We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda del Sole to your Saves list
Locanda del Sole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a great host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a very steep climb from the train station, I was relieved to be met by Enrico at the front gate of this charming B&B. I recommend the bus for the faint hearted! It wasn't so much the venue that we found so amazing, as the owner - Enrico! He couldn't have been more helpful and cheerful and it felt really comfortable coming back to the hotel to be welcomed by his beaming smile at the end of a big day out. Loved staying here - but you've been warned regarding the hill !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    70
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
119
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Enrico was a wonderful host and he has a nice hotel. The rooms were clean and well appointed. We stayed 2 days and were happy with our choice. Note that while the hotel is within walking distance, it is mostly up a STEEP hill. If you have lots of luggage, you might want to take the local bus or a cab from the station in Riomaggiore. Breakfast was delightful although we would have appreciated it to be served earlier in the morning. We wanted to get out on the hiking trails early in the day due to the heat, and breakfast hours did not begin until 8:30, very late for American standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband suffers from a cardiac condition that requires a hospital visit to sort out. While staying in Riomaggiore at this wonderful hotel, we had an unexpected occurence of this problem. After discussing it with our host he organised for his wife to take us to the nearest town in their car so we could attend the hospital there. He was kindness itself as was his wife even tho our Italian is almost non existent, he made phone calls and sought advice for us that was far and away past what we would have expected. Enrico and Maria take a bow, you have made our trip to Italy with your warm hospitality and your desire to please. We had a magnificent stay with you and would definitely recommend your hotel to anyone planning a visit to this wonderful scenic part of Italy. Enrico concluded his kindness by making sure we were safely taken to the station to carry on out trip without the need to carry our bags down the hill. We had the most wonderful breakfasts, beautiful evenings out on the patio outside our room and our every need was looked after with a smile and a joke. A truly memorable visit. thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower terrace if you travel with lots of luggage.This is a town built on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korumburra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in May. The hotel is clean, beds abit soft, but the owner Enrico is a delightful man, who went out of his way to help us. Even when it appeared that there may have been a train strike on the day we were leaving, he offered to drive us to the main station early in the morning. Luckily the strike did not eventuate.If you don't like stairs - this is not the hotel for you. We were on the top level - a climb of 64 stairs but ok for us. Thank you Enrico for making the stay hassel free!

Room Tip: ask for a room on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and two adult children stayed here May 20-21, 2013. The hotel is located at nearly the top of the road in this small town. The owner, Enrico greeted us by name each time he saw us and gave us advice on what to do during our short stay. The rooms were very clean and the view from our deck was spectacular! Our stay was short, but we were able to do some hiking, shopping and dining during our visit.

The hotel is great, but Enrico makes it even better. It was like having a built in tour guide!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so we had two rooms for the four of us. We were in rooms 2 and 3 and the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Overpriced, is what Rick Steves called it. I completely agree. AC did not work. Ants in the room. Hot water is hit or miss. When we mentioned these things, we got a friendly shrug and unhelpful, "oh well." If it was in the United States, it'd barely pass for one star. Oh, and mattresses sunk so much for a 150 lb man we slept quite poorly. The host was friendly but his wife was far from it. Stay away!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I will start this review by saying that the accommodations were fine and clean though we later found that there are much better options available for half the price.

I don't want to bore readers with a long and detailed story about what happened. The long and short of it is that when I originally made the reservation, I accidentally (accident being the key word) forgot to take into account the overnight flight. Therefore, our reservation was from the 6-9 when we actually did not arrive into Italy until the 7th. Upon arrival into Rome, we made our way straight to Riomaggiore arriving at the hotel around 5 p.m. after 24 hrs. of traveling. The check-in attendant (not Enrico) treated us as if we were ghosts that had risen from the dead though she did show us to our room. The language barrier created other misunderstandings but nothing pertinent for this review.

When I finally had a chance to check my email, I saw an email from Enrico indicating that he had waited for us until midnight and since we did not show up or contact him, he had charged us the whole amount. I immediately responded to his email (because he was not on the premises) with an explanation of what had happened. We spoke to him later that evening once he had returned and also explained the mix-up in person. It was then that he said he had three other people who had reservations that did not show up (unlike us who made an honest mistake). We did not discuss the charge he made because I thought that we might be able to be accommodated for the third night. The next morning he told us that he did not have space for us for the third night and that he would not refund us ANY PORTION of the 1st night reservation. We were out of luck. He would try to help us find something else. We pleaded with him that it was an honest mistake and that we were attempting to travel on a budget. We told him to keep all of the taxes etc. that he had paid and perhaps give us something, a concession, just as a good faith gesture in recognition of the fact that we had not done anything malicious. He held strong to his position that he was entitled to our money, that it was our fault and that there was nothing he could do. Lousy customer service in my opinion! It came up the day of our arrival too as he felt that we were "treating him badly." It was then that he went into a dialogue about not being a rich man and not offering things for free etc. Clearly overreacting to the situation. If he had offered us 30 Euros, we would have been happy. Instead, he argued with us for 10+ minutes on both of our mornings in Riomaggiore making us feel like criminals.

Luckily - we found other accommodations in Monterrosso at 1/2 the cost and with a view of the sea. Wish we would have found that option first. This place was not worth the money or the headache. If you are not a perfect human being in every way, I would not recommend staying here as you will not get a shred of compassion or understanding for an honest mistake or mixup. I would not recommend this place at all given the numerous other spectacular options in the Cinque Terre and the exorbitant cost for little amenity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole

Address: Via Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Locanda del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Locanda Del Sole Hotel Riomaggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.