We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS PLACE -- We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda del Sole to your Saves list
Locanda del Sole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE -- We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

This place is awesome. I booked it for a vacation in August due to reviews from this website and it was the cheapest place I could find in Cinque Terre at the time @ 120 euros/night. It is peaceful and serene, located at the very top of the hill in Riomaggiore.

That is the one of two downsides to this location. The hill is not very large by CA standards, but it is steep! Of course we were there in August when it was humid, so it made walking up the hill with luggage pure torture, and I run approximately 12 miles a week. There is a shuttle bus that will pick you up at the bottom of the hill, for I think 1.5 euros, and it is worth it if you have bags. Otherwise, you should be good.

The other downside is the showers are TINY. I am 5'2" and it was tight for me. My boyfriend that is 6'3" could barely fit!

In order to book, go to the website and e-mail Enrico, the hotel owner. His English is excellent and he's a great person. Each room comes with a semi-private terrace and breakfast is available in the lobby every morning. Enrico is a fabulous host and will give you great advice on what to do when you are there, if you need it.

The rooms are clean and modern, and again the terrace is awesome. We used our terrace every night, drinking local wine and smoking cigars, while we were there. Not to mention, this terrace is where my fiancee proposed. The perfect place! I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Relaxing environment
  • Disliked — The tiny shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    68
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
113
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

this was very plain, functional accomodation, with nothing of the charm that other reviewers referred to. The place is a modern building located next to the main car park of Riomaggiore, at the very top edge of the village, and surrounded by other very large modern buildings with limited views of Riomaggiore itself. The owner is a kind and helpful guy, but if you are looking for a romantic getaway or a place with Cinque Terre character, this is not the place for you.
We had a terrace to sit in from which we "enjoyed" a long argument of an italian family at high volume in a nearby house. The place was clean and non descriptive. I have no other places to suggest in Riomaggiore. I would not go back to la Locanda del Sole.

  • Liked — the owner's kindness
  • Disliked — the location and the fact that it is a new compound with no caracter
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

Rooms were clean and include a fridge. Our room (on the top floor, room 1) had a ocean view. Free Wifi. Enrico and his wife were wonderful and helpful hosts. They tend the espresso bar at breakfast and work-up some amazing hot brews.
After a long day of trekking CinqueTerre, we always looked forward to our return to Locanda del Sole. We highly recommend this inn.
Greg & Lani

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We weren't sure what location was best in Cinque Terre but decided to try Riomaggiore-it's the southern most village and perhaps the most down to earth and basic.
we stayed here and loved the owner Enrico. The place was clean, had a terrace and a good breakfast and private parking. It is a bit of a hike up but we were happy there.
http://www.locandadelsole.net

  • Liked — clean and great owner
  • Disliked — the hike up
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Locanda del Sole was a most enjoyable place to stay in Riomaggiore, in large part due to the service provided by our host Enrico. He picked us up at the train station in La Spezia, which saved us a transfer from one train to another with our luggage. A delicious breakfast was served every morning, which included a selection of fruit, cereal and pastry, and espresso/cappucino made to order. The rooms were spotlessly clean and there is no smoking allowed in the rooms. A minibar in the room contained beer and soft drinks at a reasonable price. There is a walk up the hill to the hotel, and then a climb up some steps to the rooms, but the reward is a beautiful view of the town below from the patio, which is a nice place to sit and read or just relax.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The climb
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

This hotel was quaint, very comfortable and clean. Ask for a room at the top with a terrace.

Enrico, the owner, was extremely personable and very helpful. We had a great stay at Locanda del Sole and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. We will return to this place again.

  • Liked — clean, personable owner
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

We first visited this Locanda last September and now on our second visit we were welcomed like long lost friends by Enrico and his family
Sat at the top of the Village you have a great view down to the coast and up to the hills above.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the really good breakfast sets you up for the day.
We have found this an ideal location for walking the area. This time we took the train to St Marheritta then a number 82 bus to Portofino. an excellent day out. A walk through the public gardens to Castello Brown is a must for views
Also walked to Levento from Montorosso which was a lovely walk and less busy than the other paths and equally as spectacular.
The whole area is virtually carfree and the locals are very keen to keep the villages and tracks in good condition
For eating out we had some great food in Restaurant Via L'Amore just to the left when you leave the station. This is where the locals eat and is very friendly
Can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Convenience and great food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole

Address: Via Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Locanda Del Sole Hotel Riomaggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.