we found they left a VM the DAY BEFORE our reservation date to say they overbooked and had no room. They didn’t call my cell but left a VM on our home phone as if we were there to get it. We later learned they own a restaurant in one of the towns and were busy working it. Someone offered to call them but by this time we wanted nothing to do with them. Also, this place does not serve breakfast. We had never been to Cinque Terre before and now know there is NO WHERE near this place to eat. I could go on but you get the picture and it wasn’t pretty.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Try the Luna di Marzo in Volastra. Beautiful view, great breakfast and nice people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Six of us booked two nights at Locanda Valeria in September 2012. When we arrived at the fork in the road to go to Vernazza, it was blocked by a barricade. No houses, no business, nothing to get info from. So we drove to Monterosso and called the hotel. He said "go to the barricade and stay until the road opens!". This was 4:30p and that area is isolated and the little roads to the hotel sounded difficult in daylight. What would it be like in darkness (it comes early in the mountains)? We said we had to cancel, he wouldn't hear of it. I called my booking agency and they couldn't do anything with him! We were among many that night searching for space in Monterosso! Finally found an apartment - two bedrooms, one bath, walking up a steep hill and then two flights of stairs. But, we had a good time and remained friends afterward! We put a hold on the charge but Visa could not even work with him! So we paid. But, thankfully, we had excellent insurance with Allianz and were reimbursed. Don't make our mistake - stay away from this hotel. The area of the Cinque Terre is beautiful, but best reached by ferry or train. All the other people we were in contact with were gracious and friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Wonderful and quiet place to stay located 50 min walking distance from Vernazza or Corniglia.
With a spendid seaview, a lovely terrasse but completely out of the two villages.
If no private car, you should ask the owner to pick you up/drop you off at the station of Corniglia.
Our room (with separate beds) didn't give a lot of living space but was very clean.
Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We booked three nights here. We called and talked to them in English, Spanish and French to confirm that we had three nights and they confirmed. When we arrived we confirmed again that we would be there for three nights. We paid 300 Euro for our three nights. After Night 2 we left to go on our romantic walk on the via del amore. Well halfway to town the wife of the guy who runs this place phones the guy who runs it and we can hear her yelling. So he turns around and brings us back to the hotel and the lady has thrown our stuff outside the hotel on the ground (she took our stuff and packed it into our bags for us... hello invasion of privacy). We get out and she starts yelling at us that we only had two nights...? So she gives us back 100 Euro and continues to yell at us. So we took our money and our stuff and went to Corniglia and stayed in a dumpy room with spiders that smelt like mould.

The room we had there wasn't half bad. Great view. The breakfast kind of sucked and closed early. However you need a vehicle really to go to this hotel. It is a 15 minute drive from cornigglia up a mountain. If you arrive by train to corniglia you will have to either pay to take a bus up to the top of the mountain where corniglia is or if you arrive at 11pm like we did you will have to walk 2km with your bags up the mountain to just get to the town. From there we by some stroke of luck found the guy who owned the hotel and he drove us to it. So you have to coordinate with this guy to come and go from the hotel which is very inconvenient. Probably the worst experience of our trip. They don't speak english and they don't care about the people staying there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE. The owners are not hoteliers and have no clue how to manage and care for paying customers. You must rely on the owner for the "Shuttle Service" and it's on their schedule not yours. The shuttle is the owner's vehicle. When we arrived in Corniglia we called the hotel and luckily a person who speaks little english was able to express that the shuttle would arrive in a few minutes. The 4 of us packed into a Volkswagen Rabbit with the driver and all our luggage.

The owner's friend came and drove us to the hotel which is really a poor example of a B&B. There are no services nearby. The location is high up and very far from the town of Corniglia. Yes, you could walk to town (you really need your own car) but why walk such a long distance on a road with no pedestrian walking area and when you could making better use of your travel time like experiencing the many other wonders of Cinque Terre in much better and convenient locations.

As far as the shuttle service goes, you must rely on the owner to take you into town or back home. We returned to Corniglia one day at 5:00 and had to wait until 7:30 in order to get driven up to the hotel. It took us over an hour to get in touch with anyone related to the hotel. No customer service to assist you whatsoever. If you are lucky, someone might answer the phone at the Locanda Valeria. That evening we had to wait until one of the family restaurants opened in order to get in touch with someone for a ride back to the hotel.

The owner's have 2 restaurants in town, conveniently owned by their family, that they "suggest" to you and will gladly take you to. The food was mediocre at best for other places we experienced.

We had booked a sea view room, and were charged for it. What we got was a view of Grandma's cottage, yet had paid for a sea view room. Yes, if I poked my head out the window and leaned out a bit around the corner I could see the ocean. I took photos (not uploaded yet) to prove the difference in the rooms - our friends had a sea view room and the differences were significant. The rooms were different in size and all of their amenities worked. A reviewer from Oct. 10 must have stayed in the same room as we did because we too had the broken soap dispensers that were filled with watered down soap.

Forget about getting an extra towel, pillow or soap. Once breakfast is over - there is no one you can call upon for any services. On top of all of this - there is no phone in the room to contact anyone. Should you have an emergency in the middle of the night - good luck! There is no place to go for help. You are really on your own.

Worst "hotel" experience (that is a poor concept of a "B&B") ever! Find another place to stay - there are many.

Note: Even in light of the recent disaster in the area, I feel very strongly in giving my review.

Room Tip: Make sure you get it in writing from the owner directly that a room facing the ocean will be reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Great location, a car is a must. The hiking trail is just below the property. We hiked to Corniglia at sunset, the guy running the place picked us up after a great dinner and a bottle of wine. They did make a mistake on our room and we got twin beds with no view, we only stayed one night , so it was forgiveable, and the service made up for it! The breakfast was nice, the lady makes a great cup of cappucino.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Valeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Valeria

Address: Loc Comeneco Corniglia, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage suffered in the October 2011 mudslide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Valeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Valeria Hotel Vernazza
Locanda Valeria Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Valeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.