We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria da Sandro

Trattoria da Sandro
via Roma, 60, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
0187 812223‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Vernazza
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

In a small tourist town like Vernazza, I find the dining values can be challenging. Trattoria da Sondro was a breath of fresh air. We had the local anchovies (awesome!) and the pesto pasta (also awesome), accompanied by a very reasonably priced and outstanding Rosso di Montalcino. The deck seating was great for watching people and enjoying the evening breeze. Very nice treat after a long day of hiking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    59
    24
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

3 of us had lunch here just before they were closing. they were very kind in letting us get our order in as we really only wanted a salad. salad was large and very fresh. great place for a quite bite in between lots of walkings

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“The best tuna fish ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We saw that this was a family owned restaurant and we went for a dinner here, in order to get some authentic, local dishes. I took trofie pasta, which was excellent, and my husband wanted to try some other specific dish. The waiter, however, very politely, presented us what he had special that day, respectively a very fresh tuna fish. My husband ended up taking that and it turned out to be the best tuna fish ever eaten anywhere else. The presentation of the food, the service and the atmoshpere were all perfect and it all created a very special evening for us in Vernazza. Definitely eat here for an authentic meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Completely stumbled on this. On last legs after hiking from Monterossa and just took a chance. Boy what a good decision. Delicious fish, flavorful food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a typical trattoria family owned. The atmosphere is very italian and wellcoming. We absolutely recommend what we had here: pasta (trofie?) with pesto, then stuffed mussels and fried calamari... to conclude with their gelato. By chance some locals pointed us this little trattoria, not easy to find, but just perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Sandro also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria da Sandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria da Sandro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.