We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre

Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre
Via gavino 36, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
0187 812047
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Vernazza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place! We thought it was a hokey bar when we saw it while doing laundry next door, the pirate out front gives that impression. But, so far the best food and service we've had in Italy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    129
    45
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Entertaining Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The twin Sicilian brothers that run this place are a riot. We had a lot of fun with them. They speak English (and Spanish) very well and made sure we felt comfortable.

Their breakfasts are fantastic as they make an incredible variety of fresh pastries. They have a hot chocolate dessert that's served with ice cream (basically a hot fudge sundae) that is amazing. Their cannolis are also delicious -- I'd stick with the ricotta filled one as the cream-filled was a little too sweet for us.

Also, never tell them that you ate an 'American breakfast' at Blue Marlin. They'll lecture you forever on how you should eat Italian while in Italy. :)

We also had dinner here and the food was very delicious. I had a lasagne al pesto and it's to die for. After all, pesto's birthplace is found within the region.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, friendly entertaining staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

When we first arrived we were lost and even with tables to attend to they helped us find our hotel we didn't even need to ask!

The twins that run this place are so passionate about food, it radiates through the food, the restaurant and the overall service. We were lucky enough to have this restaurant at the front of our accommodation. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner there over the course of our stay, all were exceptional and we were even given free samples of the food to try. They also made such an effort to get to know all of the customers, will return again some day! This place is unmissable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ristorante Panoramico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Dropping down the hiking trail into Vernazza from Corniglia, you will come to "Ristorante Panoramico" hanging on the cliffs high above the city. Have a seat and enjoy this million dollar view of the city and coastline. Amazing!,

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendliest Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ate here for both breakfast and dinner while staying in Vernazza. The twins who run the place were the friendliest people we met the whole time in Italy. He took the time to "make friends" with each and every table, yet still have prompt service and amazing food. The pastries were melt-in-your-mouth good. The gnocci was also great. It is a little ways off the main road, but worth the very short walk. Make it a priority to find this place!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pirata delle Cinque Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.