We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are spread over the village.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda dalla Compagnia

Save Saved
You added Locanda dalla Compagnia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Locanda dalla Compagnia
Via del Santuario, 32, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Riomaggiore
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Rooms are spread over the village.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The web picture shows the main office entrance and hotel rooms, but we booked an upgrade to "Studio with Sea View" and got an apartment in a totally different building 10 mins walk from this office.
On check in we were required to pay cash up front and were then led by a very young girl to our apartment. This is definitely unsuitable for disabled or unfit. The road is off to the side of the main street then up some very steep flights of steps to the building then up a few more to the 2nd level of 3 levels. There was no assistance with luggage available.
The apartment itself was well set up for a family - separate kitchen/dining, lounge with balcony and partly obscured view of sea. Clothes line off balcony. Narrow bathroom with no hot water on arrival but this was rectified after a phone call. The bathroom was extremely narrow and contained a shub type shower/bath. No toiletries.
The lounge was complete with tv, wall unit containing extra china, serving dishes, children's games, books. It resembled someones home that you were invited into.
We had a beautiful painted ceiling in our bedroom but we could hear guests upstairs with children walking/running til late.

Room Tip: We thought we had chosen a good room "Studio with Sea View" which was advertised as being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    16
    12
    14
See reviews for
5
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights. Our room was really nearby the entrance door and after the cleaning, when we came back, the door was wide open (with valuables stuff inside of our room) and without anybody at the reception. They took our towels but didn't give back new ones. We left a note on the receptionist desk to ask them, apparently he saw it but we never get towels and so couldn't take a shower the second day. We left the place without seeing this man or anyone, actually we just saw him when we arrived to give money.
Riomaggiore is a wonderful and beautiful place, this homestay is a bit far away from to the train stations comparate to the other homestays (even if the village is small) and you have to go up. It doesn't offer any special view on the sea or the village.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Apartment with sea view and reasonably cheap price. The balcony is great, we can see the sea and view of the Riomaggiore village. Grab some frita mista and olives nearby and eat on the balcony, wonderful experience. Than the night came..... The apartment was dusty, bed was not comfortable, small bathroom (when you take a shower, it get wet everywhere).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a week in August. This place was very affordable with spacious rooms, fridges in the rooms, and complimentary breakfast! It is a hike up the hill from the main part of town by the water, however it was kind of nice to be a bit off the beaten path. This is a small town, so this does not mean you are far from anything. 5 minutes walk everywhere. It was also nice to have a ground floor room that was up against one of the rock cliffs, because it was EXTREMELY hot and our hotel provided a cool haven when we wanted to get out of the heat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Booked apartment with a balcony and view as described by other reviewers here and got nothing close. It even showed our request on the confirmation receipt the owner gave us when we paid.

We were told it was Sauro apt. (said that on the key also) and it had no balcony at all and the view was a orange wall 3 ft, away from one window and another apartment from the other window. No balcony. See the photo labelled 'best view from apt. Sauro'

The room inside was recently renovated and new but the shower had one door missing and no shelf for soap or shampoo in the shower. Pretty hard to shower at all. There was a small kitchen with stove, pots, plates, etc. but the light in that room did not work. If the owner says that things did work, he is full of BS. I tried every switch and even checked the breakers.

You have to pay in cash at the hotel, then they walk you back down the street and through back alleys to get to your apt. Up a very narrow and steep set of stairs. I would not recommend this if you have heavy suitcases or have walking issues. We left our suitcases in the car parked at La Spezia and just brought our backpacks. I could/should have gone back and demanded another room but we were dead tired from all the walking already.

The reception was supposed to be open from noon to 6:00 but there was a sign out front that it was only open from 3 to 6, plus if he is busy showing someone else their room, the reception is closed. We tried to call both phone numbers provided but one was no longer working and the other did not answer.

Only good thing - it was cheaper than other rooms with equally bad views.

Quite frankly, we found that Cinque Terre was very beautiful but a huge tourist trap. All the trails along the sea were all closed when we were there, even though the official web sites said that 3 of them were open a week earlier. Even in mid-October, there were crowds everywhere. We visited all 5 towns and found that there are lots of other areas in Italy more beautiful with less tourists. Just our opinion.

Room Tip: Don't pay until you check out your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Location is at the top of the hill, so you start with a bit of a hiking. We were given a mini apartment (second floor - no lift) located in a building just next to the hotel and opposite a little church. Not much of a view but it is ok. It is a bit noisy in the morning and since you have the church opposite, the church bells will be a bit annoying sometimes. We find it practical in the sense that we had a fridge, kitchenette, so we can prepare the breakfast as it was not included in the price. I would not recommend this hotel as we found the price too high for what it is offered: no breakfast, no views, very late check-in (from 15 hours) no gel, soap or shampoo...everytime we had a shower the bathroom floor would get wet since there was no bath-mat and we only had two large towels. We stayed two days in the hotel, there was no cleaning service on the second day and we had to pay the two day stay at the check-in in cash without previous notice of lack of card payment facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

we spent three nights in a room in the actual hotel. the furnishing and decor were outdated but it was clean and comfy and air-conditioned! our room had a private bath with a typically small shower- no hairdryer. the bed was memory foam and comfy after a long active day. the free wifi was a huge bonus! the hotel, like everything in Rio, is located up a steep hill, but very centrally located. Rio has a small stone beach which we actually prefered to Monterosso's larger sand beach. the staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. we would stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda dalla Compagnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda dalla Compagnia

Also Known As:
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Hotel
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Riomaggiore
Locanda Dalla Compagnia Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Address: Via del Santuario, 32, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Locanda dalla Compagnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda dalla Compagnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.