We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna di Marzo

Save Saved
You added Luna di Marzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna di Marzo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montello 387, 19010 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Riomaggiore
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

this is my first day here and is unbelievable ... the view is amazing ... it was a long trip to get here (from Milan to here using the train ) but completely worth it ... And the service is great also the food :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Luna di Marzo during August 2012, we found it to be a great hotel in a small, quiet town just outside Manarola. Even though the hotel is not in Riomaggiore itself, we were actually happier, as the little town of Volastra is very nice and quiet (bare in mind we could only find one restaurant (good by the way) in Volastra and the bus service up from Manarola stopped quite early, so if you wanted to go out late at night, this might not be the place for you).

While it wasn't in the centre of one of the big five towns, it was the perfect place to start the hike throughout Cinque Terre. Actually, I think the best walk was from the hotel to Corniglia, through the vineyards while still overlooking the sea, it was absolutely amazing. The main route from Manarola to Corniglia was closed during our stay anyway, so this was the perfect location for us. From Corniglia we were able to walk the coastal route through to Monterosso.

The hotel was clean, the room was large and the breakfast was great!

The service was good, i would definitely recommend this hotel for a couple..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this property for 4 nights and truly enjoyed our entire stay. The service was great; the room was very nice, the views were spectacular, and the location was perfect. True, this hotel is not in Riomaggiore, but for us that was a big plus. Riomaggiore, along with the other 4 villages that make up Cinque Terre are all crowded and noisy. Volastra (where Luna di Marzo is located) is very peaceful and not overrun with tour groups. It is an easy bus ride (less than 10 minutes) down to Manarola where you can catch the boat or train to all the other villages. Also, if you are adventurous, there are trails that you can hike to the other villages. There is only one restaurant in Volastra, so you have to do dinner early if you want to catch the last bus from Manarola to Volastra. There is a great little deli type store just down from the hotel that serves great home-made dishes that you can get to take away and eat on the beautiful deck at the hotel and enjoy the sunset. I would definitely return and would recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful setting with great views.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

My worst experience in years travelling. First of all the hotel is not in Riomaggiore but in a very small town. To go to Riomaggiore you need about 10 min in car and there is a bus service that takes half an hour. First lie. Second lie: the breeakfast. Usually breakfasts anywhere in Italy are abundant and delicious. We were the second couple there are got 2 small, old crossaints, a piece of jam and two watered coffees. The last and worst lie: the service. The owner seems to be the only person in service and apparently he hates it because he mistreat us from beginning to end. Since yelling at us for taking a cup during "breakfast" (while he was busy on his desk) to applying very unfair rates. This hotel is a scam and gives a bad reputation to a paradise like Cinque Terre. Save yourself and choose someplace else in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManarolaVolastra, Responsabile reception at Luna di Marzo, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Good morning.
We preferred to make some clarifications to this review:
On our official website and 'clearly indicated the location of the hotel. Shuttle service and car takes about 5 minutes to cover the stretch of 1.8 km from the weigh in Manarola. Taking the footpath (no. 6d) about 25 minutes. A continental breakfast is served from 08.00 to 10.00, for those who decide to have breakfast after this time we offer coffee cappuccino croissant marmalade and fruit juice. The lords have warned of their early departure at 16.00 the same day, so we charged for the night because 'in October and' impossible to rent again room.We are in agreement with the gentlemen in defining the Cinque Terre, but a paradise to live with a completely different spirit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

First I would like people to know that Luna Di Marzo is in Volastra and not the town of Riomaggiore. This town has only one restaurant however there is a shuttle bus that will bring you to Manorella from where you can take the train to visit the different areas of CInque Terre and also to eat at different restaurants but the shuttle stops at 7:45 p.m. so you are back at the hotel at 8 p.m. with a t.v. that is only Italian except for one channel. Now for the hotel. We had the room with the balcony, Amazing views very clean room, lovely bathroom but unfortunately the soundproofing of this hotel is terrible. You can hear everything Showers, toilets flushing people talking. Once all the guest are sleeping it is very quiet for no noise from outside .As for the welcoming it was terrible. We had the impression that the hotel manager who is the owner hated his job. Very sullen and seem to hate to be disturbed. For example: The first morning we were there we found out that the breakfast was buffet. The manager was sitting at his computer and merely pointed at the food that was set out on a small table. The utensils were praticly hidden from view. So we went to get what we needed to eat outside .My husband pourred 2 glasses of orange juice and the manager arrived very annoyed at him for doing so .He was the one who poured the juice and coffee. How were we to know? All the other hotels ,the personnel comes to ask you what you want to drink . The next day we waited and he was sighing the whole time he was preparing the coffee. As beautiful as the views are from the hotel I do not recommend it

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My 21-year-old daughter and I stayed here for two nights. The views are incredible and the gardens and vineyards surrounding the hotel are lovely. The room was spacious and very well maintained. The breakfast was very good. But the reason I am taking the time to write a review is because we received outstanding service from Eugenio. Due to poor planning on my part, we had a bit of a problem, but Eugenio came to our rescue and resolved it for us. I would love to stay at Luna di Marza again, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind scheduling their time around the bus service. I think the beauty of this place more than makes up for any inconvenience due to remoteness.

Room Tip: Room number 8 has the best balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed at Luna di Marzo for three nights. Hotel is located in Volastra, up the hill from Manarola. Overall, it is a comfortable and decent hotel, however its location has some drawbacks.
First the positives
1) the view is amazing. On top of the hill looking out over the Mediterranean with Manarola to your left and Corniglia to your right.
2) Rooms are modern and comfortable
3) Breakfast is simple, but decent - continental breakfast with the option of scrambled eggs
4) Staff are friendly
5) Nice hikes down to Manarola and Corniglia (25 mins and 1 hour respectively)

The negatives:
All about the remoteness of the location. Volastra is a good 40min+ hike straight up hill from Manarola. There is a shuttle bus which links Manarola to Volastra - comes every half an hour or so and costs €1.80 per trip (unless you have unlimited travel included in your Cinque Terra Pass). Also, the shuttle bus stops at 7pm each night which makes dinner decisions difficult.
Currently there are no eating options in Volastra as the one restaurant in under renovation.
If you choose to eat in Manarola, the hotel manager, Eugenio will kindly drive down to pick you up when you are ready. Just make sure you let him know that you plan to eat out before you do so. Given the inconvenience of dragging Eugenio down to pick you up, one feels slightly reluctant to stay out too late (have dinner anywhere other than Manarola/have a drink after dinner)

Overall a decent hotel, but one needs to be mindful of potential inconveniences to wait for shuttle/organise pick-up from Manarola to Volastra. If you have a car then the hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna di Marzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna di Marzo

Address: Montello 387, 19010 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna di Marzo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of the hotel offers a wonderful sight of Cinque Terre and the sea. On our panoramic terrace, we prepare a typical Italian breakfast far away from any noise or stress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Luna di Marzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Di Marzo Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna di Marzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.