We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple yet comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda del Sole

Save Saved
You added Locanda del Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda del Sole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simple yet comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Locanda del Sol for 2 nights in November 2012. The owner Enrico was friendly and helpful when it came to explaining the little town, how to get around, and available hiking. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. Nice little patio with table and umbrella that we sat out on with a bottle of wine & a snack. Definitely a climb up the stairs (and up the steep street) but it's good exercise to work off pasta! Breakfast was lovely - espresso, fresh pastries, yogurt, fruit. The wifi signal wasn't strong enough in the room but it worked on the patio.
Note to anyone traveling here in the off season - lots of restaurants/shops are closed during low season. I would definitely like to come back in the summer/spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    63
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
110
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon in late August and had a wonderful time. After an intimidating drive to Cinque Terre from Lucca, we were thankful that Locanda del Sole has such a covenient parking spot for us. We stayed at the very stop (yes the stairs are a bit tiring, but all of Cinque Terre requires a lot of hiking uphill :)), and we definitely enjoyed the private patio to enjoy our wine.
Enrico was a wonderful host and very helpful with suggestions/ideas! The cappucino was delicious.
The room itself was very comfortable with A/C. We'd definitely like to return one day. Cinque Terre was amazing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Locanda del Sole for three nights. Enrico was exceptionally friendly and helpful with advice for touring and local dining. Breakfast was quite nice, especially for a small hotel. This is a very quiet location--I'd think that the rooms on the main street might be noisy. Our room was basic but comfortable with a nice terrace. Riomaggiore is a charming place and we are very glad that we chose this town and Locanda del Sole as our base on the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A traveler doesn't expect chic style and undisturbed comfort in a place like Riomaggiore, rather one would like to find a nice and convenient place for further exploration of the 5 Terra... In this case, Locanda del Sole is a great venue. Firstly, it has its own parking (you'll be amazed how important this is when you come to narrow, steep and parking-less streets of this village that are also generally closed to transport). Secondly, while being only few meters up from the centerish location, it can boast a fairly quite surrounding. And last, but not least, the owners are tremendously helpful in all respects. There are pretty much no cons to this place, except for that comfort level / style is quite basic (but that's what you expect, don't you).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After seeing numerous cars parked at the top of the hill with couples wondering around not sure what to do or where to go, we are SO glad we chose a hotel towards the top of the village and with free parking too! When we arrived, we spoke to Enrico for about 20 minutes about the area - he was very helpful and gave us heaps of suggestions on things to do, restaurants to eat at, bars to drink at etc. - it was fantastic service. The rooms are basic, but are clean, comfortable, air-conditioned, and the bathroom was fine. It is also secure, which with some 2 star hotels can be an issue. No problem here though. The breakfast was great. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget option in Riomaggiore.

Room Tip: Tip for future guests travelling by car: The rooms are at the top of a long staircase, so pack a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I plan on making another trip to the Cinque Terre and will book to stay here.

I stayed here with my son in July and we walked along the coast to the other villages in one day which was full on but so worth it. I am so glad we booked this hotel. Enrico was the most helpful host we met on our long trip thru Italy and Greece. Staying in Riomaggiore was the best choice too as we think it is the best village of the five. The trains work well between the villages and the views are amazing.

Go, stay here and have a fab time.breakfast was good to, the room just what you need and the location ideal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Locanda Del Sole (Inn of the Sun) for two nights on September 4th and 5th. The hotel provided a very clean, comfortable and a basic room in the great village of Riomaggiore for touring in the Cinque Terra area. The owner Enrico offered incredible service and great advice on the area. He is very friendly and funny and even dropped us to the station without asking him. This enabled us to get an earlier train to Florence than the one we were taking. A new padlock bought in Italy on my bag was defective and could not be opened with the key. Enrico came immediately and broke open the padlock. The breakfast and the cappuccino were great. Prior to our journey Enrico sent us the bus map, train schedules and a map of Riomaggiore and told us to get train tickets a day earlier. I recommend this hotel because of the hospitality shown by Enrico. The town is awesome and has some great restaurants, focaccia bread, and gelato. Wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole

Address: Via Santuario 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda del Sole 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Locanda del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Locanda Del Sole Hotel Riomaggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.