We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Vernazza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camere Fontanavecchia di AnnaMaria Meregoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camere Fontanavecchia di AnnaMaria Meregoni to your Saves list
Camere Fontanavecchia di AnnaMaria Meregoni
Via Gavino, 15, 19018 Vernazza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Vernazza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2013. Cinque Terre was amazing and the best vacation spot we've been to. Of all the villages, we liked Vernazza the best. It was big enough to have a good restaurant and hotel selection, but small enough that it wasn't plagued with touristy T-shirt shops along the streets. Felt like an authentic Italian village that hasn't been corrupted by tourism, but has adapted to the point where nearly everyone speaks excellent English and caters to american tourists like us. This hotel provided everything we needed, a comfortable bed and a safe place to keep our stuff while we were out on the trails all day. It doesn't have a great view and is located a little bit away from the village center, but none of that mattered to us. We spent hardly any time at the hotel, and all the best views are on the trails anyway so there's no point in our opinion to paying double for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel if you plan to be out exploring the villages and trails and would rather save a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We enjoyed our 2-night stay in a large (by Italy standards), up-to-date, and very clean room. We had the one room which has a separate bathroom (dedicated to the room) across the hall, but it wasn't a big inconvenience. The location is a two minute gentle walk uphill on the main road from the train station, and although there is no view and it is separate from the "main drag" (minutes away), we preferred the quieter location. The best part of the location is that the outstanding Il Parata breakfast/food/Sicilian pastry place is across the street.

There is some reconstruction noise during the day from adjacent properties, and the wireless internet wasn't working (but Il Parata kept their Internet on at night for people). These are minor inconveniences when you consider the horrific flood that these people have been through in 2011. Go to this town, enjoy it (it was our favorite on our trip), and spend money there so that they can continue to recover from their tragedy.

Anna Maria is amazingly responsive via email, and speaks English very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I, my husband, and my newly-retired parents spent two nights here in early June. We found these accommodations to meet our needs very well. The town and surrounding area is so quaint and beautiful that we spent very little time in our room, but it was a nice place to stay nonetheless. We really liked its location. Up the hill and away from the bars and restaurants down by the harbor (but still just minutes from everything in Vernazza), and with a small mountain stream outside our window, it was quiet and oasis-like. We also made use of the laundromat just across the street. As this was the half-way point in our trip, it made for a great opportunity to get a load of laundry done (without having to cart it through city blocks of a bigger city.). We would recommend these accomodaions to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were traveling with 2 other couples and after reading reviews we booked 3 rooms at Camere Fontana Vecchia. Annamarie's daughter met us at the train station and the walk to the hotel was very short. Amazingly enough, you do not hear the frequent trains go by - the rooms were very quiet and clean. So many places in Vernazza are reached by climbing steep narrow stairs, another plus to this hotel as it has few steps. All 6 of us agreed it was a great place to stay in Vernazza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Vernazza is a tiny town with one main street. Fontanavecchia is near the top end, closeby the train station. No steps means no ocean view. This suited us fine as there are plenty of places to go for a drink or dinner with a view.

Annamaria is welcoming, efficient and knowledgable, out of sight but always contactable. She supplies everything in her rooms she thinks you may need for a comfortable stay. She will meet you at the train station if you wish.

Walk across the little bridge to the front door. Our room was neat with funky tiles and cute lamps, the bed had a nice light featherdown quilt. There was a mini fridge, tea and coffee facilities and two wine glasses. The ensuite bathroom was small but very functional. Good free wifi reception.

Breakfast was perfect across the road at at Il Pirate. "The Canoli Twins" are a class act. They serve fine, freshly squeezed, blood orange juice from Sicily and pastries to die for.

Vernazza was "special" The locals have done a wonderful job of rebuilding since the flood of 2011. Have a drink by the harbour in the afternoon. For sublime views take the path up towards Corniglia walking/climbing for 10 minutes just before sunset and have a drink at La Torre.

Camere Fontanavecchia is a winner. We would defiantely stay again.

Room Tip: In summer, I would request the room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Vernazza was the highlight of my recent trip to Italy, and Anna Maria's hotel was amazing. I was a bit worried as the reviews were a couple years old, and was unsure if the flood impacted older reviews that raved about this hotel, only a short walk up the hill from the train station. Nothing to worry about as Annamaria was so lovely and helpful. Fortunately, her place has been restored, although construction continues in the area. Our room had a balcony which was wonderful for early morning reading and nights drinking delicious local wine to recover from hiking. It was very clean, had a new bathroom, and was equipped with a very small refrigerator and hot pot. Across the street is Il Pirate which is not to be miss for delicious pastries, coffee in the morning (and great food lunch and dinner) as well as the friendly entertainment from the owners. I cannot wait to return to Vernazza and will stay with Camere Fontanvecchia again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This inn was recommended by Rick Steves and it offered everything we wanted....cleanliness, serenity and away from the crowds! It was simple but pristine and Annamaria is very helpful. The breakfast place, Il Pirata is just across the street and as mentioned, offers entertainment from the twin brothers/owners as well as delicious sicilian pastries and fruit slushes! Although it is close to the station, we were not bothered by the noise and slept wonderfully. This was the most comfortable bed that we experienced in our 2 week trip. Cinque Terre is just magical and was clearly my favorite stop of the 5 cities we visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camere Fontanavecchia di AnnaMaria Meregoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere Fontanavecchia di AnnaMaria Meregoni

Address: Via Gavino, 15, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camere Fontanavecchia di AnnaMaria Meregoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camere Fontanavecchia Di Annamaria Meregoni Hotel Vernazza
Camere Fontanavecchia Di AnnaMaria Meregoni Vernazza, Italy - Cinque Terre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camere Fontanavecchia di AnnaMaria Meregoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.