We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Wold Charm with New World Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Baia di Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Baia di Rio
Via Telemaco Signorini #177, Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Riomaggiore
Rancho California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old Wold Charm with New World Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Riomaggiore. Emiliano and his Mother, Maristella, make you feel like you've come to visit family! They were extremely helpful and gracious. No need to research what to see or where to eat, because they will provide you with the precise information needed to do what you want in the time you have there.

Keeping in mind that the buildings in Riomaggiore have stood for hundreds of years, Baia di Rio is exceptionally clean, inviting and adapted to today's standards. The view from the Abel Tasman room balcony is irresistible and we found ourselves enjoying is much of the time we were back in the room both day and night!

Room Tip: The Abel Tasman room has views of the sea, the town and the mountins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    59
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
159
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in the James Cook "suite". It was basically a room with a mini kitchen in a closet on the side (sink, two burners, small fridge). The mini kitchen did come in handy because there were storms the one night and we didn't want to trek all the way up and down into town, so we made some pasta for dinner.

The room was basic with all that we needed. The shower was the tiny kind you find on cruise ships. We only had two rolls of toilet paper for three nights and were down to our last square when we left.

The views from the room were wonderful. We mostly had a view of the hill and town. If we looked off to the side, we got a beautiful glimpse of the water. I loved just watching life in the town. I'm so glad we stayed in Riomaggiore rather than the much busier and touristy Monteroso.

The directions to the room weren't as clear as they could have been. We mistakenly went through the tunnel to the right of the train station and ended up taking the long way to the room (steep hill and steps). It would have been clearer if we were told to just proceed straight from the station up the road/hill in front of the station and do not go into the main town through the tunnel. There aren't any stairs in this direction (but the hill is high going up, so be prepared for dragging luggage uphill for 1/4 mile).

The room is really high up in the town. The benefit is the gorgeous view. The bad part is that you have a hike (up hills or stairs) to get there. We tried to do only two trips up a day... one after our day of touring and one after dinner. From the marina (where we had dinner twice), it was about 187 steps to our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in April - wow. I loved the fact that we could do some laundry in the sink and hang it outside like everyone else. The views from the balcony are superb - we stayed in the James Cook suite. It is quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. There is a tiny kitchenette in the room - the fridge was handy. Bathroom is small - standard European. VERY clean. WiFi was good, and Emiliano even helped us get our luggage up the stairs. This little place is a tad difficult to find, as the main street isn't signposted well when coming out of the train station. We ended up slogging our cases up the main street hill - talk about aerobic! Loved the fact that we were right next to the path going down to the train - our favorite thing to do was to watch the sun set. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well run place. Friendly owners. Top notch views. Very romantic. Steps away from a park bench overlooking the Ligurian Sea. My girlfriend and I would take a bottle of wine and two glasses there at sunset every night. The best memories and photos of 3 weeks in Italy were taken here. Listen to Emiliano or his mothers recommendations on restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here two nights, and we were very happy with the accommodations. Friendly, informative and cheerful service...clean quality room with a gorgeous view from the balcony...moments to the restaurants and shops below. We loved every moment here, thanks to Emiliano and La Baia di Rio!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Christopher Columbus room for two nights. When we booked the room Emiliano immediately sent us a very detailed email on how to walk to the place from the train station and other important information for our travel. When we arrived she was waiting for us in front of the place and gave us a quick background on the town, good places to eat, free-wifi paswords, and her thoughts on walking the trails vs. taking the boat. She was extremely nice and said that she could be reached on email at any time in case we had problems (although she doesn't live there). We actually didn't have a corkscrew one day and she showed up with one minutes later after emailing her!! The room was extremely clean and large, and had a great balcony view of the hillside and water which was perfect for us to relax on after all that walking! The location is great as well because you can watch sunsets from the benches on the path just steps out the front door, and there are steps right next to it that bring you right into the center of town (they are steep but it was a good workout after eating all that pasta!). We liked the fact that there was no concierge or staff always around which made it feel like it was OUR apartment (It is extremely safe and we never had any problems). We were very fortunate to have amazing weather and will defintely stay here again on our next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our stay at La Baia di Rio was amazing! Emiliano and his mother were absolutely fantastic hosts! They met us at the entrance when we arrived to Riomaggiore and guided us to parking and the hotel (parking is usually 25euro/night in the Public Parking, but La Baia di Rio has their own mini parking garage where they provide guests with free parking!)... Upon walking to the hotel, we were well informed by them of everything we needed to know for our stay including things to do (hiking to each village of the Cinque Terre) and even where to eat in the village for dinner and that we ought to make a reservation for one of the top restaurants there ...thanks for the tip because you were right on! We rented the Abel Tasman room... trust me, the view by far succeeds any price you can put on it. The view is simply breathtaking and the room and hotel was spotless - so clean and very very comfortable. I promise you, if you stay here ... there is no disappointment. There was not one thing we didn't enjoy about staying at La Baia di Rio ... I look forward to coming back here one day, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Baia di Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia di Rio

Also Known As:
La Baia Di Rio Hotel Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Address: Via Telemaco Signorini #177, Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baia di Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Baia di Rio to your Saves list