We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Pirata” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre

Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre
Via gavino 36, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
0187 812047
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Vernazza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Il Pirata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I happened upon this quaint, picturesque small restaurant at the top of the hill in Vernazza. The brothers who own the restaurant are very entertaining and love what they do. We had what they suggested for us and the food was excellent. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    129
    45
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best In Vernazza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spend 3 days in Vernazza, and loved this Restaurant! We had breakfast here every morning and also had a awesome supper one night. The two brothers are very friendly and speak great English. Would recommend this Restaurant highly! The pastries are exceptional and the best we had in Italy.

Maureen B

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ask for Ana Maria Braga's pastry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a restaurant where focus is on quality and atmosphere, not on quantity. For me this is one of the pearls to eat. And, after your lunch/dinner please take Ana Maria Braga's pastry as that is awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place! We thought it was a hokey bar when we saw it while doing laundry next door, the pirate out front gives that impression. But, so far the best food and service we've had in Italy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Entertaining Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The twin Sicilian brothers that run this place are a riot. We had a lot of fun with them. They speak English (and Spanish) very well and made sure we felt comfortable.

Their breakfasts are fantastic as they make an incredible variety of fresh pastries. They have a hot chocolate dessert that's served with ice cream (basically a hot fudge sundae) that is amazing. Their cannolis are also delicious -- I'd stick with the ricotta filled one as the cream-filled was a little too sweet for us.

Also, never tell them that you ate an 'American breakfast' at Blue Marlin. They'll lecture you forever on how you should eat Italian while in Italy. :)

We also had dinner here and the food was very delicious. I had a lasagne al pesto and it's to die for. After all, pesto's birthplace is found within the region.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.