We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Sole

Save Saved
You added Locanda del Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda del Sole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Riomaggiore
Korumburra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in May. The hotel is clean, beds abit soft, but the owner Enrico is a delightful man, who went out of his way to help us. Even when it appeared that there may have been a train strike on the day we were leaving, he offered to drive us to the main station early in the morning. Luckily the strike did not eventuate.If you don't like stairs - this is not the hotel for you. We were on the top level - a climb of 64 stairs but ok for us. Thank you Enrico for making the stay hassel free!

Room Tip: ask for a room on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    61
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
104
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and two adult children stayed here May 20-21, 2013. The hotel is located at nearly the top of the road in this small town. The owner, Enrico greeted us by name each time he saw us and gave us advice on what to do during our short stay. The rooms were very clean and the view from our deck was spectacular! Our stay was short, but we were able to do some hiking, shopping and dining during our visit.

The hotel is great, but Enrico makes it even better. It was like having a built in tour guide!

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so we had two rooms for the four of us. We were in rooms 2 and 3 and the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Overpriced, is what Rick Steves called it. I completely agree. AC did not work. Ants in the room. Hot water is hit or miss. When we mentioned these things, we got a friendly shrug and unhelpful, "oh well." If it was in the United States, it'd barely pass for one star. Oh, and mattresses sunk so much for a 150 lb man we slept quite poorly. The host was friendly but his wife was far from it. Stay away!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I will start this review by saying that the accommodations were fine and clean though we later found that there are much better options available for half the price.

I don't want to bore readers with a long and detailed story about what happened. The long and short of it is that when I originally made the reservation, I accidentally (accident being the key word) forgot to take into account the overnight flight. Therefore, our reservation was from the 6-9 when we actually did not arrive into Italy until the 7th. Upon arrival into Rome, we made our way straight to Riomaggiore arriving at the hotel around 5 p.m. after 24 hrs. of traveling. The check-in attendant (not Enrico) treated us as if we were ghosts that had risen from the dead though she did show us to our room. The language barrier created other misunderstandings but nothing pertinent for this review.

When I finally had a chance to check my email, I saw an email from Enrico indicating that he had waited for us until midnight and since we did not show up or contact him, he had charged us the whole amount. I immediately responded to his email (because he was not on the premises) with an explanation of what had happened. We spoke to him later that evening once he had returned and also explained the mix-up in person. It was then that he said he had three other people who had reservations that did not show up (unlike us who made an honest mistake). We did not discuss the charge he made because I thought that we might be able to be accommodated for the third night. The next morning he told us that he did not have space for us for the third night and that he would not refund us ANY PORTION of the 1st night reservation. We were out of luck. He would try to help us find something else. We pleaded with him that it was an honest mistake and that we were attempting to travel on a budget. We told him to keep all of the taxes etc. that he had paid and perhaps give us something, a concession, just as a good faith gesture in recognition of the fact that we had not done anything malicious. He held strong to his position that he was entitled to our money, that it was our fault and that there was nothing he could do. Lousy customer service in my opinion! It came up the day of our arrival too as he felt that we were "treating him badly." It was then that he went into a dialogue about not being a rich man and not offering things for free etc. Clearly overreacting to the situation. If he had offered us 30 Euros, we would have been happy. Instead, he argued with us for 10+ minutes on both of our mornings in Riomaggiore making us feel like criminals.

Luckily - we found other accommodations in Monterrosso at 1/2 the cost and with a view of the sea. Wish we would have found that option first. This place was not worth the money or the headache. If you are not a perfect human being in every way, I would not recommend staying here as you will not get a shred of compassion or understanding for an honest mistake or mixup. I would not recommend this place at all given the numerous other spectacular options in the Cinque Terre and the exorbitant cost for little amenity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere safe, clean and quiet then this is the place. The rooms are separate from the main building and the room terrace is great for relaxing with a drink.
Enrico the owner was extremely helpful and friendly throughout and speaks perfect English.

There are several good restaurants in Riomaggiore and I would recommend using this hotel as a base for exploring Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a little gem. Perched on the hill, inside the gated area of Riomaggiore, the terrace rooms have a slice of the sea view, and are extremely well equipped with outlets, mirrors in the right places, lighting, and overall comfort for a modest property in such a perfect location. Enrico's warm welcome, always present helping hand, advice, and free parking are extra bonuses. After our stay in early april, I sent a friend who stayed in mid april, 2013, and whose experience was also very positive.

Room Tip: walk the stairs to the highest terrace rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our trip in Liguria, Italy. The hotel is clean, comfortable. There is always running hot water and there are some TV channels in English. Other than that do not expect a lot. But I think the room is value for money.

The breakfast is amazing with pastries, cheese and a selection of hams.

But for me the thing made this place great was the owner. He was very friendly with very good English. His pointer for the day proved to be great! We left all the restaurants he recommended with a full stomach and a grin on our faces.

There is also a parking place in front of the hotel, which is a rare privilege on this side of Italy. Don't forget to reserve your spot if you're going there by car.

I would recommend this place to everyone who's looking into walking around, but if you're into huge hotels with hot tubs etc, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: The rooms I saw all had the same views, so I would not stress to much on the selection of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole

Address: Via Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda del Sole 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Locanda del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Locanda Del Sole Hotel Riomaggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.