We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal on the trip so far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria da Sandro

Trattoria da Sandro
via Roma, 60, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
0187 812223‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 29 Restaurants in Vernazza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal on the trip so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We've been pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food in the Cinque Terre (as compared to near Lago di Como). Our favorite so far has been Tratorria da Sandro. The waitstaff was polite, friendly, and English-speaking (though kind enough to let me practice my Italian instead). In addition, the food was quite good. We had trofie al pesto (a local specialty - yum!), insalata caprese (it's not really tomato season yet, but it was still good, and artfully presented), spaghetti al ragu (bolognese - to please the 7-year-old), swordfish with vegetables (yum!) and best of all: minestrone all genovese con pesto, another local specialty. We finished off with apple cake and apricot torte, both also good. We would come back here in a minute!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    64
    28
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced with Mediocre Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Having looked at several of the restaurants Vernazza had to offer, we settled on Trattoria da Sandro after seeing the wide variety of fish and seafood on the menu. At 7pm, we were the only diners that the harried waiter and (presumably) owner/manager had to serve. After giving us our basket of bread, the waiter disappeared into the kitchen, leaving us without any plates. I got the owner's attention and requested a plate for pouring olive oil onto for bread-dipping. She looked at me confusedly, then said, "No, we do not do this in Italy." I was like ooookay. I would still like the plate, though. (Further research later suggested that the oil and vinegar bread-dipping is indeed an American habit brought to Italy by tourists, so fair enough. But still, if a customer asks for a plate, just give it to them without the patronizing looks and head shaking).

We ordered the mixed fried fish plate, a traditional Ligurian dish made from potatoes, anchovies, etc., swordfish (very good) and calamari (okay), with caprese salads on the side (again, good). The mixed fried fish plate turned out to be fruite de mare, with shrimp, anchovies, and calamari, but no fish to be seen. This could just be something that's lost in translation, but since the rest of the menu seemed to be translated well, this was somewhat confusing. Except for this dish, all of the other portions were quite small. I know that Italians typically order more than one course, so the portion size is understandable, but we still expected more for the price we paid. Two starters, two mains and two glasses of wine came to about €100. We also asked about dessert, since the menu displayed outside offered a number of options, but were told that the only desserts available were two half-eaten, dry looking cakes near the register. When asked, the waiter and owner couldn't tell us what happened to the other desserts advertised on the menu, only saying that these cakes was all they had. Disappointed, we skipped dessert here. I can't speak for other restaurants in Vernazza, but I would hazard a guess that you would get better food for a better price someplace else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We visited Vernazza offseason in March and this was one of the few places open the night we arrived. We had the ravioli with walnut sauce and trophie pasta with pesto. Both the dishes were just brilliant especially the ravioli. Definitely among the best food we had on the Italy trip.
The portions however were on the smaller side. 5 stars for the food, 1 less for the small portions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming Vernazza Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

After reviewing many reviews of Vernazza restaurants we decided to give Trattoria De Sandro a shot. We made a reservation earlier in the day and confirmed that they accepted credit cards. The staff which consisted of two front of house people were friendly, accommodating, and despite being noticeably busy, performed a great balance of being informative & helpful. We started with the ravioli with walnut sauce which was creamy, well seasoned, and not overly filling. Very good. Despite ordering what I though was the octopus salad, I received an antipasto plate of three different house selections. A cod based portion in an herbaceous sauce, a ricotta soufflé with a pepper tomato sauce and a forgettable fish custard that was dry but not terrible. All in all it was delightful. Just make sure you know what you are ordering if you don't speak much italian. It's your own fault if you don't specify what you want. Our entrees consisted of a frito misto of calamari, shrimp, sardines, and vegetables which was quite delicious and light for fried fare. The swordfish with stewed vegetables was also delicious without being mind-blowing but the simplicity was what made the dish memorable. We enjoyed a bottle of sparkling Gavi which went nicely with our food but I would have gone with a Vermentino in retrospect. I would return here again and found the food to be fairly priced and the service to be above average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a must even it is doesn't have an ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The food itself was very good. They certainly put in great efforts. The fresh anchovies were very tasty and the stuffed mussels were also very good. Being not at the best season for fresh mussels, this was certainly a good idea. The service was nice too. Although the restaurant is not anywhere near the sea, but the quality of the food makes it definitely a worthy place to visit. After all, one can always get a gelato later sitting by the ocean.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Sandro also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria da Sandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria da Sandro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.